We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place to stay but some negatives.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #63 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked the apartment through a travel agent. That was our first mistake. Clearly this means you get given the worst room even though you have paid a rather large premium. We were first shown to a basement apartment which given that we paid AUD400 per night, did not sit well. However, staff quickly moved us when I complained. The lift being out of order was not such a huge deal for us as we were given a room on the first floor. The staff took our bags up and down the stairs so that was no big deal for us. Also, by not booking through the hotel, we also missed out on breakfast being included. Again no big deal as with Marks and Spencer being close by meant that we could buy food cheaply and have breakfast in our apartment for 3 days for less than the cost of one breakfast at the hotel. Just one thing, i will not be claiming the fruit basket offered by the hotel for a review as it would negate my assurance to Trip Advisor that I have received an inducement to do so. I wonder if the other reviewers did?

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank TravelGertie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. Although smaller than i imagined it would be, it was still very good considering that we were out most of the time. The 1st free washing service was a bonus and the other load only cost 5 euros.
It is very close to 3 train stations but we used only 2 train stations. Everything was within easy reach either by walking or by train. Lots of eating places nearby
The drawback was that the lifts closest to our apartment (4th floor) was out of order for most of our stay and we were rang up 2 nights to say that our smoke alarm was going off when it clearly wasn't!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbournians_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay it was very convenient location and the apartments were modern and up to date. The staff were very helpful and attentive, you only had to look like you had a question on your mind and someone was there to help you. The first free load of laundry was very nice and the laundry room staff were cheerful and kind.

We often used Notting Hill Cars for transportation and found them to be reasonable in price and very good service (thanks Jimmy!).

We would highly recommend the Grand Plaza Serviced apartments.

Regards

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am stayed here with my parents, one bedroom+sofabed. The apartment is spanking new, decorated with style and very practical. It has just about all you need for a cosy stay, only 15 min walk from Hyde Park. I would definitely recommend this accommodation Grand Plaza who is looking for a reasonably priced place without compromising on cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the refurbished appartments very much except the bed's size was a little bit too small and not suitable for tall persons.Apart from this we enjoyed our stay in room Nr LG07. Especially the new kitchen was very nice and convenient for cooking. Bathroom was very big and comfortable.
On the whole we felt like at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

After landing at Heathrow at 5.00am and facing the prospect of hanging around until check-in time at 2.00pm I took a taxi to Bayswater. Greeted by a most charming and helpful guy who took one look at my haggard face and gave me the key to my apartment.
It was still dark when I arrived but the lobby was very welcoming and warm. The passages are narrow and could do with new carpet and paint but when I opened the door to the apartment - all was forgotten.
Absolutely delightful. Spotlessly clean, well decorated and perfect for my 4 day business stay.
Believe me, I've stayed in many places in London - some have been great and some atrocious - but this is a gem.
Location is perfect, staff so very helpful and the amenities excellent. Not a big thing, but to have fast and free Wi-Fi available right there and then - is so very useful. Just in from Singapore where they hit you $6.00 for 30 minutes. Today it is an essential tool, not a luxury.
Bayswater tube station 5 minutes away, great shops within a block or two and the beauty of London's buildings all combine to make this my future home-away-from-home.
Will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Being an old building there is noise and echo so top floor is the best - nobody banging on your head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerpSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are staying here for five nights with our 12 year old daughter. The location is great. The flat is spacious, clean, modern and well equipped, and the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. We shall certainly return and recommend warmly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#278 of 1,077 in London
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Whitechapel
Marlyn Lodge - Serviced Apartments
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 948 in London
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $118 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing