We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to go”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #363 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not to go”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

we were there spending few nights. the room was very dirty, some receptionsits but the one that was there when we arrived on the 14th evening at about 9 p.m. was very unplesant. brakfast ok. I would not reccomend this hotel. my experience was not positive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silvy676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    155
    312
    165
    194
See reviews for
199
299
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here as part of an inclusive Theatre package. Room a little tired but clean. Breakfast basic but adequate. Overall a reasonable hotel, convenient for Paddington Station and close to bus/tube routes into the centre of London, front rooms facing Sussex Gardens a little noisy as it is a busy road. Would consider again for 1 or 2 nights at most.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Sussex Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went there and checked in around 10pm... when we went to the room, the heater wasn't working. Somebody went to the room to take a look and left saying it will find a replacement. We waited for an hour and still no replacement. We called the front desk and said they are sorry they can't do anything and we just have TO BEAR THE NIGHT WITHOUT HEATING!!! we were dying and it was very late. A very bad service and the front desk wasn't even courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Brian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

On arriving to the hotel, £11 Taxi ride from St Pancras, the building itself looks very impressive. However on entering the reception area it was like going back in time! 20 years to be precise.

Check in was hassle free and we where advised our rooms where over the road in a separate building. We had booked 3 double rooms which where all on the same floor. The rooms and the whole interior of the building looked like something out of a 80's horror movie!

In fairness the room was a reasonable size and clean just very out dated. The shower was alright but remember to bring your own shower gel as only a bar of soap was provided. The view was ok over looking a row of cute town houses.

Breakfast was average and self service! Overall it was more of a hostel feel rather than a hotel, there are many better hotels in London for the price! I would only stay again as a last resort.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just got back from our holiday in London...whilst there we stayed at the Alexandra Hotel in Paddington. We were given a room on the top floor and at firat we had to go up 4 storages by foot because the lift was not working. We had to ask ourselves if the lift was working, if we hadn't asked no one was going to tell us. Our room was clean and tidy everyday but the bathroom was too small for us and was nothing like that showing in the picture. It was a nightmare using the bathroom. Breakfast was a basic one but we were always greeted by the employees working at the dinning every morning going down to breakfast. No wifi in the hotel, upon asking we were told that we hadt to pay ourselves to get it...what hotel does not have wifi nowadays for their clients?? Well I must say that I would think it over and over again before staying in this hotel. The satisfaction part was that we were very close to the underground and the station with loads of restaurants and everyday needs shop situated near and around the hotel. Hope my review would have its benefits for customers who will stay after us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyanneSant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I would strongly recommend anyone wanting nice accommodation in London, DO NOT stay here. Service was terrible, rooms not as described and after that a week later when I was back in Australia found I had been charged twice for the room I stayed in for only one night. Terrible experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Callum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel Location is great to access Paddington Station. Only a 5 minute walk! On arrival the reception staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient in allocating our twin room. I was visiting London with a friend for 2 days so wanted a hotel which was clean, comfortable, good value and offered breakfast. The bedroom was small and the shower room very compact not suitable for large people, good job we dont fall into this category!! On a positive side the beds were comfortable, the room was tidy and clean towls were provided. There was a good choice at breakfast. Overall the hotel was good value for a basic no frills hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanBarnes047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#808 of 1,067 in London
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#646 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#884 of 1,067 in London
469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#820 of 1,067 in London
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#857 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 159-161 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing