We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #518 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very clean, Very nice”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed here for five days and found this hotel a good buy. The cleanliness is outstanding, the bed linens are way above average. There is good hot water and pressure. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The decor is tasteful with lovely pastel colors and fresh carpet.My single room was very small but the assets more than made up for that. The location is outstanding, with a bus line to Victoria station, Westminster, Trafalgar Square and Oxford Street. The location on Belgrave Road is surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    242
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
108
176
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was in a room on the top floor which was eight flights of stairs to get up so if you are older or have trouble with stairs this ay be something you want to ask about when booking your room. It really wasn't a issue for me and also there is a really cool view out of one of the windows on the stairwell on the upper floors, you can see the top of big ben, parliament, the eye, and the cone shaped building in the distance. My room was clean and spacious, The bathrooms look to have been redone fairly recently and were very nice. The showers have really good water pressure, a nice perk! The building is situated in the Victoria Station area but closer to Pimlaco tube station. It is super easy for getting to the main attractions, and well positioned for taking some nice walks. They have free wireless and a nice breakfast. It's not a five star fancy deluxe hotel so if that is what you are looking for you will want to look elsewhere. If you want a comfy convenient friendly place to relax and rest your head, then this will fit your needs perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank world_traveler1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Melbourne House Hotel is an easy walk to the underground. It is within zone 1-2 of the underground, making quick, efficient transportation to major tourist sites in London. The value was quite good also comparitively.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower I took in the evening was cold, despite letting the water run for awhile. The next morning, hot water returned. Wi-fi was very spotty and worked best in the lobby. The rooms were not well insulated and unfortunately we had noisy neighbors. Breakfast was continental style with cereals, yogurts, toast and muffins.

We had a decent stay and I would recommend this most for budget-minded travelers. Not a great place for a romantic trip or one expecting some luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinneapolisGirl_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2012.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Pimlico station and about 10 mins from Victoria station. It is a Georgian townhouse style property in a quiet road. We were greeted with a friendly smile from the receptionist (which is always a good start!).

We were on the top floor (at our request) and there isnt a lift so best ask for a ground floor room if climbing stairs is a problem.

The room was small, but that is to be expected in central London, however, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. There was tea and coffee making facilities and the shower was very powerful!

Breakfast was included - it was quite basic, ie fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt, cheeses, ham, etc but served a purpose and the dining room was clean and the staff were friendly enough.

If you want a clean, reasonably priced, no frills hotel in Central London The Melbourne House Hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewels-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was in London for a conference and stayed here for 4 nights (May 2012).; The hotel is very convenient to Pimlico tube station (5 min walk) and Victoria rail station (10-15 min walk). The room was very clean, but definitely small. If you need to get work done in your room, avoid this hotel as there is only a very small surface on which to place a laptop and a short folding stool underneath. This had no back support making it rather uncomfortable. Furthermore, there is a fair amount of background noise coming from the stairwell and other rooms. This was not a major problem for me (noise cancelling headphones) but could be a major distraction.

The included breakfast is mediocre, although the staff put in a good effort. I got tired of it after two days and went elsewhere. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the shower was excellent: lots of hot water under good pressure. There was a problem though in that the toiletries (shampoo and soap) did not last long and were not replenished. I would suggest you bring your own supply just in case.

Keep in mind there are no lifts so be prepared to climb several flights of stairs to your room. I was on the second floor (two above ground) and the wifi was decent at that level. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were very clean overall with rather uninspiring decor and lighting. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay (1-2 days) especially if you plan not to spend time in your room except to sleep.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorJTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Melbourne House Hotel is a very good option as central London hotels are so ridiculously expensive. It was well located, very clean, excellent shower, comfortable bed, nice view (I was on the top floor and could see London Eye, Gherkin, etc.). As other reviewers say, the owner is very nice - many thanks for carrying my bag up all those stairs!!. The room was smallish but not any more so than many big city European hotels. I didn't sample the breakfast or use wifi so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: No lift, so bear this in mind with heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raffie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I needed a base for my Easter break whilst visiting my son and the location was ideal as I was arriving at Victoria coach station.
I had read previous reviews and packed accordingly to find that the hotel has been refurbished and I didn't need most of my extras. I did take my own pillow but I am sure that the hotel would have provided another on request. I stayed in room 5 which is a budget single (just 1 flight of stairs) and found it to be spotlessly clean and more than adequate for my stay. There were tea and coffee facilities provided and extra milk tubs when I asked for them. Breakfast had a good selection to chose from, bearing in mind the price I was paying, and extra coffee and toast offered to me.
Transport links are very good: £4.30 to return from Piccadilly on the tube or £7 for an off peak day travel card which also covers buses.It's a nice walk along the embankment to Parliament Square and onwards to the main sights. I felt safe in the area at all times, even walking back from the station late at night.
Everyone at the hotel was friendly and very helpful. I was truly sorry when the time came to leave. Tried to book again for my next trip but there are no vacancies.Will certainly try again though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#244 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#205 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#609 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#554 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Property: Melbourne House Hotel
Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in London
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Melbourne House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing