We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekday business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #342 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a good location for docklands area is opposite the cable car across the thames and near an interesting exhibition at the Siemens building called the Crystal. The hotel is modern and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful and I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank DelHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It's such a joy to learn that our staff made our customers happy!

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Docklands. I am very delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to staying with us again.

I look forwrd to welcoming you back soon to re live the amazing Crowne Plaza experience.

Kind Regards

Patience Eshun
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed for two nights whist visiting my son.The hotel is in a good location.The room I had looked over the dock area which was a bonus.
The service was very good - the room was first and the breakfast and evening meal were tasty.

I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Docklands for your recent stay and also for taking time to share your feed back. It is very encouraging to read such great reviews from our guest. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team who are very delighted.

We strive to excel in taking care of our customers through training of our staff and updating of our facilities. I am very glad this has paid off .

I look forward to welcoming you back soon where great memories await you.

Kind regards

Patience Eshun
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We got a great deal as we booked through lastminute.com's secret hotel offering, where you only find the name of your stay after you've booked. We're on a tight budget so this was great as we got a better deal staying here at the Crown Plaza than we would have got for a budget chain like Premier Inn or Travelodge.

A great stay overall. The hotel is in a good location, accesible to all of London via the DLR and more tube lines from Canning Town (next stop from Royal Victoria).

Rooms were fantastic, beds we're the comfiest hotel beds we've experienced. Only complaint was that we were in a room closest to the lift, so there was a little bit of noise from screaming kids from time to time.

They have a pool, sauna and gym which we tried out, all really good facilities.

Would recommend this hotel, only downside was the immediate area where there isn't a lot to do- this didn't matter though as we spent most of our time in central London.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinglights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the hotel and found the beds comfortable here. I apologise if you were inconvenienced due to noise outside your room.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, during conference at London ExCeL! The hotel is clean, has good high speed Internet facility! It has a good gym, swimming pool and sauna...... Located close to underground stations (DLR). Good breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased to know that you liked the hotel. I am happy that you found the hotel clean and also good to know that you enjoyed our high speed internet facility. I also appreciate that you used our gym and swimming facilities and liked them too..
We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Best regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, managed to get a great deal on a website. We arrived really early and were given our room immediately. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable with all amenities.
The beds were so comfortable that we overslept! No trouble with a slightly late checkout.
The staff were very polite and helpful and we felt very special because of their attitude.
The only down side was the price of the drinks in the bar, very pricey, beware.

Room Tip: Because of the location most rooms should be fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kooky3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured I will pass your feedback to the teams across. I have also taken notes of your comment about drinks price and will pass it to the relevant team too.
We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards
M Masihuddin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a big, slightly impersonal, hotel. The rooms are comfortable but absolutely nothing extra. That being said, the beds were very comfortable and the supply of toileteries was rather generous. The size of a double room is pretty average by European standards.

If you are sensitive to smell, you will get a shock from the chlorine stench in the lobby. It comes from the pool that is situated nearby. I really can't understand how the reception staff stands it!

The service rate of the staff was rather so-so. While the concierge was very helpful with bookings and suggestions, the reception desk was horribly ineffective when we arrived. I know the checkin time is 2 pm, but if you (like we) turn up at noon, then surely at such a big hotel you will be able to find a room, or at least make up the designated room in advance?

Also, be prepared to pay horribly for breakfast (19 pounds/person) if it isn't included in your room. AFTER paying that the first morning, we were informed by the restaurant staff that we could have had a voucher at the reception and only paid 10 pounds/person. No one informed us about that when we checked in. My suggestion is to go have the full English breakfast at the cafe across the street, for just 6 pounds :)

Another minus with this hotel is their so-called free wifi. It's free for 2 hours, folks. Travelling with a teenager, that is a minor disaster...

While it was nice for us to discover the Docklands, you should really be aware that this is quite a far way from the city, even though there is a subway station just behind the hotel.

All in all - OK in comfort, but the nonchalant service brings down the overall impression.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaBilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Mrs Billing
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. While I was happy to read that you found your room comfortable I regret to hear that you found our services less satisfactory. Please accept my apologies that we couldn’t get your room prepared in advance. I wonder if you had requested an early checkin. Mrs Billing while we try our best to prepare the rooms as early as possible sometimes we are unable to do as the hotel checkout time is set to 12noon and often on the weekends we will have to wait until the previous guest vacates the room to clean for the new guest. I have also taken notes on your comments about breakfast prices and will pass it to the relevant teams. I also regret that the special promotional offer wasn't communicated to you at checkin. Please remain assured that your feedback is important for us and it will help us review our trainings and we will learn from our shortcomings.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Best regards
M Masihuddin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Docklands so we didn't have to worry about travelling thru London after a concert at the O2. The hotel was lovely with excellent facilities and as we got an omline offer, it was excellent value for money. We weren't aware that breakfast was extra and at £10 we thought this a bit excessive so we didn't bother! It is very well placed for the Emirates Cable Car with the terminal being almost opposite the hotel. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the engineering works at Royal Victoria station! This was over the easter bank holiday weekend so the clocks had gone forward andaltho the works started at 8am on the sunday morning, our body clocks still thought this 7am! We were at the back of the hotel with a room directly in line with the works, rather unfortunate when accompanied by a child, stated on booking. We could stay in our room til 12 which was a nice luxury so checked out at our leisure, we obviously had the same idea as a lot of people as we were waiting 20 minutes before we were seen! The downside to the booking process was that as we had to give a card stamp for any extras to be added, an amount of£50 was 'held' by the hotel, we checked out on the Sunday, however, this amount was not released from my card until the following Thursday! I would recommend and would stay again, but would ask for an even numberroom next time for a room at the front overlooking the docks!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are at the front of the hotel overlooking the docks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterflymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback on the tripadvisor. We appreciate you took time out to review us. I would like to apologise to you for the inconvenience caused due to noise from rail works outside the hotel. I regret that this wasn’t aniticpated and communicated to you at check in. Please remain assured that I have recorded your comments and will discuss this with the area maintenance incharge and try and minimise the effect it has on our guests. Please do get in touch with us prior to your next booking so we can pre allocate a room overlooking the docks on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Best regards
M Masihuddin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#280 of 1,077 in London
1,938 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#262 of 1,077 in London
2,369 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#106 Family Hotel in London
#197 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $105 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing