We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean, main facilities very nearby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jade
Ranked #65 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and clean, main facilities very nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed three nights in The Jade hotel (two persons). We've asked for two separate beds, but when we arrived, they gave us a room with a double instead. To us, that was not a problem, but I can imagine it would be for others. Paying for your stay is in advance.

The room was clean and spacious enough, and so was the bathroom. The bed was good, we slept well every night. The room has a free wifi connection. It didn't seem to work the first night, but after mentioning this to the staff, it was fixed and it worked fine.

One of the big plusses is the location of the hotel. It's a two minute walk to Earl's Court Station which is connected to Piccadilly line. You can find many restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood, and there are also two supermarkets around the corner. It's located in a quiet and proper street with a lot of other hotels.We stayed on the ground floor, you don't hear any cars coming by, but you can hear the sound of trains passing by in the distance (probably from Earl's Court?). It didn't bother us.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at The Jade and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a clean and modern hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appelsap a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    120
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
93
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

On my 2 week business trip in England, I was lucky to stay in many different hotels. The staff here at The Jade is very welcoming, and proved to be very helpful during my stay. Walking into the room, turning the kettle on, enjoying a cup of tea with delicious cookies... No better way to relax after a long trip. I felt right at home! It's very well designed, everything is shiny and pleasurable to look at. Inspiring. Late at night, on your way back, a toffee, a DVD, a kind "good night" from the reception, a silent lift, and very comfortable bed, you are there already, dreaming...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorgues, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Like all rooms in London the room was small, but the use of the available space is very well thought out. Everything is brand new and good quality. Very comfy bed and pillows, lovely shower, decent TV, and having a microwave, sink, kettle and fridge was great. These are very cleverly concealed in one side of the double wardrobe. My toilet seat was broken, but to be fair it was fixed properly, and promptly. There is not yet a mirror over the small desk/dressing table, but I understand that there will be, very soon. The only real issue is the space between the toilet and the sink. The sink is mounted on a square/oblong wooden shelf. Squeezing around the edge of the wooden shelf to drop onto the toilet needs a bit of dexterity! If you're female and have any sort of bust, it could be dodgy!! They would have been better using a rounded edge shelf. Could do with a decent depth drawer to put underwear, but it is a minor issue. This is a really nice hotel, that has been well thought out, with good quality materials (on the whole). The staff are helpful, and friendly. The location is brilliant for access to the underground, and plenty of shops and restaurants. Don't be put off by the area, it is pretty safe, and the rubbish left on the pavements, makes it look bad. The hotel can't be responsible for the bad behaviour of others in the road.

Room Tip: I stayed in G01 behind reception, which 1 reviewer had said was very noisy. I slept with earplugs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Room is very nice (although very small), the new renovation is up to 4 star hotel standard. But reno was done at cheap low quality, the hotel need to maintain it timely to make sure the same level of comfort.
Very good location. Very good housekeeping.

A lady at the front desk is clearly new and untrained. Not helpful with check out. The worst is when she was on duty one night, a fire alarm was triggered! It was the fault of some customer, but it was managed without a single clu of fire safety knowledge and customer service. Imagine if it was
a real fire hazard! Thank god it wasn't.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

my husband and i spent a total of 6 nights at The Jade Hotel , between the 23rd May and 2nd June this year. We took short trips out of London twice and returned back to The Jade after our trips. During these short trips we left behind one suitcase at the hotel, in order to travel light. since we travel frequently we know that this is common practice for travellers. All was in order the first time round. However when we returned from our trip to Edinburgh on the evening of 2nd june we found our suitcase had been broken into. Not wanting to create panic without being sure of our loss, we did not report to the management immediately. we turned out all our things and meticulously went through them in order to ascertain what we had lost. next morning we reported to Mr. Khan at the reception. we could not make a police complaint as we were flying back to our country in the afternoon.
While the hotel is very comfortable( which is why we stayed there repeatedly) , and the staff pleasant and helpful, we did not receive any communication from them regarding action taken on our complaint.This, inspite of sending them an email and calling the from India (when i was told that the owner had been informed.)
we lost money (a lot of it in different currencies) some clothes and other small items that we had shopped for in London
It has been almost a month and we have heard nothing.
So we would like to advise travellers that while they can expect a comfortable and pleasant stay
should they wish to leave luggage behind do so at your own risk
i am dissappointed because i thought that we would have at least received a reply to our email'
we havent
so far

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radhikaminhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are anything like us, young couple, with only a few days to spend in London, this is your place.
Less than 5 minutes walk from Earl's Court Tube Station (direct access from Heathrow, no getting on and off trains plus the station also has lifts!). Rooms are small -not London small, but still quite small- clean and recently renovated.
No breakfast included but a Starbucks, a Costa plus a wonderful french brasserie, are within walking distance from the hotel.
The stuff is very helpful and helped a lot when we had trouble connecting to the WiFi.
This is definitely a value for money option, for a short stay in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Was in London for a week in early june and stayed in The Jade after weeks of reading reviews from fellow tripadvisor users.

Stayed for 8 days at the hotel while sightseeing London. Like all other hotels in London, the size is always small, so, it doesn't bother my wife and me though we have no space to even walk after placing our 2 medium size luggages on the floor.

The room was spotless and maybe due to recently being renovated, all are clean and spiffy!! Nothing like going back to a clean room after a looong day out sightseeing london.

The location, which is just arnd 100m away from the Earls courts underground stn was a blessing. Shops and restaurant are abundance and just a syone throw away. So, indeed The Jade is convinient for a traveller like my wife and I.

Being a traveller. We rely on internet to plan our itineraries and this is one area that the Jade really really need to improve on. The wifi was hopeless and undetected within the room thus on many occasions,I have to open my door so that i can detect the wireless network. To make it worse,the rooms are side by side and the door closes rather loud even when you control the movement as such,i think i may have annoyed the other occupants when i was opening and closing the door so many times in an attempt to hook up to the wifi. Maybe a system to control the movement of the door will work wonder!

The front desk is only so so...dont talk too much other than just check you in. A particular lady just mend the desk and provide no useful recommendation on anything at all even when asked. Its as if she just move to london and didnt know the place!



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosozokuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#596 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade

Property: The Jade
Address: 52 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0PU, England (Formerly Green Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jade 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Court London
Hotel Green Court
The Jade London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing