We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.............Okay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #335 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Stayed here for one night. Arriving at the hotel, first impressions was like this should be good. Reception staff were okay. Check in was a bit werid. Ask something about the room and it was like asking for the lotto numbers. Drama! Sort of set the mood for the whole stay. Restaurant was okay too. We decided to head down after we dropped that bags at the room. No one said hi to us at the restaurant. It was not that busy but it seemed like all the staff were all stressed and all over the place. A girl behind the bar was asked by a senior memeber of staff to do something and after he walked away, she rolled her eyes and made a face! Not professional! After waiting 15mins to even get a menu! I believe the GM took our order! He was lovely! Nice guy! Even though there was restaurant staff on I cant understand why it was the GM the took our order? At least he said hi! Makes a big difference!

I could go on about Breakfast but it was pretty much the same as above! It was nice though. Trying to get a cup of coffee from the server was like check in!

I would probably stay here again! Check was ten times better than check in. A young man and girl were on duty that morning. Chatty and Friendly! Just what you want!

I normally dont make a point of things like this but it was obvious that some things need to be looked at!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

Booked online with Crowne Plaza and got excellent rate of £74/night B&B for family of 4 with advance payment. This gave us only negative, travel back into London. DLR station was closed so had to bus from Canary Wharfe/Canning Town, a little stresful at times but can't hold the hotel responsible for some very poor staff of London Transport.
On entry hotel is bright, modern and spotless. Check-in was effortless, professional and human.
Room was functional, comfortable and clean.
Ate at the restaurant that was a cut above most hotel restaurant offers. Simple menu but well cooked and presented. Once again staff were professional but human.
Hotel was quite every night despite being used for local airport.
Breakfast was excellent. No waiting for tables, plenty of space. Buffet service with lots of choice which was always well cooked, fresh and used good product. Service for drinks/toast was once again excellent.
Also ate in the bar and had a small problem with one meal, this was sorted immediately and did not spoil the experience.
Not much round the hotel, a couple of restaurants and bars, 2 shops and Excel a short walk. DLR station Royal Victoria some 200 mts, if open!
Pool and gym is of usual hotel offer but was welcome after/before a full day in London.
Once again no issues at check-out.
All in all an excellent hotel with good staff, would return without hesitation and recomend to anyone. It is somewhat unusual to get a city/chain hotel that manages to give you the feel of a small family run hotel, but, that is what we expierenced here. A good facility with good staff that is a credit to their industry.

Well done everyone at Crowne Plaza Docklands.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmrmells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This is exactly what a business hotel should be. Smart, clean and efficient. The reception and bar staff were professional and polite. The bar is very goos as is the breakfast. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

If the Docklands Crowne Plaza has a major downside, it would only be its isolated location. On the other hand, if you need to be close to the Excel Centre, the location could hardly be better.

The Crowne Plaza is very good but not great. Starting with the basics: The room rate was 180 GBP, or about 270 USD or 206 Euro – a little pricey for the offerings but probably good by London standards. Front desk service was prompt and friendly but not memorable. My room was very clean and odor-free, bathroom was adequately appointed, climate-control system worked well. The room was a bit narrow but adequate for one person. The carpet was a little worn. The two single beds had very soft (i.e. not firm) mattresses that I loved but that some might find intolerable or even painful. Maid service was adequate; I did not leave a tip the first day since I as yet had no local currency and they noted the transgression by not replacing towels and shower floormat. The rooms were soundproof and I experienced no hallway noise at night. The view from my room was dull. Interestingly, the door handles and key slots to the guest rooms were at wheelchair level.

Room photos are a little misleading because the furniture appears to be made of cheap particle board, but this is not the case. The hotel décor was probably not the best judgment call by whomever designed it – orange, red, and maroon color combination with minimalist furniture design. While it was clearly intended to be a retro Mod motif, it simply had the impact of looking cheap or like it had been last decorated in 1974. Be assured that neither is true.

Oddities: I did not see a bellman during my four days at the hotel. A hair dryer was provided but was tethered to the inside of the closet. There was only a low-voltage, two-prong outlet in the bathroom. There was no safe in the rooms. Closet and drawer space was minimal. Internet access was a ridiculous 15 GBP per day.

A breakfast buffet in the hotel’s restaurant, the Docklands Grill, was included with the room price and was adequate but not remarkable (except for the offering of baked beans). Dinner in Docklands Grill was really quite good and reasonably priced. A good-sized swimming pool, jacuzzi, and very well equipped exercise facility are available.

The surrounding area – called the Docklands – is off the beaten path. The locals disparaged the area as being out of the action. While true, it is clean, quiet, and safe. It is clearly an old working-class area in the process of being revitalized in modern style contrasted with existing architecture from days-gone-by. There are a number of small shops and little grocery stores within a block or two of the Crowne Plaza, so I did not have to look far to re-supply myself. Happily, it is quite easy and inexpensive (roundtrip is 3,20 GBP) to ride into central London on the “DLR,” an above-ground train with a station directly behind the Crowne Plaza. It’s about a 15-minute ride to the Tower of London.

The Crowne Plaza will probably not knock your socks off, but is very suitable for a stay near the Excel Centre. If your intent is to explore London, you probably will want to stay somewhere closer to the action.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel was beautiful, the staff took care of some traveling issues I was having or my vacation would have been ruined. The restaurant was nice and private and the bar had several sports events going on. They are more than happy to get you to where you would like to go. The best experience in a hotel I have ever had!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaLondonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel itself is in a lovely quiet area by the river, seemed very peaceful and felt very safe. The hotel is only a couple minutes walk from the station and easy to find. Very close to the 02 which was just want we wanted.

The hotel is fantastic, modern, very clean, pretty large rooms for London and comfy beds. The hotel swimming pool etc was also brilliant, clean and plenty big enough for what you need. Breakfast was also great, plenty of food, catered for everyone.

However on the down side the staff let this hotel down badly. I have stayed in many hotels (from 1 star up to 5) and have never come across staff so unhelpful and rude. I don’t ever complain but unfortunately we felt we really needed to at this hotel. A few examples - the member of staff at the swimming pool would not give me a towel, told me to use the one from my room, I explained (very kindly) that I wanted this to use for my shower after but she would not budge, I have never come across a 4star hotel who wouldn’t give me a towel! So I requested a clean towel to be sent to my room, this never showed up! The breakfast was advertised as 2 people for £18, when checking out we got charged £18 each and told we should have showed a voucher – no one told us this at any point within our stay but the lady was just rude and pretty much said it wasn’t her problem. I did pay and checked out but then went to double check the sign – no mention of vouchers on here so we went back to speak to the manager – he refunded both breakfasts. Even little things like asking for a spoon to eat our cereals with never showed up.

Overall the hotel itself is wonderful but the staff let this place down which is such a shame as they have a great place there!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

we stayed here over the easter weekend, i was a little wary after the rotton exerience id had in birmingham last month. however, i need not have worried.
from the moment westepped into the hotel we were made to feel welcome and it was genuine and not forced like so many.
we had a great suire with smashing views over the albert dock.
the rooms were brilliant, the staff were a credit to the hotel industry and the food and service was second to none.
im quite picky, but im well beaten on this one.
book in advance for the best deals and you wont go far wrong here.
its only a 3 min walk to the DLR station and 25 min run to central london.
brilliant pool to but beware of " brats" during school holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#274 of 1,077 in London
1,903 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#280 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#69 of 1,077 in London
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#198 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $101 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing