We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Seymour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seymour Hotel
Ranked #972 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Clean room, clean towels every day, very small bathroom, average breakfast with good coffee. Easy to find the hotel and easy to get taxi right outside the door. Not quite enough room for a family, and the remote was missing on the TV..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Per2843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    40
    104
    63
    94
See reviews for
72
120
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is really terrible!
Everytime we took a shower, the fire alarm went of, cause the ventilation in the little bathroom didn't work. (room 218, 3th floor)
The receptionist said he would talk to the manager to assign us another room, but we never heard anything from him. The fire alarm was no problem according to them, cause the handyman would fix it. The day we left, the ventilation was still not fixed. They didn't even look at it at all.
The ventilation was full of dust, and the toiletbrush was in a bucket of water? Hygiëne standards, anyone?
Luckily for the other guests we didn't take our shower very early in the morning.
The window didn't even close properly.
In the breakfast room, the paper was torn from the walls. Not cosy at all! The quality of the breakfast wasn't even worth a 1 star hotel! The toast tasted awfull and the orangejuice was actually water with a few drops of bitter orange...
Really, DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!
I don't have a problem with a small hotelroom on the 3the floor with no elevator, but in this case, the prices are waaaaaaay to high!!
As a couple, we didn't even get a double bed, but 2 separated beds...
Bad hotel and arrogant management.

Room Tip: Don't book here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhDebourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had read the reviews about theft and all sorts of things before booking, but the hotel was actually superb for the amount of money paid and the standard that you can expect! We were assigned a twin room on the first floor at Berkeley Hotel, since the receptionist had noted we had a heavy looking bag. The room was facing the street, had a small balcony (which we couldn't access) and was very bright. The bathroom was tiny and the shower had caused some water damage to the door. The room was cleaned properly each day and new soap and towels were given. The breakfast was served in the same building and it was superb! Not that (in my opinion) greasy typical English breakfast with sausage and pork etc. but cereals, juice, youghurt and the possibility to toast the bread yourself. And the people in the reception, what wonderful people! Recogniced us right away and greated us nicely every time we came by to leave the key, even 4am in the morning when we checked out!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel Seymour was great value for money. We were close enough to walk to Hyde Park (Marlborough Gate was the closest entry point to the Park) without having to pay the prices of a more upscale locality of London.

We were also within walking distance from Paddington Station which meant that we did not have to take any local transport to get to our hotel while coming from Heathrow Airport.

Bathrooms could certainly have been a bit larger and will not certainly not accommodate an above normal size person.

Breakfast was buffet-cycle with a decent choice.

Room Tip: Since the Hotel is located on quite a busy road of London, there is noise through the day and into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank giridharmurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the White Hotel Hotel in August 2013, was my partner for 5 nights. As the Seymour Hotel, the one in which I booked to stay actually just moves it's guests to other establishments I will place my review here.

We were placed in a twin room, we were informed by reception we would be moved to double as soon as possible however they ha

The room is tiny; as expected in London, however the bathroom was basically unusable, the shower would have been lucky to be 30 cm wide, our shower head was broken so water went everywhere. The bathroom actually literally used to be the closet for the room. This is the size. During our stay we had no running water for a day, when we told reception they said it would come back they were sure, some work was being done. They did not appear to be surprised, and if they knew that this was the case I believe they should have informed guests, so a shower could be taken before the water was turned off.

The stairs to the third level are falling in and to get our bags to the top was very difficult. I would hate to be in this building if there was a fire.

The breakfast food was a slice of cheese and two slices of ham that looked and tasted disgusting.

Altogether a horrible experience, not worth the $500 we spent! Don't be fooled by your travel agent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AusGirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked into the Alexandra but moved to here, seems to be quite normal. It was a double room in paddington for £80... was clean, had a double bed and a tv, a good shower, there really was pretty much nothing whatsoever to complain about! did exactly what was required!
You get what you get for £80 a night for a double room in London!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bzzzz1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel - or was it the Berkeley Court -or Alexandra? It doesn't matter if you book a double in the Seymour as you will probably be moved to a twin further down the street. After a 24 hr flight from Australia was given a fifth floor attic room in the Berkeley with no lift. My 63 yr old arthritic husband who has angina had to lug, manhandle, drag 20 kg suitcases up 5 flights of stairs to a room no bigger than a matchbox.

The window was deliberately made to open only a few inches so there was no escape if there was a fire. Indeed, there was no fire escape but a skylight had been opened to ventilate the place. It had a small vertical ladder to the roof so at least there was a way out for we lucky souls on the top floor. Where is elf n safety when you need it? It's going to take a tragedy before these places are closed down.
.
We moved next day to a room two floors down. The duvet cover was filthy and you couldn't lie on it without feeling dirty. Bathroom is the smallest in the world and nearly gave my husband a hernia. Breakfast was adequate but I found mould in a yoghurt and the young girl who did the food collected all cold meats etc for recycling the following morning. She also took the rubbish out and was the only one I saw cleaning the rooms. Minimum outlay for maximum profit.

What is annoying is the way we are being treated as mugs. Everything is designed to make the most money with no regard for personal safety or cleanliness. It's a disgrace that these places are allowed to stay open. Surely it's illegal to take your money under the pretence that you're staying at the Seymour. The manager was apologetic but no refund.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Room Tip: Avoid higher floors as there is no lift -but you won't be given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#658 of 1,069 in London
843 reviews
Caring Hotel
#519 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Hotel 65
#756 of 1,069 in London
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#727 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
Belmont Hotel
#735 of 1,069 in London
392 reviews
The Belvedere
#679 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seymour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymour Hotel

Property: Seymour Hotel
Address: 106 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seymour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seymour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seymour Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing