We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel
Ranked #650 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent 3 nights for 160£, which is great in London. It's close 2' walking from Paddington station and 7' to Lancaster on the Central Line.
My single room was small but very light as it was on the 2nd floor just with the window on the square. Also breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. There was a hairdryer + kettle.
I'd recommend to add a towel (2 per person then) and a shower mat in every bathroom.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilulu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Marilulu, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Yes we have a great location, light and small but comfortable rooms, and a breakfast the everyone enjoys provided by friendly and kind staff.
Thank you for your kind suggestions on how to even further improve what we do..... : )
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 774 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Used this as a stop over on return from Belgium before returning back west via Paddington . Ideal for a place to put your head down or use as a base to explore city . Hotel was clean and breakfast good . It is situated near Paddington station / Tube in a pleasant little square . i've never really stopped in Paddington before simply used the train station a was pleasantly surprised at the number of pubs , eating places . Staff very polite , don't expect 5 star luxury , but for a London Hotel thought this was decent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Monkedadda, thank you for your positive review. Everyone working at The Cardiff Hotel takes pride in what we do and we all love to read reviews like yours that take the time to show appreciation of the efforts we all go to. So thank you for encouraging the whole team to keep up the good work !
And yes your correct Paddington is a great area in Central London.
Best regards
The Cardiff Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Excellent position, very near the Tube. Surrounded by pubs and restaurants. Not far from Oxford street, you may shop drop your bags at the hotel and go back. Excellent english breakfast. Clean. Staff, very helpful. Only downside walls are a bit too thin. I would highly recommend. Stayed more than once. Never disappointed. Keep it up guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Henna E. Your are our favourite style of customer, the ones who visit London several times and grow to appreciate us and then keep coming back. You review is praise indeed and when the staff read this review and ones like it, it encourages them to give their best all the time and that's what gives us our edge.
Thank you from all of us.
We think your great !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked a family room, and although the bedroom was an adequate size the bathroom was minute and impossible to shower 2 small children in. The bathroom had mould & limescale too. The refurbishment work will clearly significantly improve the hotel, however we were not informed this would be going on, and the health & safety hazards for young children of building materials and wires in hallways and on stairs were not good. The bedspreads even had gloss paint on them! The only saving grace was the friendliness of the staff and their excellent customers service; they made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hello Karen H,
Thank you for leaving a review and the several good points you made about us. As you noted we were busy remodelling parts of the hotel during your stay and as you mentioned it has lead to significant improvements all round for all our customers to enjoy. We are all very proud of the results.....
Yes we have a great team running the hotel.
Best regards
The Cardiff Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

No mention on the internet or when I checked in ,that the hotel was undergoing major refurbishment. Only when I climbed the stairs did I encounter numerous power tools,electric leads,building materials everywhere. The stair carpets covered with sawdust and debis. Mine was the only finished room on the third floor. Room next door used as a base for workmen. Noise finally ceased at 7pm. I asked for an early morning call for 7am but this was unnecessary because I was awakened by the workers returning for work. It is extrodinary that hotels can push customers to the the limit to fill rooms. I would have been happy with the room 6 'x 8' single for one night , although there was no hanging space except for 5 hooks on the back of the door . It did have an outside terrace with wicker furniture( a bonus in fine weather) that was larger than the bedroom and newly fitted shower etc. Kettle and TV clicker missing,delivered on request by one of the workmen ! It was an experience difficult to forget

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank shaggylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Shaggylamb,
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel.
We are all pleased that you liked the private terrace your room had.
Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused by refurbishing the hallways, however all buildings do require maintenance to keep them in good order and all rooms that were effected had generous discounts to help compensate for this. Receptionists are always ready to help with any problem you may have, but to do so we need to be made aware.
Our aim is to keep the Cardiff Hotel in its best standard to provide our guests comfortable, enjoyable and safe stay in the central London location. If you’d like to stay with us again I can assure you that all our staff will be more than helpful in responding to your needs like showing another available room in a quieter spot.
Central London location means that the room space is limited; however we are trying to convert every inch into the best ergonomic use for our customers, indeed we are now building custom made hardwood beds to allow easy and convenient luggage storage during customer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Again i have returned to the hotel. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is going through a real facelift at the moment and its very impressive. I had a chance to stay in one of the new rooms, what a difference, seems so much more space, nice and bright. Keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Cy C,
Thank you for your kind review. We have put a lot of effort into improving even further our building and it it is most gratifying that all the efforts are recognised by a regular guests.
Yes the rooms are looking and feeling bigger and brighter with so much more space.
Your reviews helps give energy and enthusiasmto all of us here to continue to keep up the good work.
And for that we all think think your brilliant !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed in many London hotel rooms before,but The Cardiff Hotel room I had was the best I ever had-long may I return to this establishment,and thanks to the staff for being the best I have everhad

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Steve B,

You as a regulator visitor to London are in a strong position to give an opinion of London hotel accommodation, so your opinion carries a lot of weight. Your kind words that the room you had was the best ever by a long way really means a lot to our team who all work hard and give their best.

You Sir are a Kind man and for that we all think your wonderful....!!

Best regards All the team at The Cardiff Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#833 of 1,078 in London
640 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#657 of 1,078 in London
438 reviews
Stylotel
#608 of 1,078 in London
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#418 of 1,078 in London
1,083 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#510 of 1,078 in London
536 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#661 of 1,078 in London
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #650 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $82 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing