We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy and a bit odd”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #685 of 1,067 Hotels in London
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Pricy and a bit odd”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dunno what it is about our nations capital that turns me off. Maybe it's the expense, or maybe it's the cramped conditions or perhaps just the fact that everything is just that little bit more cramped, a little bit worse than, just not enough of it. 'It' being pretty much everything.

The Mayflower is a perfect example. It's a basic hotel, but the room we were allocated was just a little bit too small, the bathroom just too cramped, the dining room just too crowded, the breakfast just too boring. Everything cheap and just about acceptable. Is that what you want?

Look, to show you what I mean I took a photo fo the bathroom: That really is an A4 piece of paper on the floor. It's a magazine with KickAss on the front.

The breakfast is continental for which you can read cheap on crowded tables with no room. It's croissant and tinned fruit. No nice cold meats, no nice fresh fruit, nothing of any interest. Isn't England famous for the full English? At the Mayflower you'll need to settle for the half french no coffee or chocolate.

It's near the tube and not ruinously expensive but when you've said that you've said it all and that's not really what you want is it?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    304
    218
    141
    164
See reviews for
155
368
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just spent 3 comfortable nights here. Room was very small, but clean and quiet, in a lovely neighborhood, easy walk to interesting places. From here, you can walk to the Troubadour, where Bob Dylan and Adele have performed, and toward the center of the city, where you find Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, and spectacular museums. I'd gladly return!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with large people who won't comfortably share a queen bed, ask for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel. Nice decor, lovely shower and bed in a good location. Especially for Earls Court with both tube and exhibition. Probably 4 star standard, but a bit more homely than the chains. Good value for money!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, good location and value for money but a bit noisy due to train station at the rear of hotel. There was also noise from other guests banging doors but that's not really the hotels fault. Breakfast was good considering it was included in what was already a competitive price. We had a family room which was compact but acceptable.
Clean and great shower!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed for this hotel for the 1st night. It was okay.
The hotel is behind the Earl's Court underground station, so that once you find the place it is a convenient place to stay. Since it is VERY close to the underground running, you can hear the sound of the trains from 5AM to midnight. Some people might have hard time to sleep.
The hotel does not use the card key. My room was very hard to open with a key.
The breakfast was decent. The room was warm enough to escape from the coldness of outside. The shower was nice & warm. I reserved this hotel in a last minute, but the price was okay for the last minute deal because other hotels were extremely expensive.

Room Tip: If you are a hard sleeper, you might mind the sound of underground trains at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaecr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The mayflower Hotel and Apartments was great for our trip to Earls Court for the Military Tournament, just around the corner! it was a very pleasant hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The standard double rooms were on the small size, but were clean an nicely decorated. We would recommend it for a short break in London, it's fairly central for everything.
Tony and Helen Altass

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a business trip for £75. Considering it is close to Central London and very close to the tube - could see Earls court tube from my room - was good value.

As other reviewers have said rooms aren't massive but they are very well appointed - good quality bed, tv etc and a Good shower.

Not a good location for a romantic break but perfect for a business trip or staying over for a show.

Didn't eat in so don't know about the food.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#852 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#567 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#554 of 1,067 in London
643 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#492 of 1,067 in London
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Property: Mayflower Hotel
Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#376 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing