We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How can it take a week to fix the pool heater?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Ranked #312 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“How can it take a week to fix the pool heater?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I chose this hotel specifically for the swimming pool. I had my other staff stay for a little bit less at the Novotel down the road right next to the ExCel where we were working. I travel 3 weeks out of four somewhere in the world. I swim every day of the year and thus a decent pool is high on my list. If they had managed to heat this pool it would have been great. I had four days of 50 minute swims in cool water in what should have been, as advertised, a heated pool. The signs about the problem were getting tattered and every day the staff seemed to have another lame story. No sense or urgency was shown in dealing with the issue. They seemed to not care about the problem enough to get it fixed. My bet is the problem still exists today!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear about your experience being less than satisfactory due to our swimming pool being out of service for a few days. I can assure you that we have recorded your comments and will most certainly share it with our suppliers who I believe took quite a few days to resolve the heating issue. I am grateful that you have taken time out to write about this as i see this as a constructive effort so we can improve and deliver a seamless guest journey. Saying that I also appreciate that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Docklands and I hope this experience doesnt deter you from staying here again for an improved experience.

Best Regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    616
    230
    111
    75
See reviews for
259
583
83
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Went for drinks in the bar area. Considering the views most of the furniture is arranged so you feel you are in an airport lounge. It's so cold you have to wear thick jumper or a coat. I sat most of the evening with my coat on as it was minus 2 outdoors and probably colder inside as they insist on having the air con full blast. There is no heating - gone are the calor gas heaters which were very archaic and unattractive and did heat up a small square if you happened to be lucky to sit near it.

Bar staff fairly friendly and much speedier in their delivery. No atmosphere and just a very chilly experience. Not the place to go if dressing to impress as goosebumps not an attractive sight in your posh frock.

When will they get with the programme. New decor slightly better but not much. Poor effort sadly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Monkeystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortbale evening in our bar due to it being very cold. Please remain assured that I will relay your comments to all the relevant teams including our chief engineer and the bar manager. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again for an improved experience.

Kindest regards
M Masihuddin
Guest Services manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza London Docklands for two nights over the valentines weekend. We had previously stayed at the hotel in the summer of 2009 and decided it was an ideal hotel to revisit. The introduction of the cable cars to and from the O2 has greatly improved the amenities available in the area of the hotel, with plenty of shops available. The hotel is situated ideally for transport links to the centre of london, and it is thought that many would use this hotel for its closeness to the O2 itself.

Our stay at the hotel was very pleasant, however i have a few suggestions that would have made the stay perfect. i would suggest that the hotel invests in new duvets for the rooms. Although the room we stayed in was a standard basic room, the duvet was lumpy and not what i would class as the standard a 4 star hotel would use. We also noted that the windows do not keep out much noise. This was not a problem previously as the docklands were largely quiet, however now that the area is used more widely for access to the o2 it is suggested that this be looked into.

On the plus side, breakfast was perfect, with plenty of choice, although would not have wanted to pay more than the half price £10 we managed to get it for, £18 seems a bit steep for breakfast. Although there was a short wait at check in, the staff were very pleasant and informative. The only suggestion i have is that there is better explanation to customers at the beginning of their stay of when their cad is actually being charged and why.It can be confusing and worrying for customers to have to use their card at both the beginning and the end of the stay.

It was also noted that since 2009 the room service menu seems to have been greatly reduced. This was slightly disappointing for us as we were looking forward to having a pizza in our room as we had done previously. i appreciate it was 4 years ago and there are reasons for the changes but would like to see a greater range of room service available to encourage people to use hotel facilities rather than go elsewhere.

We would stay at this hotel again for its location and convenience in travelling to various sites in London, however hope that some of my comments are acted upon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyhughes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Ms Hughes
I am grateful for your thorough and a very constructive feedback. I have taken notes of your suggestions and will be sharing it with the relevant teams and their heads. I am glad that you chose to return to us even though after a while since you have last been. We value your feedback and we hope to bring up the points that you have mentioned. It was pleasing to read that you liked our breakfast. I have also taken notes about the front desk team communication with guests and also about room service menu. Once again I will cascade it amongst the departments. Thank you again for you feeback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
M Masihuddin
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our stay was a short one, but we has simply nothing to complain about...good breakfast, quite and clean rooms and adequatly refreshed...the only thing is that maybe you expect a bit more for what you pay...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTV411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay and you found the room quiet and comfortable and that the breakfast was good and refreshing.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

easy to find of the DLR only a couple of minutes walk...staff at check in were very nice and helpful. (marni i think her name was) we were celerbrating our 19th wedding anervsary and the hotel gave us a free room upgrade and a room with a view (6040) of the docklands which was lovley. the room was clean, good size and peacfull the only niosewas from other guest was when walking pass your door to the lift. cable cars were a 2 min walk. jet skiing on the docks nice walks and easy transport links into the city..pool was nice didnt use the gym, steam room was good although a couple of broken tiles could do with being fixed. pool depth 1.2 good for kids..very friendly hotel...tesco express near buy which came in handy. free water in the mini bar was great. great location for o2

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you decided to spend your special occasion here with us. I am also happy that you found the service here friendly and also that the room was comfortable and with nice views. I will pass your comments to the team members and in particular to my colleague who checked you in.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next anniversary.
Kind regards
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Upon arrival we were checked in by Mohamed. I cannot say when u last experienced such excellent customer service he was extremely friendly and courteous. He is a credit to the hotel. Our room was amazing, big modern and clean. The maids were very friendly too. Myself and my husband will certainly be returning to this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We stayed in a superior room. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so pleasant. Mr and mrs Anderson

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiesam1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Anderson,

Thank you for your kind words. We are here to make stays special. I am glad on this occasion you had a good time in the hotel. Rest assured I will pass your comments to all staff including front desk team and housekeeping. Glad you liked it. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards
M Masihuddin- Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is generally speaking ok - however the room was dirty, not going to go into too much detail but lets says it wasn't the odd dirty mark here and there.

Complained to the general manager and the hotel has since gone out of its way to make up for this. They refund 1 night of the 2 and have offered a complimentary upgrade for our next stay.

Havign stayed at CP around the globe this was the most disappointing CP have ever stayed at. I would probably give it 1 more chance purely based on the staff reaction to our issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMLondonDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Docklands, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mr Nuttall

Thank you for your review. I regret that your room wasnt checked properly prior to your check in. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused. I hope you are happy with the resolution that my colleague has written to you about.
Finally I sincerely hope that this experience doesn't deter you from choosing the hotel again as we look forward to welcoming you again for a much more pleasant experience.
Kindest regards
M Masihuddin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#266 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#448 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Docklands

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Address: Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#198 Business Hotel in London
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza London Docklands , a unique, contemporary hotel overlooking Royal Victoria Dock.We are walking distance from ExCeL Exhibition Centre (West) and just minutes from the financial district of Canary Wharf & the City of London. London City Airport is a 5 minute ride away & the O2 in Greenwich & Tower of London can also be easily reached. The hotel is located next to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) station Royal Victoria, which connects after one stop with the Jubilee Line, at Canning Town, into Central London or Stratford.The hotel boasts its own Meeting Success Centre, with 9 meetingrooms accommodating up to 275 delegates including a dedicated Executive Boardroom.We offer today's business and leisure travellers dependability, friendly service and the latest in designer-led facilities at excellent value rates. We can't guarantee the weather in England, however we can guarantee the quality of our 'Make It Happen' service and our world-renowned breakfast buffet.The hotel houses a busy, contemporary bar and lounge and a restaurant accessable from the avenue or from the hotel Reception. The Quad Club offers guests a purpose-built health and fitness facility, with an indoor pool,jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom and the latest gym equipment Please note: opening times of the leisure club may vary seasonally. The hotel is located in the East of London - host to the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing