We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought it was a joke” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #498 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I thought it was a joke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place was worse than awful. The room was last decorated and furnished in 1940's. The bedspread was older and was full of holes. There was a wooden folding chair that Peter Kay would have referred to as an "emergency chair" as the only form of seating in the room and the TV was square- when did you last see a TV with a square screen?
A tiny postage stamp of a thin towel and a sachet of shampoo was on the bed. The tea and coffee was in tupperware boxes- no way would I have dared to use them - who knows if they'd been there 40 years!

At breakfast I was totally ignored by the staff who were stood chatting in the kitchen. After about 10-15 mins I called one of them over and asked for coffee which was brought in a stainless steel pot (powdered instant!). There was nothing fresh at breakfast. pastries and cake were plastic packet type and no cooked options. The wifi was so slow it wasnt worth bothering.
Its one saving grace was that it was clean. Now on my blacklist. I will definitely not be staying here again.

Room Tip: go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuelaLondon, Owner at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We were disappointed and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to provide the best possible accommodation for our guests, our rooms are renovated frequently and kept up to date on a yearly basis. We understand that tastes and opinions will differ from guest to guest and therefore we always advise to use the picture gallery on our website before booking as it clearly shows the standards of our rooms. Tea and coffee containers are there for hygiene reasons and are changed after every guest departure. If Guests have any kind of query with any of our services or rooms our friendly and staff is always on call to sort it out, no matter as to the nature for the problem. We pride ourselves in being a clean, comfortable and value for money family run Bed and breakfast, in the heart of London. We admit we can’t get it right for all of our guest but we always try to do our best at all times, which can be seen from all our excellent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    240
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
107
175
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very good. Close to Victoria station. The room was very small but this is London. The hotel serves a continental breakfast which was very good. Staff was very friendly. Restaurents and pubs are close by. If you are looking for an hotel in London I certainly recommend this one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with a friend in mid- October. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times. The continental breakfast was ample. I would however would have liked to have seen some herbal tea/ decaffeinated tea/ decaffeinated coffee. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A nicely run place with polite and very helpful people. Armed with your Oyster card you can quickly reach any point in London from there starting from the tube station nearby. Shops and diverse eateries are also close by.

Kudos for the great breakfast: here you will find much more than the minimal "continental" breakfast served in comparable establishments in London. The stuff on display is fresh, varied. and abundant. The strong coffee is guaranteed to wake you up if you have trouble emerging from your sweet dreams!
Space is clearly at a premium in central London and we felt a bit tight in this bedroom, living as is the case for short stays, out-of-the suitcase. As we only slept in the room that did not trouble us.anyway, The wardrobe was roomy. The room was clean,and very quiet. Great to have a water boiler in the room (tea bags and coffe are provided) but it would be even nicer if here or there a few more plugs could be had (cellphones and diverse electronics have to be loaded, etc...)The beds were comfortable although we would have preferred quilt covers to sheets and traditional blankets. The halogen spotlights on the wall above the mini night-tables are set pretty low for anybody who might wish to read in bed and might well get to warm for stuff deposited on the said-tables (careful. halogen gets very hot!). What we missed was a chair or two.

The bathroom was rather small, but immaculate. It would help if some more hooks were added to the walls as there is not much you can deposit anywhere.

All in all there is room for improvement on details but the overall impression remains extremely positive. We will choose this address again when we return to London.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, so that you hear no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nordlysMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel has a great location, is sparkling clean,new bathroom and excellent breakfast. Wifi is spotty in hotel rooms but fine in lobby. Be careful if stairs are a problem, no lift . We would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were coming to London for the Billy Elliot musical and were leaving the next day with the National Express for Bristol. This small and service-minded hotel was perfectly located for those two purposes (Close to Victoria Palace and Victoria Station). The hotel's owner was very service-minded and helpful. We had a room which consisted of two parts, making it a practical family room. Nicely refurbished small bathroom but with a large shower. The room was nice and very clean, and warm at arrival. We liked being in a relatively quiet street, making it possible to open up the windows during the night without to much trafic noise. Breakfast was ok, even if I would have appreciated a real (non-Nescafe) coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having read reviews of many hotels along Belgrave Road, we chose to stay here.

We were on the third floor and yes, there are 65 steps up from the entrance to this level but we already knew that we may be high up (after reading the reviews). On booking the room we were asked to state any preferences and we decided against it so anything we think on the climbing issue is our fault!

The rooms are small but two can move around with no problem and we only used it as a base during our stay in town anyway. TV reception kept cutting which was annoying as did the Wi-Fi system although the manager is looking into it, in this day and age it is a must in a hotel.

The room was very clean as was the small but serviceable en-suite (shower was great, plenty of room and water temp/force was excellent) Rooms cleaned and beds made on a daily basis. The walls and floors are thin though!! Outside noise was not noticed unless we opened the windows and heard a few planes and Big Ben but they are expectantly heard all over the town, after all it is a city!!

Breakfast was fantastic - no, there is no need for an English breakfast, anyone wanting that would need to go to different hotel and pay more for it! The buffet style consisted of (from what we remembered):
Tea or coffee (no fancy alternatives and this was not expected so I brought my own herbal tea )
Toast - butter/marmalade (3 types) jams (at least 3 types) or chocolate spread
Croissant, waffles,assorted small cakes
3 types of cereals
Orange juice
Cold or hot milk
A platter of assorted cold meats
Yoghurts
Fruit cocktail
Fresh fruit (apples and Bananas)
Hope we have not left anything out - so much to see!
Seating for 24 so almost two sittings required but as it is from 7:30 -9:00, this was not a problem while we stayed (4 nights)

Very central to most of London ( 20 mins to Houses Parliament, Buckingham Palace, 30 to Nelsons column) and with Victoria 10 mins walk away it is easy to get to anywhere else.

GREAT local restaurants for all tastes and pocket in the area, we loved The Queens Arms (upstairs), Sole Mio and Chimes. Two local Spanish restaurants - avoid the one north of the hotel and go better to the one south west Goya (20 Lupus Street)!

ALL staff very helpful and polite, nothing too much trouble and they take pride in their hotel.

We would not hesitate to use again.

Room Tip: If not able to walk / climb well, you will need a ground or lower floor. Remember it is down a fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElSevillano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#261 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#527 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#202 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#601 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Property: Melbourne House Hotel
Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in London
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Melbourne House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing