We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #63 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a horrible hotel. Really hot no air conditioning, long hot corridors to get to your room and numerous doors and steps to be negotiated Rooms very poorly load out. Nothing for washing up dishes. Front desk people were rude. Wouldn't check anyone in before 2.30 but the next day when we got back from sightseeing they were checking people in early. Seems to depend on their mood. Windows can only be open a limited amount. We have done substantial international travel and this would be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Definitely not what was advertised and certainly not value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rippedoff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilforty, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Ms Wormald,

We have tried to explain the issues you have raised in this complaint yesterday, but we shall do it again for all our future guests to see and understand.

You have entitled your review “false advertising” however nowhere on our website or any other website we advertise air conditioning. In London we rarely get sunny days, especially when the temperatures soar above 23 degrees and then we provide our guests with portable A/C units and fans. Windows only open a limited amount as it is a health and safety measure that we need to comply with just like any other hotel in London.

Our complex has 198 apartments and yes to get to the wing overlooking Kensington Garden Square there are 3 corridors which you need to pass. The doors you meet on the way are fire doors, which in case of a fire are meant to compartment the building and prevent the fire from spreading to other areas. This is another safety issue that we need to comply with.

Every apartment is equipped with washing liquid, tea towel and a sponge for washing the dishes.

Our check in time is from 2.30pm onwards. However if the room is ready, we will provide our guests with an early check in depending on the availability of the apartment they booked.

We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The most important thing while staying in London is location, and this hotel has it. Another important thing is to get a clean, decent, and safe accommodation where you can rest at night and to take a break from daily tours and sightseeing. This hotel fulfills all these elements: excellent location, relatively clean, good rooms.
My advice is to ask for a room in upper floors, 3 rd is best. Ensure you have a refurbished room even though i think they refurbished all there rooms.
I could have written this review during my stay at their hotel and would have gotten a fruit basket for it. However, I really do not think that is a professional thing to do. Do not sell your soul for a fruit basket :) I am not sure why they do that; the hotel stands well on its own merits and no need for such gimmicks.
It is not a full service five star hotel, but that is not what you need to enjoy London as I said earlier.
The staff was very helpful to me. There were times when I asked for redoing the cleaning and they were prompt in doing so. Reka, I think the name of the person I talked to to book this hotel, was very helpful and handled my phone very professionally.
Many of the desk staff went out of their way to help and I appreciate that. There was one manager who did not handle my late check out request nicely. He was within his rights to deny late check out, and I am OK with that, but the way he did it was without any empathy or courtesy. Deal with the desk staff, and do not go to the manager. They seemed much more willing to help than he did.
All in all, I would come back and stay at this hotel. I had a very pleasant stay. Thank you Grand Plaza staff :)

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors 3rd is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammarmango_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilforty, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also appreciate the feedback regarding our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I spent many hours researching lodging for London -
Traveling with my mother, husband and 18 year old daughter-
Finding decent family accommodations are tricky in this expensive city and this place is perfect! We got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom on the top floor - it's very quite and clean.
The front desk is so helpful if you need anything and the small kitchen is perfect for making breakfast.
The location is ideal near so many
great restaurants and 2 tube stops nearby.
As a travel professional I know how challenging it can be finding rooms for families in London without breaking the bank.
When I return to London I will gladly stay here again and recommend it to my clients.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilforty, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and recommending us as a family hotel.
We have lots of families staying with us from all over the world and we try to make our apartments as suitable as possible for all our guest to have the comfort they need away from home.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good location in town. Good Restaurants around. Very clean and quite place. They have 24 hours receptionist and the lady receptionist very polite and very helpful. They even offer a free load of laundry for the first time. They gave us a room in the cortyard and was very quite. They even come fixt our bed like hotels. If I come back to London I will stay ther again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilforty, Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Grand Plaza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I bookedroom 133 is family room and It was very good apartments, Staff and Location.
The Intenet was wireless and it was very good speed.
The underground station is just 4-5 minuts away.
many supermarkes and restarunts close to the apartments

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aarayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good location, close to convenience stores, tube stations etc. Our room (in a corner on the first floor) was very quiet. The total room size quoted is quite large (42 sq. m) but with a rather "inefficient" layout ( corridors, corners, smsll kitchen, dining area separate from the kitchen, etc. However, kitchen is in good shape and was much appreciated - we had breakfast in the room every day of our stay. Beds are a bit hard and storage limited, but overall a good place to stay - and good value for the money (by London standards).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely young lady at front desk who was very informative. The hotel was an interesting rabbit warren layout but is to be expected in London. Photos are a bit different to reality. Two bedroom apartment was on three separate levels and the lounge area was very pokey. Had some bad luck during our stay. Bath overflowing from upstairs which dripped water onto our bed and losing electricity. Good breakfast which was optional and the location was very convenient to the tube. No issue with the free wifi.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilforty, Public Relations Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate very much the time you have dedicated to our property and we would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are very sorry indeed for the flooding incident. Unfortunately there is nothing one can do to prevent accidents like this and I can guaranty that our staff was doing their best to minimize the inconvenience.

Thank you again for your time and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Plaza in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#278 of 1,077 in London
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Whitechapel
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 948 in London
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $118 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing