We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home from home in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lynton Hotel London
Ranked #46 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Lynton Hotel in Belgravia is the place we like to stay when in the heart of London. The hotel is situated on a very quiet street, just a couple of minutes walk from Victoria Railway and Bus Stations.

We found the hotel included in Rick Steve's London guide and our experience staying with Mark & his brother Simon a few times echo that of Rick's. The rooms are all pretty small when compared to a typical business hotel layout, but are very much typical of houses in the London area, and certainly very clean and comfortable. The co-owners, Mark & Simon, are very friendly, and make you feel like part of the family.

Mark's breakfasts are terrific!

Pricing is quite reasonable at around 100GBP/night for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite room. Although the toilet/shower pods are small, they work well enough and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris-N0UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markconnor, Owner at Lynton Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Chris, thank you for the review, especially the point about my breakfast being great .


Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Previous reviewers have summarized the deficiencies of the Lynton Hotel, so I won't dwell on the physical appearance of the place. However, I didn't find the hotel to be grubby or shabby. As my traveling companion and I agreed, the Lynton lacks "a woman's touch." Not surprising in that it is run by two brothers who have male (no prejudice intended, guys) standards of "tidy" and "decorated."

However, there are some significant problems here. Our room was 62 steps away. I hauled a 50# suitcase upstairs. When I came down for the second suitcase, Simon said he would take care of it. He didn't. Carrying 100# to an elevation of 40 feet is no way to start a London vacation!

Some additional observations:

I think they wash the towels in Plaster of Paris. They are scratchy beyond belief--and small!

The Lynton houskeeping staff presented some problems. At 2AM one night, we discovered that
there was no back-up roll of toilet paper. This necessitated a chilly trip to a "public" bathroom located on the landing below us.

The next morning, we discovered that there was no soap. I asked Mark about this and he gave me a fumbling explanation that included the cost of soap! (Simon is far more generous with his breakfast portions than is Mark.)

One morning, we were slow to start because my girlfriend was not feeling well. The housekeeper insistently knocked at our door saying she "had a lot to do." When we left, both housekeepers were lounging on the stairs using their cell phones.

Simon had more than his share of loutish moments. My companion's absence at breakfast for a few days inspired him to deliver a diatribe to breakfasting guests about her absence being an example of childish behavior. He also commented on this when my gal actually did sit down for some breakie.

Simon is loud, opinionated beyond reasonable discussion, and alarmingly unhygienic when it comes to the handling of food.

Passing the kitchen one morning, I saw him drink directly from a milk bottle. Also, receiving a plate of food from someone in soiled clothing is not a way to start a day!

Upon checking out, we gave Simon two credit cards and asked that he split the bill. At first he gave one card back. Then he agreed to do some math. Then he gave my girlfriend the wrong receipt to sign.

One of the principle draws of the Lynton Hotel is its location. Part of this is the proximity to the Victoria Underground, Victoria Station and the Coach Station. However, the Lynton website provides no directions, no map, no clue as to how to get from these transportation centers to the hotel. A map--or friendly Londoners--are essential to finding the place.

Belgravia is full of reasonably priced B&B's. Next time, we'll look for a better one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samdeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markconnor, Owner at Lynton Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

With regards to the above comments we are always happy to receive feedback so that we can learn and provide a better service; likewise we will also take the opportunity to defend ourselves if we think there is some misunderstanding. I therefore respond to the critique above as follows:

1. It is a very sexist approach to state that men cannot be tidy and clean; with regards to decoration I guess this means more feminised styled arrangements. If this means providing additional odds and sods to rooms such as additional pillows Etc,Etc. I admit we do not do this because our rooms are small and we do try to avoid unnecessary clutter .More clutter also tends to lead to more dust and makes the rooms harder to keep clean.
2. The towels come from a renowned laundry twice a week .We do wash a few on occasion but not that many; it is far more economical to get them washed by the laundry plus we do not have the space to wash and dry the towels ourselves. The towels are delivered in bundles of 10 in wrapped in a plastic covering and are described as bath towels .Some towels are sometimes a little rough but I feel the description that they feel like plaster of Paris is an inaccurate –In fact to be correct plaster of paris takes two forms :very smooth or rock hard once set. The only remedy would be to send the scratchy towels back which would cause a major headache for all those concerned.
3. Toilet rolls we generally leave two rolls in each en-suite room .We always try and tell guests to ask us for anything or come to us with any problems .What the writer failed to tell you was that they dropped a roll the extra paperdown the toilet pan in the middle of the night.
4. Soap in rooms We provide one bar of soap per a guest together with
A dispenser of liquid soap .In most cases the bar of soap is not used and ends up going in the bin, for this reason we only give out more soap on request. The person above misunderstood me; it was not a fumbling explanation it was a concise reply to his question asking why the cleaner did not leave any additional soap; I explained the reason why we do this is not due to the cost of the soap but down to the environmental waste that occurs and the fault was mine not the cleaners. I do tell them to only give out more soap on request.
5. Helping with Bags We do help with bags however sometimes we can’t do it immediately , we may cooking breakfast talking to other guests the list of reasons is endless but will take the bag up if we promise too .Most guests are happy to wait. Again I reiterate that we are a bed and breakfast located over 6 floors and have no lift.
6. Simon drinking milk- Simon does not drink milk I can confirm this being his brother. He merely smelt the milk.
7. Cleaning of rooms-The cleaners tend to get on very well with the guests.
I do not know what happened on the day concerned but I can guess that the lady did not tell the cleaner that she was not feeling to well and did not want to be disturbed. Knowing our cleaners they would have left the room alone (means less work) if the guest had asked.
8. Simon's opinions-Simon is opinionated I can’t deny this; some people love him for it others detest him for it. All I can say is that I can’t change him, he takes no prisoners so if you want a quiet time please go to a holiday Inn.(He is a dying breed untainted by political correctness which he does not understand )
9. Maps and directions- You will find details on bar that runs along the top of our web site

Regards

Mark Connor- Joint owner of Lynton B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Lynton Hotel and had a great time in London (3 days' city visit as family). We felt really welcome, loved the English breakfast - yes, Germans do like beans and bacon :-)! And Simon's breakfast is great! Our girls could also have cereals, toasts and fresh fruits every day. We stayed in a triple room and got an extra camp bed for our youngest daughter (2 adults and two girls). The room was below the roof (a lot of steps, but we love the sound of old houses' stairs), small but really cosy. There was a TV inside (we didn't need it), enough space to store our belongings. And every day the friendly hotel staff cleaned the room, decorated the beds with fresh towels. We shared toilet and shower, which was always clean. We would definitely recommend Simon's and Mark's Hotel to families and others. Everything is in walking distance, no problem to walk around with children. And Simon gave us a feeling of having known each other for a long time.
When you wake up in the morning, because you can smell a delicious breakfast even below the top of the roof - that's Lynton Hotel. We loved it! We only regret that we met Mark only when saying goodbye. But sure - if possible, we would love to come back again. Thank you Simon (and Mark and staff) for your best place in town :-).

Room Tip: Ask Simon and Mark for best options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want a taste of real London, a great location close to Victoria Station, and great value for your money, this is the place! We loved Simon's humor, his practical advice, and enjoyed breakfasts that were home cooked and captured the England we were loving. We had a triple and a double up at the top of the house--76 stairs, but the view out the window was like Mary Poppins! We were slightly apprehensive beforehand about sharing hall bathrooms, but they were clean, functional, and it worked out great for us.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Darlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A party of four women spent three nights at The Lynton Hotel. Mark and Simon have special charm. We enjoyed "full English" breakfasts, and good coffee. The rooms are most satisfactory, and clean (especially appreciated clean bathrooms). The high windows, street views, location, and nearby restaurants all add to the desirability of The Lynton Hotel. The owners respond promptly to email messages which is a great feature for guests. I recommend The Lynton to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mark and Simon were great hosts. We felt like we were guests in their home. They happily loaned us an adapter when we forgot ours. The bathroom in our room was prefab and small but it was just fine. This place is simple comfort and a great value. Very clean, good location, very friendly hosts, and great breakfast! We would stay there again and we would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location and top-notch service and friendly welcome by Mark. Room was clean and compact..but private shower and bath very, very cramped. (It looked like the bathrooms to share were adequate in size) Breakfast was very good...cooked to order. We asked for a room on 4th floor...Mark helped carry up luggage! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLIFFORD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#324 of 1,078 in London
1,679 reviews
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#450 of 1,078 in London
135 reviews
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#42 of 572 in London
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#14 of 572 in London
456 reviews
Belgravia
Astors Belgravia
Astors Belgravia
#94 of 572 in London
628 reviews
Belgravia
Belgravia Rooms
Belgravia Rooms
#340 of 572 in London
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Hotel London

Address: 113 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $105 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lynton B&B Hotel is a small friendly centrally positioned bed and breakfast in the centre of London, sandwiched between the areas of Belgravia, Westminster (home to the Houses of Parliament ) and Pimilico, a very safe neighbourhood. The West End, Soho, Vauxhall Cross area, Oxford Street with its shops and most of London’s tourist attractions are all nearby. Within our vicinity you will find pubs, restaurants, supermarkets, post office and ATMs just to make your stay easier. The location is also a transport hub with Victoria offering the underground, main line trains, and coaches and of course is a terminus for many of London’s famous red buses. Gatwick Airport is just 35 minutes away with the Gatwick express and all of London’s major airports can be reached by coach or tube. We offer basic amenities; our rooms are simple, small and clean. Most rooms have small en-suite facilities, safes and a few rooms share facilities on the staircase. Each room has digital television just in case you become bored with visiting all that London has to offer, kettle, tea and coffee and we can provide hairdryers and irons on request. We also serve a full English breakfast and offer free WIFI. The hotel is run by me and my brother Simon, both born within 10 minutes from our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Lynton Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing