We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #829 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here w/e 9 December 2012 with my husband and two friends. We were very pleased with the proximity of the hotel to Paddington station. The staff were very polite and welcoming. We liked the foyer, the chandeliers were very pretty! The breakfasts, though not a big choice was enough to start the day. The waiting staff were very efficient in bringing round extra tea and coffee. The bedrooms, although small were clean and the bathroom was clean and fresh towels were left everyday, despite us hanging up our used ones. The mattress on the bed was a little worn, but we were only staying for 2 nights so it wasn't a big problem.

We visit London quite often during the year and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your comment, we are very proud of our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 502 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to London with our 6 year old grandson, we were going to see the Natural History museum and the Ice sculptures at the winter wonderland. I booked a triple room, it was one of the few hotels that gave us a double bed and a single instead of a sofa bed. perfect place to drop off the cases when we arrived by train left in the luggage room. 3 minutes walk from Paddington. The hotel was very clean and bright, the Staff were SUPER! The room was basic, if a little small for a triple/family room, it was very clean and the beds were good, tea tray was basic but when I asked at reception for more tea it was given without hesitation, would suggest that they added hot chocolate and bikkies to the tray. the bathroom while being clean was a let down, far too small, the shower was at floor level and when standing in it my arms touched the curtain and the walls at the same time, not easy to wash, soap etc .....take your own! could not access the photos on web site to check out the rooms before, would have liked to make sure the bathroom had a bath (for young child). Breakfast was great, plenty of options, hot chocolate for Grandson? loved the fish tanks. staff were very helpfull. would book again for sure but would call and check room details.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for leaving such a positive comment on trip advisor. All Our rooms have En-Suite shower facilities and vary In size. The Hotel Is located In listed buildings with restrictions around the size of the rooms, non of our rooms have baths as advertised on our website. We are very proud of our customer service and are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived in the wee hours of the morning after 24 hours of traveling to a warm and friendly welcome. Yes the rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny and the hotel has an old feel about it but we found this added to the experience of being in "Old London Town". The great location and friendly staff outweigh these small negatives. Breakfast is the same every day but as it is included in the room price we found it was more than adequate to kick start our day. Paddington train station is a very short walk away along a lovely street lined with bars, restaurants and small shops - it is a lovely area with lots fo places to chose to eat and drink. The staff were always welcoming and helpful and contributed to making our stay memorable. We actually cancelled a booking at another London hotel later in out holiday and returned to Abbey Court as we had enjoyed our stay so much. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to London

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for leaving such a positive comment on trip advisor. We are very happy that you had a lovely stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a very good stay the hotel. Some rooms are small and need updating but the location and service of the staff made the hotel a good base to visit London. We stayed in one of the rooms that have recently been done up, good standard. Breakfast enough variety even when staying for 4 days. Good value for money, will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing a positive comment on tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed along with my wife at Abbey Court and Westpoint Hyde Park Hotel,London UK from 18/09/2012 till 05/09/2012. The hotel is situated in an excellent location near to almost all the London attractions/night life sea/food streets and other nice hotels. It is very close to Paddington Station as well. Bus stop is also very close.
The front office/reception staff especially I would like to put on record the name Mr.Agusto Sala who has been very courteous and helpful. I have found him true professional in hospitality business as he understands the requirements of the customers and always ready to assist them.
I will stay in this hotel again!!!!!
Regards

Room Tip: Renovated rooms would be a better choice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahzad28463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for leaving a comment, we are happy and proud of our helpful staff. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My senior mother and I stayed here last week and it was very nice. While there are no frills, it was clean, safe, convenient and the staff was friendly to us. We shared a twin room and had our own bath. The daily breakfast offered was simple, but sufficient for people who are only using the hotel as a base for tours and exploring London. The breakfast buffet did not begin serving until 0730 and this was too late for us on days that our tours began at 0700, but there are many small shops and cafes where pastries may be purchased the night before and we were able to eat something and have coffee in the room on those mornings. Paddington Station and Tube stop are SO CONVENIENT to the hotel! It was a 3 minute walk at best. Our tours picked us up right there in the front parking area which was great! There is no restaurant or concierge at this time, but most of front desk staff were VERY helpful to us.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 4 in a twin room. The windows open for fresh air. The shower works fine, but be...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately we have to say this hotel is awful! It is NOT possible to recommend it. The staff isn´t helpful. We had a problem with our room, because they gave us a single room instead of a double room, although we had booked a double room. The unpolite reception manager wouldn´t help us. At first he was acting like he wouldn't understand us. So we had to repeat our problem twice. We repeated in a really polite and friendly way, again. He got angry and told us, it is a double room. He was not interested in seeing our room or helping us in any way. Really disappointing. The rooms are more than small and the interior old and smelling. We didn´t get a different room, by the way! The bed was just behind the door, so you could hear every single noise outside. On top of all it wasn´t possible to use the shower the next day, because the water wasn´t running!!! We had to wait more than 15 minutes until the water was running again.

Don´t book this hotel! Unfortunately, we booked it with breakfast, as well. The next big mistake! We had to wait with other hotel guest in front of the door of the dining room for 20 minutes, although many tables were available inside. We have never waited in any hotel for breakfast before! The food was poor without any big choice. Sausage, cheese and marmalade - that´s it. I guess, every breakfast in London must be better than this.

The entry of this hotel has got a premium touch - but only the entry! The rest of it is old, poor and definitely not acceptable.

We would never book this hotel again. It was a really bad experience, at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay, whenever we receive a guest complaint our reception staff work hard to resolve problems however at times it is not possible to move guests if we do not have availability. We are under ongoing renovation of all rooms. Thank you for leaving a comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westpoint Hotel
#832 of 1,072 in London
782 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#638 of 1,072 in London
206 reviews
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#750 of 1,072 in London
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#616 of 1,072 in London
642 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#551 of 1,072 in London
627 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#819 of 1,072 in London
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #829 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hyde Park Hotel London
Abbey Court Hyde Park London
Abbey Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing