We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny and not exactly clean”
Review of The Jade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jade
Ranked #75 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Tiny and not exactly clean”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in process was straightforward, and wifi was free. Unfortunately the positives stop there. The room was tiny, a single bed pushed up against the wall and being able to lie in bed and reach the other wall indicates how small. The "kitchenette" was a sink and kettle shoved into half of the wardrobe. The microwave was placed so high I couldn't reach it. The remaining wardrobe space was so small that I could only hang my clothes in sideways so as not to crush them. The room appeared clean on first look, but subsequently discovered long black hairs in both the bedding and the towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was so small, there wasn't enough room to dry myself on coming out of the shower.
No restaurant on site, so no breakfast or dinner options available. Disappointing considering the price being paid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkno26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    121
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
23
94
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights and loved our stay. I requested for two twin beds and a window since they also offer rooms without a window. The hotel has free wifi with good signal.

The room was clean and had modern decoration. The pillows and sheets were clean and crisp.

The bathroom was tiny but clean. My only complaint here is that the bathroom door was made of frosted glass. It's weird that you see whatever the person is doing inside the bathroom.

The front desk was also very helpful and friendly.

The location was very convenient. It's safe to walk from the station to the hotel at night. A quiet neighborhood. It's approximately 5-minute walk from Earl's Court Station. It's also in the same tube line if you are taking the tube from Heathrow, ride is about 30 minutes.

All in all, when I re-visit London, I will definitely stay at The Jade again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had the impression that I had booked a hotel apartment; found a small sink and a microwave in the wardrobe. Other than that, the room was good, clean (amazing bathroom!), shame the noise from the tube and from other guests.
Staff are friendly and easygoing, its hard to tell whether they are if they actually work there. May go back, but Ill look around a bit more in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superclarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights occasionally since our flights were cancelled and need to find a hotel immediately at the airport. We chose there since it was on the Picadilly line that we can directly access from the Heathrow airport. It was just a 2 mins walk to the Earl's Court tube station and there was a big Sainsbury supermarket nearby and about 10 mins walk to the Natural Science Museum.

The room was not big but spacious enough for a short period of stay. It has a microwave so that we can buy some microwave meals and eat inside the room. The room was clean and kept in good condition. Sound proof seemed good too cos I didn't hear much noises from outside. We were provided a password for the wifi and the speed was good. No need to log in from time to time.

For negative points, the mattress was not good enough that I feel my back very tired after woke up. They didn't change the bed sheet during our 3 night stay. The sink in the bathroom was not that well designed and easily get all wet. They have replaced many shampoo for us but no shower gel even it was used up.

Overall we enjoyed during the stay and recommend this hotel if you are looking for one at reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in the jade on a few occasions and as always staff are friendly, rooms are bright and clean, over all I would recommend The Jade to anybody hoping to stay in London. Nearby tube station is 2 mins walk and earls court is a stones throw so yes the Jade ticks all the boxes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2013. We reserved a double room.
Herewith out positive and negative points;

Positive
+ Clean room
+ Close to earl's court underground station (5 min walk)
+ nice neighbourhood

Negative (-)
- Very small room (smaller than the 15 m² mentioned on booking.com)
- Noise from the trains passing (there was noise from the trains passing the hotel, we had a room at the back of the hotel)
- Doors did not close properly, the hallway light entered the room at the bottom of the door
- Small double bed (only 1m40 width)
- No wifi access, however this was mentioned on the website, we think the wifi did not reach the back of the hotel
- Room was renovated and clean, some buttons in the bathroom were not properly attached and came of...
- We had 1 window at the back of the hotel, the view was awfull, we looked at a dump of the used materials of the renovation

Room Tip: As for a room at the front of the hotel and choose a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This property recently was completed renovated and their hard work really shows. Everything in the new is brand new and worked very well. While the room was a bit narrow, it really had everything that I needed for week in London. The refrigerator, microwave and sink were a big help for those morning and nights when I just wanted to heat something up in my room. The front office staff was outstanding! If only every hotel could learn from this group! My bathroom was very nice with a beautiful shower but the toilet was in a pretty confined space. WONDERFUL and REAL air conditioning! A real help as it was really hot and I heard many other tourist complain that they had poor A/C in their rooms. Easy walk just down the street to Earl's Court restaurants, grocery stores and the tube station make this a great choice. Book with confidence!

Room Tip: Take a curtain clip with you as the curtains do let in a bit of light in the morning if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitolMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Property: The Jade
Address: 52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jade 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Court London
Hotel Green Court
The Jade London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing