We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Grange Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grange Lodge Hotel
Ranked #96 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a little gem of a hotel in Ealing.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Ealing Broadway train and tube stop. Heathrow Connect Stops here and is a short 20 min ride. One note is that if you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday the trains only run once an hour.

Ealing offers a lot of restaurant options. My favorite was the Haven Arms Pub, a short walk north of the station.

The rooms are decent size and clean. Its a little bit on the older side, but well maintained. I stayed in a room with a shared bath. There is sink in the room which is handy. I had no problem with the shared bathroom.

The breakfast is the typical English breakfast with toast, eggs, tomato, hash brown, bacon, and sausage. The staff will cook the egg any way you want. There is also yogurt, cereal, and fruit.

The staff is great. They are friendly and take care of anything you need.

Overall it was great place to stay and I definitely would stay here again when I am back in London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shutb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
38
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Grange Lodge is a short 15 minute walk from the Ealing Broadway or Ealing Common Stations, 2 lines that are easily accessible from Heathrow Airport. If you arrive between 10am and 8pm, you may want to select Ealing Common Station, as Ealing Broadway Features a route of Restaurants and Shopping and can be quite busy if you are toting luggage.

The hotel is on a residential block, and you may find yourself thinking you are on the wrong path until suddenly there it is.

We arrived at the Hotel early, due to an overnight flight - they do not accomodate early check in, so we found a nearby Starbucks to drink coffee and use the free internet to pass the time.

As mentioned in other reviews, the staircases are narrow, but this did not pose a problem for us, as we had packed light for the trip. The room was of a good size for a European room and the beds were comfortable. The room was clean, and a TV with many channels was provided as well as a coffee maker.

The bathroom was tiny, but functional. I myself had to step out of the bathroom after using, as I found maneuvering in there resulted in bashed elbows and knees.

Breakfast was average. They prepare eggs, sausage/bacon, hash brown, tomatoes, beans, and toast to order. The food tasted ok, it wasn't great and it wasn't bad - for breakfast it served the purpose. There was also cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit provided. We did not leave the lodge hungry before venturing out.

The neighborhood is nice, and seems safe. We were able to find restaurants within a 5 to 15 minute walk, and there is a shopping center 10 minutes walk away that can suit many needs.

Wireless internet at the hotel was great, it had enough bandwidth where we could use Skype and IP phone applications to keep in touch with home.

There is a neighborhood cat that waits by the doors, not sure if she is owned by the hotel or a neighbor. We didn't let her in, but we did give her attention. She is very lovable and friendly, and a nice addition for those of us pet lovers who pine for our animals at home.

We'll definitely consider the grange for a future London trip. Though an old hotel, it was clean and functional, and had enough in the neighborhood to keep us busy, as well as stations nearby to get us anywhere in London.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the second floor. That is where we stayed and the room was a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Grange for a few days and it's a great hotel! Good value, rooms, location and both girls on duty were helpful and very welcoming. Great staff. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that they had this cat that would just breeze in and out as it pleased! One night it jumped in through my window and nearly gave me a heart attack. I heard other guests talking about the cat being in thier rooms,but I didn't think anything of it till that night. Since when do hotels have domestcated pets?? Just because of that, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boom, Belgium
Level Contributor
304 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After staying in this hotel for 1 week I can only say it's good value for money.
It's more of a B&B then a hotel. No safe, no mini-bar, no... BUT very friendly staff, 24/7 access, clean room etc. The tube is about 8 minutes walk, then you need to count on 25-45 min to get to most locations in london (tube stations for the picadeli, central and district lines are all within 15 min walk).
The room is very basic but clean, the breakfast is limited but ok (full English + cereals, yoghurt and fruit).

All together a very good experience if you go for basics.
There is also a black cat that walks around and tries to get pet. If you love cats (like me) it's a plus, otherwise it could be a deal breaker.

Room Tip: The rooms w/o bathroom/toilet are £10-15 cheaper and there is a bathroom for every 2 rooms... I neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Grange Lodge Hotel was everything I could've asked for. The rooms were comfortably furnished, clean, and inviting. The breakfasts each morning were quickly served, hot, generous, delicious, and kept me full for the entire morning. The staff was friendly, efficient, helpful, and overall took very good care of us.
I knew when I reserved my room that the Grange Lodge was a bit outside of central London - where most of the tourist attractions were that I wanted to visit - but it really was within walking distance (maybe 10 minutes) to the Tube stop and it never took me over 40 minutes to get into Westminster Station (centralish London). With the Tube being so cheap to ride, this extra time was worth the savings made by staying a bit farther out. It's set in a nice neighborhood, so the walk was pleasant. Plus, there was a cute little coffee shop on the way from the B&B to the tube stop in which to get your morning tea to go!
I reserved a room without a private bathroom, so I was prepared to share. But even when the rooms were completely full - I only had to wait for the shower room once (in a full week of staying there!) and never waited for the toilet. The bathroom was kept meticulously clean and I never felt like I was sharing it!
The only downside was that the first two or three nights I was there, my room was really hot and stuffy. Only one of the windows opened (the other two were painted shut), and this not very far, so it was difficult to cool off the room. This was during an uncharacteristic heat wave in London, though, and once temperatures returned to England-normal the room cooled off again and became more pleasant.
The whole atmosphere of the decor and arrangement in Grange Lodge was very home like - cozy and inviting. It was a relaxing environment to be in and I often felt more like I was staying at a friend's house than in an impersonal B&B. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport Harbor, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose Grange Lodge Hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. It turned out to be perfectly acceptable for myself and my teenage son. The location is 10 minutes' walk from an Underground station. A variety of restaurants and shops can be found within walking distance. The proprietors were friendly and helpful, the English breakfasts were hearty and everything was clean. Wifi in the lounge worked fine, better than many of the other places we visited in Europe. We didn't mind carrying our luggage upstairs. We stayed three nights. The price was very reasonable for London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Bear in mind that Ealing is still London. And that London prices apply.

All I ask really from a hotel is that it:

• Is clean and quiet
• Offers me a good night’s sleep
• Offers me hot water
• And an acceptable breakfast.

Nothing plush, thanks. So the Grange Lodge did me just fine. £39.00 which in London is a sneeze..

I walked from Ealing Broadway tube to the B&B in the rain a rather longer way than I walked back next day. Say 10 minutes from the tube is about right.

Room for one – comfortable mattress, clean room, toilet just down the corridor. Road outside very quiet – an occasional car. And an old-fashioned window you can open to the elements (as I did). I slept like a log.

Full English breakfast was okay, except that the beans seemed fresh from the tin and the whole thing smacked a bit of “keeping warm” not done well. At least the scrambled egg was warm. On the plus side I got toast ad lib which I made myself and thus avoided that bane of B&Bs the world over, the Cold Toast Syndrome. Ditto coffee. The butter pats came chilled but not in the usual Lego blocks, and were eminently spreadable. BUT – No Marmite (though I confess I should have asked).

The staff I met were most friendly.

This is an establishment that I will return to on my visits to the Smoke from Yorkshire. Vfm is, in my view, very good.

My thanks to the staff all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bennys B and B
#98 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
The Forester
#50 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Hour Glass Hotel
#130 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchor House Hotel
#84 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#71 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#81 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Hotel

Property: Grange Lodge Hotel
Address: 48-50 Grange Road | Ealing, London W5 5BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grange Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room home-away-from-home B&B, less than 10 minutes' walk from Ealing Broadway station ( underground into central London 25-30 minutes; Heathrow Connect main line train less than 25 minutes) 9 en suite rooms and 5 basic rooms with washbasin sharing 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets). All rooms with tea/coffee and freeview TVs. Microwave in Breakfast room for guests to use for other meals. All rates include English breakfast / continental breakfast. Free off street parking. We pride ourselves on providing friendly and helpful service in a comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Grange Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel London
Grange Lodge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing