We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms with appalling bathrooms and indifferent/ignorant management” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #656 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tiny rooms with appalling bathrooms and indifferent/ignorant management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is well located, being close to Earl's Court and Knightsbridge, and it's very easy to find from Earl's Court tube station.
However the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are so small as to be ridiculous. When I mentioned this to the duty manager, I was told "I can show you a smaller room if you like". The furnishings in the rooms are not of a high quality; certainly not of a four-star standard.
I will not be staying there again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilH191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    301
    210
    138
    159
See reviews for
150
358
62
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Frequently stayed in 20 Nevern Square. Foolishly assumed / advised by reservations that the Mayflower was in the same league. As other reviewers have commented, the management showed a distinct lack of interest in resolving problems
Pros- the location is good, close to tube, restaurants etc
Cons - wifi didn't work, reported it, guy on desk said "it should work" - not until another guest appeared with the same complaint was there any suggestion that it might be looked at.
No hot water in shower in the early evening, reported, but again no response. Happened again following evening and the next morning. Reporting it at check out elicited the response "there's lots of hot water"
One had almost to fight for bread rolls in the morning - usually finished halfway through the breakfast times. Likewise, the spoons (makes for an interesting observation - a four star hotel without sufficient spoons at breakfast)
Overall, the quality was far short of any hotel (even by London conditions) let alone four star - steer clear

Room Tip: Stayed in Executive Double - room fine but service poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A superb design hotel with free WIFI in the rooms.
Only one not-positive point: far from downtown, but very close to a metro station which makes it very easy except when it's too late and you have to take a taxi, which can be quite expensive ;-)
There are several restaurants in the neighborhood.
This hotel is gay-friendly (which seems stupid to mention since almost all hotels are since they don't know what you do in your room with your buddy :p).
Their breakfast is a little cheap.
A very good choice, nonetheless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerveGhysels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked via Booking.com. Our intention was to get a room for two adults and one 13 year old child. Upon arrival front desk informed us that they upgraded us to a family room.

When we entered the room we were really surprised. The room was so small that we had a hard time walking inside. Both beds were so small that even two small kids would have had a hard time to find relaxed sleep.

They did not care about our complaint and just told us "nobody so far did complain" about it. They were simply pretending that this is their normal size and referred us to the manager who was not available.

We went to a different hotel and are still fighting with them to get our money back. Never got ripped off so much as in this hotel.

Places like this should be excluded from any online booking platform.

Room Tip: Never pay in advance. Otherwise they will rip you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mennocrinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed one night in the hotel itself, which is on Trebovir Road, Earls Court. The apartments I think are on Warwick Road and this could be a noisy location as it carries a lot of traffic.

The receptionist at the hotel was very polite, efficient and charming.

The hotel looks clean and the reception area is quite tastefully decorated if a little sombre.

My room, a double, was fairly small but adequate but the bed, although comfortable, was a bit squeaky.

The bathroom was good with a walk-in shower.

The only downside, from my point-of-view was that the hotel doesn't serve breakfast until 7:30. For tourists, this may be an acceptable start time but for business people it is a bit late. Sadly I has to check-out of the hotel BEFORE breakfast.

The hotel is certainly better than some of its near neighbours which I have stayed at recently. With this in mind, I have decided to give it a 4 star rating although in reality it probably only warrants 3.5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshButFair51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at The Mayflower as I was attending an event at Kensington Olympia, and this was an ideal location. I opted to stay in one of their apartments which turned out to be in a separate building 5 minutes walk away on the very busy Warrick Road, in what seemed to be an actual apartment block (lots of other peoples mail in the hall). Though the apartment was clean and tidy and a great size for the price I paid, I think in future I would opt to stay in the hotel itself.

Good points:
Great location for Olympia, Earls Court, Earls Court tube etc.
Big Tesco 5 minutes walk away.
Shower was very hot and powerful but...

Bad points:
...only after I managed to turn the hot water on after accidentally turning the boiler off. Also, the shower handle came off in my hand and it was only through firm handling that I was able to actually turn the shower on. I mentioned this to reception upon checking out and they made a note of it.
Warrick Road is very busy - if you are a light sleeper the apartment might not be for you.
I felt quite isolated. As a young lady travelling on her own this wasn't really what I was going for.

I did not eat in the hotel at all so cannot comment on that, but the reception area looked nice and the loo by the breakfast room was lovely.

All in all not bad and great for what I paid, but I would probably stay in the hotel in future.

Room Tip: Stick to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 383HelenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was quite surprised with the offer we have got on bookings.com. We were expected a hotel that is of a lower range for the price we paid and our friends who went there a few months ago described it quite differently than what i expected.
Price: very reasonable!
Hygiene: clean and tidy!
Staff: excellent and helpful!
Location: Very close to Earl's Court Tube (it's super easy to get to anywhere else from there, it's basically in the city area). Many restaurants and grocery stores nearby. If you like sending postcards, there's even a post office across from Earl's Court Station.

We enjoyed our stay at Mayflower a lot! We were there for nearly a week and quite pleased with their service and their breakfast!

Room Tip: You can request for rooms on the upper flowers as they have a basement in which the breakfast room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyN931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#562 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#840 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#259 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#405 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#488 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Property: Mayflower Hotel
Address: 26-28 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#371 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 4-Star townhouse hotel in Earl's Court decorated and furnished in a distinctive 'East meets West' style, featuring 48 bedrooms. The Mayflower Hotel has provided guests with superlative accommodation and guest service for over 20 years. What makes us unique, however, is that we offer guests the chance to experience an independent, family business with a passion for interior design and sustainability. All rooms are decorated in our trademark East-meets-West style and with classic antique furniture - each room is individually decorated! Furthermore, the Mayflower Hotel will be completely sustainable by 2016 and we are already working hard with a bespoke sustainability consultant. The Mayflower will promote healthiness and wellbeing through a range of amenities, most immediate of which will be our organic juice and smoothie bar that will provide a stylish hangout for guests and locals alike. The Mayflower Hotel is ideal for guests looking for a personalised hotel experience and who would like to visit an idyllic part of London that is frequently reserved for locals only! We also aim to inspire our guests through the intermingling of our Eastern design, values, and range of new features to offer a delightful, warm, and detoxing place to stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel And Apartments
Mayflower Hotel Apartments
Mayflower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing