We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and location,but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #331 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel on saturday morning for us on saturday night through a hotel booking site with breakfast included, when we arrived they didnt have our information on the computer, so we ended up in a different room to which we had booked and had to wait for about half an hour whilst this was sorted, but to the hotels credit, samantha and madeline who saw to us on the front desk where absolutley incredible very friendly and helpfull!
The room was large with a very comfy bed, few scratches on the wall and stains on the carpet which you wouldnt usually expect from us an expensive high spec hotel!
We went for breakfast the next morning (we had paid for breakfast when booking) but we werent on the list, breakfast then got charged to our account altho we had paid, spoke to the duty manager who insisted we hadnt paid for it and it was all wrong, offered to charge us a reducded rate which is when you get breakfast coupons from reception instead of just paying when you go in which makes it £8 less pp which we werent told on arrival! And told us to contact the firm we booked through regarding breakfast, have done this and hotel have since given the money back as we HAD paid for it on our booking like we said! Alot of unnessicary hassle for a highly priced hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niknak92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I sincerely and profusely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact us directly as per your earliest convenience and ask for the manager on duty so we can discuss this further.
Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands.
Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night it was a very friendly and clean hotel our room was a standard but was very large with a view of the river, we chose this hotel as we were going to the rod stewart concert at the O2 which is 0.89 miles away which seemed nice and close however it's only close if you swim across the river lol had to go across on a cable car which I didn't like the idea of but wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.
We had breakfast which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

"Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comment. Our staff works very hard to make each guest's stay is special and I’m glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. We are also delighted to hear that our location was convenient for your trip.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you once again on your next London.

At your Service,

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel with superb staff, so friendly will defiantly go back and highly recommend. Helena service and attention at breakfast was lovely and all the staff were so attentive , and couldn't do enough for you. Ideal base for 02 and the sky lift views are worth seeing .

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazcoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest

I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands and for taking the time to post your 5stars review regarding your relaxing stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff exceeded your expectations. I will personally pass your comments onto Jelena who I’m sure will be thrilled to know she provided excellent customer service and helped make your stay a fantastic one.


Please feel free to contact myself directly to assist with any future bookings.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Docklands Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed over Sunday night so we could go to Leonarf Cohen concert at O2.
So easy to get to O2 , just use the cable cars. But you will have to go back by tube or taxi (£20).
Very friendly staff in hotel. Nice rooms. We had breakfast. I made the mistake of having full English, it was cold! Although my husband ate all of his. I wish I had chosen continental. Lovely staff in the dining room . Would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hattietyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at our iconic hotel. Your kind words about the service you received are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team here.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza London Docklands in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, superb food - loved the duck and the prawn cocktails. Great variety at breakfast despite how busy it was in the mornings. The staff in the hotel were very attentive. Love the location, the room was great, very spacious. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend to others

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to truly thank you for the very positive comments throughout and for taking the time to share your excellent experience with us all.

You have made our staff very happy with your feedback and it is very nice in return to know that you would recommend the hotel to your family, friends and colleagues visiting London.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Docklands Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

As above - this hotel is ok if you're coming to London for business reasons. It's really close to Excel and O2, the shuffle bus to Canary Wharf is offered in the morning/evening, which is a great advantage. However, if you are planning to do some sightseeing/drinks in the city center, I would recommend choosing more centrally located hotel. Getting to Crown Plaza by public transport requires metro and DLR ride,which is rather time consuming. Additionally, DLR stations are not really pleasant places to be in the late evening and trains were running relatively seldom.

Coming to hotel itself: room was spacious and clean, staff really helpful and hospitable (great advantage of this place!). Chlorine smell at the reception desk (coming from swimming pool, located on the ground floor) was the only annoying thing I can recall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such detailed review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands.
I am delighted to hear that our staff, room and transportation have exceeded your expectations but naturally disappointed to know you were not fully satisfied with our location.
In regards to the Spa facilities, I am happy to inform you and our future guests that our Spa is upgrading and will have a separate entrance away from the reception lobby which will not cause any smell of chlorine.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza London Docklands in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend and from start to finish the service we received was excellent! The staff without exception were very friendly and helpful. We had a superior room which offered an amazing view across the Thames to the O2 and the cable cars.
The room was clean and had everything we needed including a bathrobe!
The bed was big and very comfortable with plenty of pillows ( I often find myself asking for extra pillows in some hotels).
Breakfast was buffet style with a huge choice of food, the cooked breakfast was outstanding! Plus staff coming round regularly to refill our cups with as much tea/coffee as we wanted!
This hotel was an ideal location for getting about in the city within short distance of the DLR.
The cable cars ran from just over the road from the hotel which I would highly recommend!
The hotel boasts a lovely pool and we wished we had brought our swimwear to make use of it.....we will do next time as we will definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your rave review of our hotel and your loyalty.
We try our very best to WOW every guest of ours with excellent customer service, on top of the wonderful rooms and amenities that we offer. We are so happy that you enjoyed almost every aspect of your stay here and we would absolutely love to welcome you back again at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands

Warm Regards

Ashraf Khouakhi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#285 of 1,081 in London
1,942 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#266 of 1,081 in London
2,388 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#169 of 1,081 in London
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#106 Family Hotel in London
#197 Business Hotel in London
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $118 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing