We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #366 of 555 London B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Close to underground and city center walking. nice play
People very polite
Good breakfast
You have to up many stairs for the bedrooms.
The only fail is that its too hot during the night

All excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank rosky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    153
    309
    163
    189
See reviews for
194
296
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

having booked a Double room we were a bit shocked to be shown a twin room, asking at reception for what we had paid for after a quick 'phone call we were given a different room which turned out to be their family room, 1 double and 3 singles were cramed into a resonable size room although there was only the two of us i couldnt see how a family of 5 could move in the space provided esp as the bathroom consisted of a toilet directly behind the door shower and small sink. the rooms appeared clean, under inspection found dust and empty crisp packets under one of the beds. the decor was plan but considering the price we were not expecting much, our room was directly opposite the dining room, so my husband and I who are nt overly early risers were woken by the sounds of people eating directly outside our door. i couldnt comment on the breakfasts as we never stayed for it. all in all it was a good place to stay to crash at night after a eventful day, very close to paddington and bus routes also eating places on every corner. i would stay again the staff were helpful and friendly

Room Tip: family room is situated in basement right next door to the dinning room and the doors are not very t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

having booked a offer via Theatre people where we got hotel for £10 each we were not expecting a hilton, thought mybe along lines of Travelodge. if i'd paid the asking price of £60 a room i would of been complaining to the hotel and operator
5 minutes walk from padding tube/rail station fab.

Upon arrival we could see work needed to be done to the hotel, it smelt damp. I'd say at best it a youth hostel (however club 18-30 properties in ibiza had better standards). signs up saying beware theives operator in this area. doors to room i didnt think were that secure. bathroom was a disgrace would not of been any bigger than a portacabin toilet. We found hairs etc on the sheets. Seemed to be loads of school groups staying so noise from adjacent rooms or above was bad. someone set fire alarm off it went off for less then 5 seconds for reception then to come around to see if anyone had used there bathroom.
Breakfast the next day we knew it was continental however, toast was already cooked when you went in and left standing on side and staff kept putting more bread in, meats and cheese were not in a chiller just in a plastic tub. yogurts left on tables no not cvold and god knows how long they had been on the table. so needless to say we left breakfast
usually we leave our baggage at hotel on out last day while we go out for a while but decided would be safer taking it with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccadiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

After I booked a theatre weekend package I saw poor reviews on this Hotel but it was really quite good. So handy for Paddington Station, inexpensive, a helpful reception who were happy to keep our bags safe, clean room, bathroom and bedding, extra blankets - what more can you want for the price? I would certainly go there again even though I must agree there was no plug in the sink!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Kerkira, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and when we complained to Otel.com and to the manager they did not want to know. Very poor dirty rooms unprofessional staff and the manager has no customer service. I would not reccommend you stay at this hotel or use OTEL,COM

Room Tip: If you do end up at this hotel take photographs of everything even" Smells" so the manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good location, 5mins walk to Underground/buses/Hyde Park but really no frills. Most disappointing thing was plug in bathroom sink was missing so had a large gaping hole, lost a lid down it & was concerned about losing my rings when washing hands. Window only opened about 4 inches too which was a little annoying.

If you're exploring the city because you came from the other side of the world and are just sleeping there then it's fine.

Very small room which included TV mounted on wall, desk, wardrobe, bedside drawer & bathroom. Shower didn't drain well & it seemed like your feet were having a bath. Staff were friendly, helpful (all staff we dealt with were French!). Breakfast was below average, luke-warm boiled eggs, cold toast, but if you got in early enough you could get yoghurt. Room overall was clean but old & in need of a revamp. Not really 3 star. I'd say 2. BUT for the price, I'm not complaining. Just giving an honest review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked at Alexandra, re-directed to Seymour, another Alexandra Hotel. Same thing. Terrible, terrible, terrible. Good staff, though. But if you're a cheap tourist looking for just a bed to crash in at night, that's just it. Definitely not for a romantic stay. Bring ear plugs, your own soap and towels.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytripper6940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#627 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#804 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#844 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#888 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#831 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 159-161 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing