We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, good location.”
Review of Cardiff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cardiff Hotel
Ranked #649 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a good, basic hotel which is an easy walk from both Paddington tube and British rail. The reception and dining staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was great. However there were some less positive aspects to staying at this hotel. I was on the 4th floor and it was somewhat of a challenge getting a heavy suitcase up the steep staircase. The stairwell is also in need of refurbishment as the carpet is threadbare with tears and there was a missing window on one of the landings which was just covered with a sheet. There was an area near reception with a good selection of pamphlets about London and tour options, but it was difficult access these as there were always two bicycles resting on it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear exNZ,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking your time to share your experience 
We are delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay and appreciated our lovely staff.
If you’d like to stay with us again we’ll be happy to check availabilities for rooms located on a lower floor to make you feel more comfortable. It is for the comfort and nice cool breeze that we’ve kept the window, that you mentioned open. We have exceptionally beautiful summer this year and we thought that every flow of breeze will ease the warm weather 
You are right that our hallways need to be redecorated and this is one of the priority tasks on our hotel’s “list to improve”.
I’d also like to reassure you that there is now full access to the leaflets. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience.
Have a great time and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Cardiff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 756 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just a few steps away from Paddington, the hotel offers nice accomodation once you survived the ugly and steep stairs. Breakfast is fair but enough. Close to public transport, so easy to go to many London areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were left stranded in London on Thursday evening with our baby when we arrived to find that the holiday accommodation we had booked didn't exist and we had actually been conned. We walked around calling in at various hotels looking for a suitable, reasonable-priced alternative and when we arrived at the Cardiff Hotel the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful so we booked in. We had a family ensuite room with two comfy double beds and they also supplied a travel cot. The room looked to have recently been refurbished and it was spotlessly clean. The hotel is situated down a side street a very short walk from Paddington Station and so was in a fab central location, yet our room was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was a mixture of self-serve continental and cooked, fairly basic, but all we needed and very nice. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Katrina C,
We feel proud that you selected our hotel after seeing and comparing us to our local competition......
And to say you would definitely stay again And recommend to family and friends is High Praise Indeed.
We all think your wonderful !
Thank You....... : ))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location is just two minutes walking from Paddington station, where you can have a direct train to Heathrow. The staffs are friendly, and always helpful. The breakfast is ok, and you can always find restaurant near the hotel with reasonable price. I requested a single room, and they gave me room 42A, which is located downstairs. Since the hotel does not have an elevator, please asked room on ground floor especially if you are travelling with big suitcases or elderly.
I defzinitely going back to this hotel if I am in London.

Room Tip: Please avoid room 42A
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanalKoemadji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear NanalKoemadji,
Thank you for your wonderful review. As you kindly say we do have an unbeatable location, great transport links, friendly staff, good breakfast all at a reasonable price.
Everyone on our team takes pride in what we do and we are all so pleased that our customers notice and take the time to show appreciation in you reviews...... : )
Thank You So Much...... : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My 2nd stay here in 3 months, and I was not to be disappointed again. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast with 3 ladies keeping everything in order, nice and clean room. Yes, the shower is small, but enough space. Location couldnt be better with all at your doorstep. Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hirsty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Hirsty_13, Thank you for choosing our hotel again for your London stays... It's wonderful to have so many repeat customers who feel truly familiar comfortable and secure with us. All our team read these reviews and the breakfast team love your thoughtful and kind words..... : )
We All Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel definately had only one little drawback... the bathroom in my single room was tiny. You shouldn't be claustrophobic or too obese if you want to take a shower ;-)
The room was small, but adequate, cosy and clean.
Location is perfect, some little shops and restaurants nearby, Paddington station and Tube just around the corner.

The employees have to be specially mentioned. I've been to many hotels in London but never met such friendly and helpful staff. They made me feel always welcome!

Room Tip: No lift available. You should be able to walk a couple of stairs to higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Silke K,
Thank you for taking the time to right a lovely review of our hotel !
I'm so glad that you made a special mention of our team, we are all very proud of what we do and really love it when it's appreciated.
You have truly made many people here smile.
And for that we all truly thank you..... : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many thanks to Alex and the front desk for assisting us during our stay last week. We stayed 4 nights. The location is great- close to Paddington tube stop. No matter what questions I brought to the front desk they were very, very, helpful. I needed tape (they even had duck tape), looked up performances at St Pauls and St Martins, helped with tube and foot directions, were very gracious as we canceled our last night (we were going to stay 5 nights) in order to get to Gatwick for a 6:30 am flight ( we stayed out by the airport which is a conssiderable distance from central London). THey could not have been more accommodating. What impressed me was the attentional to detail, the work ethic, and custom service. The rooms were clean and refreshed each day- the breakfasts were substantial- and the folks let you get breakfast ven if you were a bit late (as we were one morning). Not having an elevator would be a drawback to someone who must have one (obviously). Thank you for a wonderful stay and a welcoming and helpful front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marciano_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMD121, Manager at Cardiff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear marciano_jay,
Thank you so much for your Fantastic review. I was with Alex when she read it for the first time and will long remember her Beaming smile as she read your kind words!
Appreciative and honest reviews like yours are a big part in our staff excelling and giving their best to all our customers.
I read this quote recently and it not surprisingly came to mind when I read your words.

-- "When you lavish praise on people, they flourish: criticize them and they shrivel up." --Richard Branson--

Thank you for helping our team find the energy and enthusiasm to be their best at all times..... : )
You are Wonderful !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Stylotel
#599 of 1,072 in London
775 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#812 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#664 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#651 of 1,072 in London
594 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#661 of 1,072 in London
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel

Address: 5-9 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cardiff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing