We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Stay in the Darklands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #341 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2009

If the Docklands Crowne Plaza has a major downside, it would only be its isolated location. On the other hand, if you need to be close to the Excel Centre, the location could hardly be better.

The Crowne Plaza is very good but not great. Starting with the basics: The room rate was 180 GBP, or about 270 USD or 206 Euro – a little pricey for the offerings but probably good by London standards. Front desk service was prompt and friendly but not memorable. My room was very clean and odor-free, bathroom was adequately appointed, climate-control system worked well. The room was a bit narrow but adequate for one person. The carpet was a little worn. The two single beds had very soft (i.e. not firm) mattresses that I loved but that some might find intolerable or even painful. Maid service was adequate; I did not leave a tip the first day since I as yet had no local currency and they noted the transgression by not replacing towels and shower floormat. The rooms were soundproof and I experienced no hallway noise at night. The view from my room was dull. Interestingly, the door handles and key slots to the guest rooms were at wheelchair level.

Room photos are a little misleading because the furniture appears to be made of cheap particle board, but this is not the case. The hotel décor was probably not the best judgment call by whomever designed it – orange, red, and maroon color combination with minimalist furniture design. While it was clearly intended to be a retro Mod motif, it simply had the impact of looking cheap or like it had been last decorated in 1974. Be assured that neither is true.

Oddities: I did not see a bellman during my four days at the hotel. A hair dryer was provided but was tethered to the inside of the closet. There was only a low-voltage, two-prong outlet in the bathroom. There was no safe in the rooms. Closet and drawer space was minimal. Internet access was a ridiculous 15 GBP per day.

A breakfast buffet in the hotel’s restaurant, the Docklands Grill, was included with the room price and was adequate but not remarkable (except for the offering of baked beans). Dinner in Docklands Grill was really quite good and reasonably priced. A good-sized swimming pool, jacuzzi, and very well equipped exercise facility are available.

The surrounding area – called the Docklands – is off the beaten path. The locals disparaged the area as being out of the action. While true, it is clean, quiet, and safe. It is clearly an old working-class area in the process of being revitalized in modern style contrasted with existing architecture from days-gone-by. There are a number of small shops and little grocery stores within a block or two of the Crowne Plaza, so I did not have to look far to re-supply myself. Happily, it is quite easy and inexpensive (roundtrip is 3,20 GBP) to ride into central London on the “DLR,” an above-ground train with a station directly behind the Crowne Plaza. It’s about a 15-minute ride to the Tower of London.

The Crowne Plaza will probably not knock your socks off, but is very suitable for a stay near the Excel Centre. If your intent is to explore London, you probably will want to stay somewhere closer to the action.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel was beautiful, the staff took care of some traveling issues I was having or my vacation would have been ruined. The restaurant was nice and private and the bar had several sports events going on. They are more than happy to get you to where you would like to go. The best experience in a hotel I have ever had!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaLondonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The hotel itself is in a lovely quiet area by the river, seemed very peaceful and felt very safe. The hotel is only a couple minutes walk from the station and easy to find. Very close to the 02 which was just want we wanted.

The hotel is fantastic, modern, very clean, pretty large rooms for London and comfy beds. The hotel swimming pool etc was also brilliant, clean and plenty big enough for what you need. Breakfast was also great, plenty of food, catered for everyone.

However on the down side the staff let this hotel down badly. I have stayed in many hotels (from 1 star up to 5) and have never come across staff so unhelpful and rude. I don’t ever complain but unfortunately we felt we really needed to at this hotel. A few examples - the member of staff at the swimming pool would not give me a towel, told me to use the one from my room, I explained (very kindly) that I wanted this to use for my shower after but she would not budge, I have never come across a 4star hotel who wouldn’t give me a towel! So I requested a clean towel to be sent to my room, this never showed up! The breakfast was advertised as 2 people for £18, when checking out we got charged £18 each and told we should have showed a voucher – no one told us this at any point within our stay but the lady was just rude and pretty much said it wasn’t her problem. I did pay and checked out but then went to double check the sign – no mention of vouchers on here so we went back to speak to the manager – he refunded both breakfasts. Even little things like asking for a spoon to eat our cereals with never showed up.

Overall the hotel itself is wonderful but the staff let this place down which is such a shame as they have a great place there!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

we stayed here over the easter weekend, i was a little wary after the rotton exerience id had in birmingham last month. however, i need not have worried.
from the moment westepped into the hotel we were made to feel welcome and it was genuine and not forced like so many.
we had a great suire with smashing views over the albert dock.
the rooms were brilliant, the staff were a credit to the hotel industry and the food and service was second to none.
im quite picky, but im well beaten on this one.
book in advance for the best deals and you wont go far wrong here.
its only a 3 min walk to the DLR station and 25 min run to central london.
brilliant pool to but beware of " brats" during school holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

After being a member of Quad Club for a number of years, they decided to change the terms of my aggreement without notifying me. My discount was taken away without reason, or even telling me. Absolutley appaled with the customer services. Was told that the manager would call me to discuss my membership - to this day I still await a phone call. DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL OR GYM!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1RAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I joined their so called service called the quad club so I would get extra benefits while I was staying at this particular hotel. While staying there all IV had is bad service and the level of communication is abysmal. From them! The monthly subscription which I pay is not worth nothing as all I get with it is to use their gym which you cannot swing a cat inn and the use of their swimming pool which is so dirty you wouldn’t wash a tramp in it!!

They also had the cheek to withdraw my discount benefit and when I complained to the bar manager he was so disinterested could only manage to stump up ‘sorry that’s the company policy’ over and over again!! I am absolutely appalled with them and would never stay at this hotel again as it is over priced and the staffs are useless!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyGarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We booked our stay through lastminute.com. £60 a night seemed good value but they also have offers for around this price on their website, the cost if you turn up on the day appears to be about four time this.

The man initially gave us a twin room with two single beds and we wanted a double. I had read on their website that twin rooms have two double beds so I didn't think to phone ahead and state a preference (I must have read the wrong section). The lad on reception was very nice, he said they didn't have any double rooms only the executive suite and gave us that instead for no extra cost. Needless to say we were very happy as this was meant to cost about four hundred pounds.

The only problem was that there was construction work on the tube line so it wasn't as easy as it could have been to get to the hotel. We walked from Canning town and it was really dark and a bit scary.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#265 of 1,077 in London
1,922 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#271 of 1,077 in London
2,350 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,705 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#106 Family Hotel in London
#198 Business Hotel in London
#240 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $111 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing