We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #697 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When you see the pictures everything is nice, but the reality is not the same.
Be aware to request an EN-suite because I believe that not rooms have a bathroom - not sure, but my request was ok and I got a private bathroom. My disappointment was with the room: they got me a basement room. The window was with a small opening on the upper part and of course you do not few comfortable with a window on a basement level. No A/C, and just a small fan in the room. Normally I do not complain about room size, but this one was bad! Two people cannot get to bed separately because 3 sides of the bed fit the walls, so if the person close to the window needs to leave bed, both need to move for that.
Also too much dust. The room had sheet changed every day, but when I moved my bag that was on the floor, there was so much dust that I figure when was the last time the room had been vacuummed... Also, the electronic safe did not work and I called the front desk the guy came and said it would be fixed on the following day. To my surprise, that could not be done and then a "key" appeared together with the room key. Strangely it said on the safe: "we are not responsible for items left on the safe".
Well, for the last, the staff was nice and polite and offered information upon request that was very helpful. Also breakfast was good and even more than I expected from a complimentary BF. We were happy. Also the room amenities with boiler, coffee/tea - helped a lot.
The best thing for me was LOCATION! A few yards from Earl's Court underground.

Room Tip: ensuite for privacy and void basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend on a surprise trip to London last week and couldn't fault it. It is a few tube stops away from all the action and the room was spacious and clean. I found the staff helpful and had no problems with the wifi. Breakfast was a bit of a military operation with the tables a little too close together for my liking...personal space and all that. Only issue I had was the double shower which I was excited to try but one head was broken...also the room was very hot! But I would definitely stay here again especially for it's convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I took my daughter to London for the first time and I pre booked this hotel based on its location and price, so I wasn't expecting much. I booked a twin room for one night and it cost £70 including a continental breakfast.

The hotel is a very short walk from Earls Court tube station, which itself is only a few stops on the Piccadilly line from Kings Cross train station.

On entering the hotel, the staff were not overly welcoming but far from rude, just business like and to the point which was fine. I paid for the the room, was given a key and directed to the room.

The room was a surprise, nicely decorated, clean and big enough for the two of us. The room had a flat screen TV, iPod dock, tea and coffee facilities and a decent size walk in shower. There was no air conditioning in the room, but it did have a ceiling fan which did the job and added to the character of the room.

One small downside is the fact that the beds were wooden, so every time you turned over, the beds squeaked and groaned a bit, however they were comfortable, albeit noisy.

In summary, the hotel is a real treat based on its location, standard of room and the price.

I will certainly be staying here again, no question.

Room Tip: I stayed in a twin room, room 3 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superreevesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

They are rude at the front desk, they want to send you to other buildings that they manage their apartments, mine is right next door four stories up with no elevator, imagine carrying the suitcases upstairs. It's a dump. Wifi doesn't work either

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here with our family of five for five nights in july 2013, staff were very friendly and very helpful, they booked attractions for us. the rooms were very nice and larger than many typical london hotels. Rooms are comfortable and modern. Breakfasts were basic continental but adequate. Overall we had a great stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank David704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel rooms are typically sized London rooms-small. Breakfast was fine and consisted of croissants, cereals, cheese and fruits. My in laws got an upgrade to the suite and it was very nice--splurge if you can get it. It is very nice and roomy. Hotel is very near tube station and there is plenty if restaurants in walking distance. Its a bit far from the central London sites but we had no problems. Overall, for the price we found the hotel a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizzReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful Hotel. The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful . We enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Great location in Earls Court and very close to the underground. We travelled into central London every day and it was a great base. We travelled with our three children and had two rooms. It worked well. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#741 of 1,081 in London
771 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#437 of 1,081 in London
433 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#746 of 1,081 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#615 of 1,081 in London
786 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#570 of 1,081 in London
486 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#595 of 1,081 in London
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $80 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing