We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very good value for money and in a fairly good location. Hotel in excellent condition and very clean. Attention to detail by staff in top notch. Would recommend this hotel for short stays. In true London style rooms are a bit small for extended stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    240
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
107
175
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, but VERY SMALL ROOM couldn't swing a CAT. And didn't realise it was continental breakfast, I know it's cheaper and easier but for God sake I'm English and in its capital...... Bacon and eggs please (very very disappointed!!) had to go out for breakfast, sort of defeats the object really.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelbert71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulmarra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was the first hotel I stayed in upon arriving by myself in London for the first time. The staff were friendly and welcoming and I instantly felt at ease. The room itself was tiny but comfortable and clean. Totally fine for someone just looking for a place to sleep and leave their luggage. The location was also great, really close to the Pimlico tube station. Plenty of restaurants, supermarkets and other facilities in the area. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Melbourne House in a street that is lined with small hotels all the way from Victoria Station to St George's square in Pimlico. The Pimlico (blue line, Victoria Line) station is really close by or you can walk 12 minutes to Victoria Station, which is fantastic if you fly into London at Gatwick (Gatwick Express non-stop to Victoria is 30' ride every quarter hour, 35£ bought online).

The room was smallish and so was the bathroom but otherwise comfy, large wonderful bed, spotlessly clean and very cheerful and helpful staff will help you with your luggage up the stairs. We requested a low floor bedroom as I am 7 months pregnant and they accomodated to perfection. They also sell plug adapters for AC which is great if you plan on travelling round UK.

Breakfast was on the lower floor, quite OK, no warm food but enough to start well the day with lots of fruit anf ham and cheese to go with your toast and croissant.

All in all a good experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week with my husband. It is a perfect location for people willing to do a little bit sightseeing because the location is very good and breakfast served is of a nice quality The room was small but very clean, so was the bathroom. What may be a potential challenge is the noisy street outside the window and no elevator in the hotel. Still, all in all it is a great value for money offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights since I came to London for business. I had one of the single bed rooms and I was really pleasantly surprised after reading some weird reviews about the two single bed rooms in this hotel. The room was big enough for one person, it was spotlessly clean, it had free wifi which worked without problems, kettle for tea/ coffee, a TV screen and also a sink to wash your face or teeth. The toilet was close by the room, also perfectly clean.

The staff is really nice and helpful - I really liked their kind attitude. What I loved the most about this hotel was its perfect location. It is located in the very central London and within a walking distance to many of the city's great attractions. Also metro station is very close to the hotel, as well as Victoria station. Also, I felt very safe in this neighbourhood and it was very peaceful during the night.

Overall, I strongly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A nice place to stay when in London. Good installations, very clean, nice breakfast and good service. Bathroom with tub and shower. Well placed, close to British Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. I recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#258 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#519 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#116 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#201 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#370 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#596 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Property: Melbourne House Hotel
Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in London
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Melbourne House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing