We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot in London!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grange Lodge Hotel
Ranked #95 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good spot in London!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in October for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was comfortable, quite reasonably priced for London too! Despite being a tube ride from the centre of the city (~20 minutes) it is a pleasant place to stay, with a few pubs and restaurants around, as well as the Ealing Common. The free Wi-Fi was welcome, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent too. Tea & coffee facilities were also available in the rooms. All the employees there were very pleasant as well. Would certainly recommend if you don't mind being away from the chaos of central London!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vadgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
38
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have stayed at the Grange Lodge Hotel any number of times since early 2010, with my most recent stay being during Easter, 2013. I always book a single with shared bath. Never any issues using the shared bathroom which is actually separated into two separate rooms, one room with toilet and another room for shower/bathtub. Hotel staff is great and always helpful, a real plus is the cooked-to-order breakfast every morning! Ealing may seem a bit far from central London but it's only a twelve-minute ride on National Rail to Ealing Broadway and about double that amount of time on the Central, District and Piccadilly lines of the London Underground (the last from South Ealing Station). Any number of nice eateries and shopping nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_OvenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, 22nd and 23rd March 2013. The good points were the on site parking and the cooked breakfast, and that it was cheap. However the room (room 4) was very poor. Poor decor and furnishings which would not appear to have been updated since the 1970's. One curtain was hanging off the curtain rail in places. In addition, grubby walls, paper starting to peel from the ceiling, bed linen that was very old, stained, and the top sheet had a hole in it. The pillowcases were crumpled and unironed, and covering exceedingly old pillows. The room was not very clean. The ensuite was as tiny as possible and again very dated with bubbling lino where it would seem water has seeped underneath. The tiles were not all the same size round the basin and had not been sealed into the basin, and the tiny washbasin was dirty with broken plug chain. This establishment markets itself as a hotel but I would suggest it is a very poor B&B. Overall, not to be recommended unless you are desperate.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a super little b & b with several parking spaces. The double en suites are spacious and offer free Wi-Fi, TV and tea & coffee making facilities. The breakfast is freshly cooked, and there is also toast, cereal, fruit juice and tea/coffee. There is a small lounge with TV and a selection of books. This hotel also provides a microwave and crockery/cutlery so you can bring food back with you: (there is also an outdoor covered smoking area). Ealing centre is a few minutes stroll away, has all the High Street stores plus plenty of eateries, bars and clubs. Ealing Broadway Station is approx. 10 minutes walk and from here you can be in Central London in less than half an hour. If you are looking for 4 or 5 star accommodation, this is not for you, but the hotel is clean, smoothly run and in a great location. We have stayed here five times and will be back next year!
A trip to Southall is a must. Ten minute bus ride from Ealing (bus nos. 207, 427 and 607). The array of fruit and veg is unbelievable, and great shops selling magnificent saris, jewellery, shoes and handbags, and much much more! A great atmosphere, especially on a Sunday (after 12 noon) well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are only a couple of double en suites, and both are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonofwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean, hospitable, accommodating, good location (10-15 minute walk from three different tube lines (Central, District, and Picadilly) as well as National Rail) - overall an excellent value. Also, a friendly neighborhood cat comes to visit. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were looking for a budget hotel near our daughter who is living in Ealing. It was difficult to find something reasonable in Ealing, that wasn't too expensive. We chose the Grange Lodge Hotel, and it was ok. Not fantastic. We had a room on the second floor, and while the room was tastefully furnished and comfortable, with a lovely aspect to the backyard, Our requirements are basic, decent sleep, decent shower, and good food. The bed was comfortable, (although the walls are a little thing), and the breakfast was good. Cooked fresh, eggs anyway you liked them. I had poached eggs both mornings, and they were well cooked. Coffee wasn't the best. The shower though, was a problem. If you showered in the morning (which we did on both mornings), the water was cold. It was as if the boiler or whatever was not big enough to handle the hot water requirement. The Sunday night I had a shower, and the water was lovely and hot. I also didn't feel as well looked after here. The previous weekend we had stayed in another hotel and felt really welcomed and looked after. There is no-one at reception when you come and go here, and because of that it made less of an impression. But as far as the basics go, it's reasonable value for money (so long as they get the water situation fixed).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel: The hotel is two houses knocked together and then split into rooms. I was there for 5 nights. Checked in easily and staff were polite and friendly. It is a good location within a few minutes walk of the main shopping areas and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. Very close to the famous Ealing Studios. Easy access to bus and tube services. Another great advantage is the off road parking provided at the hotel, this is very convenient.

Room: My single room was small and basic but very clean. En-suite shower room was small but adequate, but floor was uneven. Floorboards in the room were creaky/squeaky. TV was small and too far from the bed to view it properly. There was an electric clock radio provided, but no sockets near the bed so was impossible to use it. The room temperature was too cold, heating could not be turned up higher, and the heating seemed to go off in the daytime, this is not good and I know many people would never return to this hotel for this reason (though it would not, of itself, prevent me from doing so).

Food: Breakfast was reasonable, but would have been better if better quality hash browns used, and fried mushrooms added. Waitress service was good except on the last day (2nd Jan) when a different person was serving and the tables were not being cleared and one couple who did not speak English appeared to be completely ignored - they did not seem to know what to do for breakfast and ended up getting a cup of tea from warm pot left by previous users of the table, and some cereal which they had to put in a cup because no bowls were out.... - i'm sure this was simply an oversight by the hotel, but it needs to be careful to ensure that guests are not ignored and service is good to everyone. Perhaps breakfast menus in a range of languages would be a good idea?

Overall: Good little hotel, but cold room and poor service witnessed on last day were the main issues needing to be addressed, and more thought to the layout and functionality of the rooms would improve my rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Forester
#56 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Hour Glass Hotel
#131 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Bennys B and B
#109 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchor House Hotel
#73 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
At Home London B&B
#263 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Hotel

Property: Grange Lodge Hotel
Address: 48-50 Grange Road | Ealing, London W5 5BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grange Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room home-away-from-home B&B, less than 10 minutes' walk from Ealing Broadway station ( underground into central London 25-30 minutes; Heathrow Connect main line train less than 25 minutes) 9 en suite rooms and 5 basic rooms with washbasin sharing 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets). All rooms with tea/coffee and freeview TVs. Microwave in Breakfast room for guests to use for other meals. All rates include English breakfast / continental breakfast. Free off street parking. We pride ourselves on providing friendly and helpful service in a comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grange Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel London
Grange Lodge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing