We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but definitely NOT great”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Lodge Hotel
Ranked #100 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but definitely NOT great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Aside from price, which was good considering what it costs to stay in a hotel in London, the Grange Lodge was not a fabulous stay for us. Amber greeted us on our first day and she was super nice. When we got to our room, it wasn't exactly how the pictures portray it to be...it's quite budget, but not a problem. The problem was the cat urine smell of our bathroom. It was awful. There was mould on the shower tiles, the fan was quite loud and the toilet ran forever (we were in Room #10). I was happy to have our own bathroom but there was a definite price to pay for that. After our first night, we seriously contemplated going elsewhere. The next morning at breakfast, which was your standard English fare, we were greeted by a very unfriendly, surly woman. I don't know what her name was but she didn't even say "good morning"; it was "what would you like?" There wasn't a menu at our table so we didn't know what our options were. Well, that seemed to annoy her greatly so she handed us a menu from the next table. Fine. The breakfast wasn't very tasty. She brought out the toast about 5-10 min before our actual breakfast came so it was cold by the time we got our main course. Another morning I had asked if they had peanut butter to which she said no but that she would check. She never bothered to check. By the 3rd morning, I didn't even go down for breakfast b/c I couldn't handle her unfriendly nature nor the actual taste of the breakfast. Someone else should be serving the guests who actually has a personality. Needless to say we stayed the full 3 nights we booked in for, not b/c we liked the place but b/c it was too much of a hassle to find another hotel & b/c it was close enough to the metro station (Ealing Broadway) that we couldn't be bothered to move. Like I said, for the price I imagine it was worth it but they need to deal with the bathroom smell and that wretched woman who does the serving in the morning. Improve those 2 things and this place is worth the stay for the cost :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cullysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
38
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Sjælland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Lovely "bed and breakfast like" small "good value" hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood 10 min walk to shopping, green areas and tube/busses. Good safe family like atmosphere with other costumers and staff. Enjoy the hazzle of London city and recooperate in Ealing. Take a double-decker bus (no 65) from Ealing to the nearby beautiful Kew Gardens and Richmond (by the Thames river and meadow walkways). And visit the bohamian Notting Hill and classy Kensington High Street in one strike by short tuberide to Nottinghill Gate. If you are not just a city-lover - you can not beat the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlafRise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Nice hotel, clean, welcoming staff, I'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alboskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

it was a very enjoyable trip with excelent accomodation. the location is easy to get to by car and has one site parking which is a bonus for a london hotel, with the tube station just a short walk away.

the young lady working in the hotel was very friendly and helpful, and patient with out 100's of questions about where to go and how to get places.

the room its self was very well looked after and clean as well as decorated to a pleasant standard.

The beds were so comfortable that we struggle to get up in the morning, this meant we didn't get to experiance breakfast but will certainly be returning to have another attempt at breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a great base to visit London. It is a good 10 minute walk to train at Ealing Broadway- take the Heathrow Connect to Paddington,which is quick then do the subway trains. Rooms ,service and breakfast are good. Ealing is a pretty town with plenty of good shops, restaurants & pubs. We found the beds comfortable and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Good value for a money, a furniture is a bit old but rooms are very clean. Very quite neiberhood at night. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenkaMej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

I've stayed here many times, so it must be generally good, but this year breakfast is a bit of a lottery. A new member of staff is the worst I've ever encountered anywhere in the world - she'll she'll actively ignore you for up to 20 minutes before asking 'what do you want then?'. Apparently when she's working meals can only be prepared sequentially which is strange because at home I can make up to six similar breakfasts at once. Even then, at least one item is burned and at least one is cold or undercooked. Basically, if you see this woman serving in the morning get up and leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingnerd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bennys B and B
#121 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
The Forester
#57 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Hour Glass Hotel
#134 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchor House Hotel
#85 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#74 of 575 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#80 of 575 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Hotel

Property: Grange Lodge Hotel
Address: 48-50 Grange Road | Ealing, London W5 5BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grange Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room home-away-from-home B&B, less than 10 minutes' walk from Ealing Broadway station ( underground into central London 25-30 minutes; Heathrow Connect main line train less than 25 minutes) 9 en suite rooms and 5 basic rooms with washbasin sharing 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets). All rooms with tea/coffee and freeview TVs. Microwave in Breakfast room for guests to use for other meals. All rates include English breakfast / continental breakfast. Free off street parking. We pride ourselves on providing friendly and helpful service in a comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grange Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel London
Grange Lodge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing