We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little hotel.”
Review of The Jade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jade
Ranked #85 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
“What a great little hotel.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I found this hotel to be clean and comfortable. The room I had was compact, but it was clean, it had everything as advertised: hairdryer, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, kettle, microwave, fridge, little kitchen sink, as well as a good size walk-in power shower, and clean and comfortable bed.
Friendly and polite reception staff.
Very short walk to the underground station, and a large choice of local restaurants and supermarkets.
Perhaps a hook in the bathroom for the towels would have been useful, and storage under the bed for the suitcase - but it was fine for a few nights. I have stayed in far, far worse hotels at higher cost -so I would definately stay in this hotel again. Thank you.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor, just behind reception. It was quiet in terms of street noise, lift etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    126
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
24
96
68
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

the room was ok, clean and functional. I was given a ground floor room and was glad of it as the ones in the basement looked really tiny.
My night was almost sleepless due to the continuos noise, it sounded like water going through pipes. Also, i was nextdoor to the lift and the "doors closing" message was very loud.
The bed was comfy and the general cleanliness was very good. The shower room was modern and the shower very good.

Room Tip: do not get the rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaccidentaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Clean and modern room and bath. Saw some comments about noise from the nearby tube line, but rooms ending with 01 and 02 to the front of Hogarth road, are quiet and very comfy. OK, there is not too much space for 2 of you, but everything else is very OK for the price... ! Short way to the tube station Earl's court or to Bus 74 on Cromwell road to Knightsbridge. Nice restaurants, pubs and supermarkets just around the corner.An empty fridge to fill, microwave oven, cups, glasses and bowls to be filled and a sink, to wash up. Bed was just 135 cm, but comfy,TV flat and of a good size.There was NO noise from the tube or other guests. Booked online via Agoda and it was just 130€ for the standart double.The only concern is the missing storage room for lagguage. The friendly staff, will only store the suitcases just in front of the desk of the lobbby...no idea, wether this is a really safe place, when other people are coming in and outin busy times.
But I´ll come back again for room 202. I loved it! And the price as well, for that location.

Room Tip: ask for room to Hogarth road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NrwCitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in a single room on the 4th floor with big window. It was absolutely clean, neat and tidy. 5 mins walk to the nearest tube station, plenty of restaurants, cafes, grocery stores in the neighborhood, Couple of stations to Harrods, 15 mins by tube to Oxford and Bond, and 25 mins to Heathrow. House-keeper should pay more attention to detail. During my stay, they kept replacing the wrong things, they either didn't replace the things that I'd used or they replaced those things that I didn't even need, e.g. shampoo, tea bags...So at the end of the stay, I ended up having 6 bottles of body lotion and no conditioner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The main problem with this recently renovated and practical hotel is the noise from the nearby train. My room was small but it was all modern, clean and I had space for everything.

In the closet there is one part for your clothes the other has a small fridge, sink and kettle with instant coffee, tea and cookies. Since there is no breakfast served at the hotel this is very thoughtful. Plasma TV, tiny desk, small but stylish shower room and comfortable bed.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and the lobby is very spacious and welcoming.
It is a very short walk from Earls Court station but this is really the main reason I would not come back here again. I did not particularly like this area and the noise was awful while trying to sleep at night. I woke up every hour or so! The next day I purchased earplugs but I still slept badly. In the morning I had to turn the TV on so that the train noise wouldn't bother me.
I am very sensitive to noise so this was driving me crazy!

Apart from that the hotel is lovely so if you are not bothered by the noise and like this area then do stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocodemer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in process was straightforward, and wifi was free. Unfortunately the positives stop there. The room was tiny, a single bed pushed up against the wall and being able to lie in bed and reach the other wall indicates how small. The "kitchenette" was a sink and kettle shoved into half of the wardrobe. The microwave was placed so high I couldn't reach it. The remaining wardrobe space was so small that I could only hang my clothes in sideways so as not to crush them. The room appeared clean on first look, but subsequently discovered long black hairs in both the bedding and the towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was so small, there wasn't enough room to dry myself on coming out of the shower.
No restaurant on site, so no breakfast or dinner options available. Disappointing considering the price being paid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkno26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights and loved our stay. I requested for two twin beds and a window since they also offer rooms without a window. The hotel has free wifi with good signal.

The room was clean and had modern decoration. The pillows and sheets were clean and crisp.

The bathroom was tiny but clean. My only complaint here is that the bathroom door was made of frosted glass. It's weird that you see whatever the person is doing inside the bathroom.

The front desk was also very helpful and friendly.

The location was very convenient. It's safe to walk from the station to the hotel at night. A quiet neighborhood. It's approximately 5-minute walk from Earl's Court Station. It's also in the same tube line if you are taking the tube from Heathrow, ride is about 30 minutes.

All in all, when I re-visit London, I will definitely stay at The Jade again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,068 in London
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#625 of 1,068 in London
1,277 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Property: The Jade
Address: 52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jade 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Court London
Hotel Green Court
The Jade London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing