We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have made a better choice, but location is important”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #384 of 573 London B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could have made a better choice, but location is important”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located near Hyde Park and Edgware Road, this was a place to sleep. As mentioned by other reviewers,, this may not be where you want to stay if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room or in London. We spent three nights,, and this was bearable. Our room was in the basement which is your better choice. The rest of our party had to forge the narrow staircase with bags and no air conditioning in the heat of July.

Don't take your clothing in the bathroom while showering,, it is sure to get wet and there is nowhere (literally) to hang them up. We had no problem with the plumbing,, but I wished I had brought a shower disinfectant to combat the musty odor. The room was cleaned,, but it is an older facility.

I did not eat the breakfast, but i did get the tea. Don't waste your money on convenience for use of the internet in your room. No guarantee that it will be working when you try to use it. One good thing is that you can ask for plug adapters at the front desk, and sit in the lobby to use the internet.

This is a lovely neighborhood to walk around in,, we were able to enjoy a free concert in the park and excellent food on Edgware. We made the mistake of renting a car. We were able to pay for parking by the day,, but I wish I had spent the extra on a room more suitable to our needs.

If you choose this hotel,, ride the tube and enjoy the experience. Buy a pass. Best deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1411Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    152
    298
    163
    186
See reviews for
190
291
60
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from 10 ghastly nights in this hotel! (during visit tried others and booked out) Our twin room was small but OK. Our Cubicle Bathroom was so tiny it was difficult to bend over on toilet without hitting your head on the door. The toilet was bordering the approx. 60cms wide shower. Although I am a small build the shower was CLAUSTROPHOBIC, my large husband found it VERY DIFFICULT to shower properly for 10 nights. We were told that ALL bathrooms were Cubicle Bathrooms in the Hotel. This bore no resemblance to photos published on the Web.
Any comments to Reception were listened to and ignored till we finally stopped asking. We heard a few guests, very irate re dripping taps for three days, toilet not flushing properly, etc. Few staff spoke English, only Reception person. The lift was "Out of Order" we think permanently (the sign looked very old). Our twin beds were rigid and uncomfortable, the room hot and stuffy with little ventilation from open window to small, closed courtyard. Both our skins became very itchy ++ when in the room and at night with small red wheals.
General maintenance of interior throughout hotel looked very over-neglected and any damage looked old.
The Continental Breakfast was OK, though boring for 10 days.
We suggest anyone considering this Hotel, although the location is good, to pay a bit more per night and get a better hotel, especially for extended stays like ours. We SO REGRET not doing this! Would not recommend this hotel really AT ALL!

Room Tip: We have no favourable tips for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richrd_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very tired, badly maintained facility, with impossibly steep stairs to the creaky-floored upper storey rooms, which were very poky While we were there recently, our room had a broken shower which was not repaired for 24 hours, and the lift from reception was not functional at all. The supplied breakfast was poor quality. Save your money and eat in one of several restaurants\cafes up the road. They even had the nerve to charge for wi-fi access by the hour. I am surprised that it still warrants a three-star rating. Having said all this, the staff were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances, and did their best. It's only redeeming feature was that is in easy walking distance of Paddington station.

Room Tip: If you are at all handicapped or have problems climbing stairs, don't book online or if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Expected the room to be small but the bathroom was shocking. Public toilet cubicle is bigger than the bathroom... had to hold the shower nosle because it was placed too high... bathroom flooded each shower. Cleaners didnt make the bed properly... didnt replace dirty glasses half the time. Breakfast was small to be expected but would rather make my own toast and get it hot than have them do it.,, have it sit there and eat it cold. Almost had to pay £10 for a remote for the tv. Wouldnt recommend more than 1 night stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtanmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is pretty reasonable in its price. Short walk from paddington station and the underground is easy to navigate around if you are coming from the airport. Take the train to earls court and then change lines to the circle line to get to paddington. It was about a 5 min walk to the hotel. The room we were in was on the first floor which was fortunate as the elevator was broken (permanently I think). It was ok, carpet was a bit grotty. Beds were ok, clean towels every day. Very small room barely enough for my husbands and my bags to fit beside bed. No free wifi and the tv remote required a 10 pound deposit. Breakfast was A Simple affair- cold meat cheese bread toast cereal and yoghurt juice and filter coffee. Short walk to Hyde park to see the squirrels. Reception man seemed surly at first but was helpful enough with locations and directions.

Room Tip: First floor if possible. No elevator to lug up your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for three nights as a family, we had 3 rooms. our room was an adequate size but bathroom was dirty and small. carpet in room had a nasty sticky area that cleaners always placed bin on top of. all rooms were meant to be twin rooms but one was so small it was really a single, would not want to try and get two people in it.
Lift out of order.
Was expensive for the standard of accommodation offered. Definitely will not return. Only good thing was the location and beds were comfortable.
Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolh477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
387 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our flight was delayed, we missed the Heathrow Express by one minute, so it was 10 PM by the time we got to Paddington, 600 m from the hotel. Its easy to find once you find London Street which is just to the left as you exit the front entrance to Paddington. Its three blocks to the intersection of London and Sussex Terrace were London Street becomes Sussex Place. But when we arrived they sent us to the Seymour Hotel one block East, where the guy on the desk was "back in a few minutes". The phone number didn't work and when he turned up after 15 minutes we were sent to yet a third White House hotel around the corner at 102 Sussex Terrace. The guy proudly explained Alexandra owns 17 hotels all run as a unit. Hence the name of the review because you have no idea which of the 17 you'll stay in.

The room was on the ground floor which is great as there are no lifts and no one to help you. The room was mostly clean. You get towels but no washcloth so as with all cheapies it pays to bring your own. You get small bars of soap but nothing else, this at GB 69/night. There was no TV remote and the one they gave us the second night didn't work but on the third night they gave us one that did. There is no internet other than some external vendor has installed one at the front desk where you pay GB 1 for ten minutes. Hot water at the basin took 2-3 minutes to get hot but for some reason the shower hot water seems to be normal, obviously a different source. It was 8 C or colder each of the four nights we stayed and only once did they turn on the radiator. Also we discovered water trickling down one wall thankfully not next to our bed, on the fourth night, possibly from a leaking radiator on the floor above.

Now on the plus side, you get a great breakfast, cereal, yoghurt, unlimited bread for toast although you need to toast it twice, plus cheese and cold cuts. No eggs, which I put down to then they would need to provide salt and pepper shakers which would be stolen. As someone else has mentioned, the location is great. You can walk to many attraction but Paddington and nearby Lancaster Gate are tube stations and if you buy an Oyster ticket you can go anywhere in London.

Next time we'll stay in this area but pay for a hotel with internet and a bit more soul.

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor if you have heavy bags. There are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#625 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#857 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#831 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#894 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#855 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 159-161 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing