We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #561 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel is very close to Victoria Station, which makes it a great base for a London trip whether it is business or pleasure.

When I arrived late on a flight from Edinburgh, it was very welcoming to find somewhere to stay which was clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel also felt very safe, as nobody off the street can just walk in.

Shower was good and bedding was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was also very pleasant.

I had a chat with the owner of the hotel who is very friendly and hospitable.

The hotel is basic but the price reflects this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBAMBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 493 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We slept in the top flor with a beautifull view on London Eye and Houses of Parliament. The en-suite room was a goode size, perfectly clean, new towels every day. Staff was helpfull and very kind. Breakfast was good with freshly baked toasts every morning. In the area are lots of restaurants including traditional English. Metro station is around the corner. We really like this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANAHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Last minute accommodation resulting me booking in this hotel. Lets look at the positives first:
1. The 'hotel' close to Victoria Station (10 mins walk)
2. Receptionist was helpful
3. The room was clean
4. Continental breakfast was adequate.

Lets be clear: 'The hotel description said room was small and there was a shared bathroom'. What it failed to say was:
1. Room was actually a closet.
2. Bathroom was accessible after climbing 2 flights of stairs. Someone had post-micturition dribbling problem and sprayed his urine all over the bidet! The hotel staff had failed the clean the bathroom.
4. The walls are thin and you could hear your neighbours' conversations at midnight!?
3. You will be scalded by hot water (I opened the hot tap and cold tap and ensured the water was perfect temperature however in the middle of the shower, the water turned into boiling temperature. The result was scalded skin!! The receptionist emphasized and stated 'that these incidents do happen in homes' I reminded her this was a hotel?!).

So who would I recommend this hotel to:
1. Not families
2. Not elderly since you will have to do a lot of climbing stairs
3. Persons who are using this as a last resort and are desperate for accommodation!

Final Verdict: This is a glorified Bed and Breakfast with expensive price tag!

Room Tip: Do these exist in this hotel!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam515253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuelaLondon, Owner at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

UNFAIR REVIEW: At The Melbourne House Hotel we welcome fair reviews, even if they are negative. From reviews we hope to learn how to improve our services for our guests to avoid becoming complacent. There are times though when a review is, in our opinion, untrue and unfair, this review is such a case. The reviewer stayed in our budget basic single room of which we only have two as all our other rooms are en-suite. it is true that the these rooms are not the largest but for the price of £59, in central London is extremely good value, keeping in mind that the price also includes a continental breakfast and VAT. One of our main commitments to our guests is that all our rooms and facilities are kept spotlessly clean at all times.
The bathroom used by the two basic singles has no bidet but a bathtub wash basin and toilet and cannot understand the comment that was made. As the two basic single rooms are the only two rooms on the same floor and there are no rooms directly above, we cannot understand how the guest could have heard neighbours conversations when there is only one other person in the other room. As for the temperature change of the water we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused to the guest but it is our first complaint of this nature and we were not aware of such a problem, we will of course make any changes if this is found to be true.
As we have been in the Hotel business for over 25 years, with countless very happy guests which range from families to the elderly, who have given us excellent reviews, we are aware that from time to time although rare, a few of our guest are not fully satisfied with what we have to offer but it is assured that we try at all times to provide the best possible accommodation and service for all our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent stay. Really handy location Pimlico tube station 2 minutes walk- 2 stops from Pimlico to Oxford Circus which will pretty much get you in to the centre of london. It is a basic hotel but that is reflected in price.No lift so have to climb stairs. Breakfast fresh and ample - continental style .I would recommend to others.
Lea C.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyprusLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

2 minute walk from Pimlico tube stop on Victoria line, plenty of shops and pubs within walking distance, quiet area, friendly staff and very helpful manager/owner. Highly recommend for a few days visiting London.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask to stay near the ground floor, my smoker friends struggled getting...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

clean and pleasant, small and friendly with good staff. nice choice of breakfast though not far ranging unfortunately there is no lift so if you can't climb too many steps better tell them to give you a room at ground floor level. also tell them if you are arriving too late at night.

Room Tip: no lift and you could climb a couple of storeys to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very convenient location between Victoria station and Pimlico station makes this hotel a good find. Clean and comfortable, but basic. It was a bit loud in the mornings, but that could have been because we stayed in a room next to a family with small children. As some other reviews have stated, there is no elevator, so be prepared to climb some steps if you're on a higher floor. All in all a good stay for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aut72usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#217 of 1,077 in London
624 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#115 of 1,077 in London
2,116 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#435 of 1,077 in London
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#582 of 1,077 in London
448 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#555 of 1,077 in London
783 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#653 of 1,077 in London
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Melbourne House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing