We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London visit”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #110 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a one night stay here and took in a show in London as well as some sightseeing. Ideal location with Aldgate tube station a few minutes walk away and the Tower of London etc. a 10 minute walk.Excellent room and good food. Only issue was that the lift wasn't working so we had to use the staff lift during our stay, not a major issue though. Recommended.

Room Tip: Splash out and take a roof terrace room but don't look for the views of Tower Bridge as advertis...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Chamberlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed or two nights on a leisure break as we wanted to visit the Tower of London. Great location for this and for seeing The City modern architecture such as the Gherkin and the Walkie Talkie. Easy access via tube to west end and shopping, although we stayed local for the evening. Decent pub and food as part of the hotel, but also plenty of other options within easy walking distance. Good breakfast included in price which is a bonus for London, and much cheaper overall than staying in the west end. Only complaint was fire alarm going off early first morning, false alarm, but no apology or even acknowledgement from the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and your lovely comments. Please accept my apologies regarding the false alarm and the lack of acknowledement from the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Chamberlain in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely room, great view, walking distance from Tower of London, tower bridge, best fish and chips ever at minories pub under the arches.
Will stay here again. Great value for 4* and breakfast was very very well done.
Staff super friendly and helpful.
Tip: bar prices are a bit steep if you fancy a beer pop across to convenience store across rd.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for for your lovely comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast was to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit London.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Very good ,excellent location, very friendly staff ,fantastic breakfast, highly recommended. Handy for Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Circle Line tube station.
Various bars shops close to hand, Bus stop to Trafalgar Square right opposite Hotel, fantastic find.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Chamberlain Hotel, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you highly recommend us.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We only visited the restaurant / bar next to the hotel and did not stay at the hotel, so cannot comment on the accommodation. The menu was very ordinary and nothing outstanding. We ordered fish and chips. When it arrived the batter was soggy and grey. Not at all appealing. The gin and tonics were fine.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to post your review of the Chamberlain Hotel and for your constructive critism as without that we are unable to address our failings.

Kind Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel was located in a business district, can access to Tower Bridge by walking , other than that it was quite far from other tourist spots such as theatres, shopping areas etc. We took the shared airport transfer, and was the last one to drop off as our location was the farthest fr airport. The trip took about one hr 45 min. However, there was a bus terminal close to the hotel, if one knows which bus to take it would be quite convenient. Its also close to Algate underground station. The hotel itself was quite old and definitely need refurbishing. We stayed at this hotel twice in the span of two weeks but there was big difference. The first stay we got the club twin room exactly as was shown in the picture when we booked. The second time it was a much smaller room. There was no luggage rack and there was no side table and only one chair. When we laid out and opened our luggages on the floor there were not much room to move about and we had to eat the room service in bed. Though the reception was kind enough to let us look and move to the other room which was more or less the same so we decided to stay put. On top of this, the lift was not working during the second stay. Though we were on 3rd floor it was still quite an effort for we had to climb the stairs several times a day. On weed-ends the room rate included bft that one could order hot food such as full English bft, Egg-Benedict etc. which was a plus. One good thing was all staff were very friendly and helpful including the porters, and waiters at the bar/restaurant.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank eelmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Chamberlain Hotel, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room on your return visit to us. If you would like to contact me on my direct email chamberlain.manager@fullers.co.uk with some more detail I will investigate as to why the luggage rack and side table were missing. I'm delighted however to read that you found the team friendly and helpful.

Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

As a female business traveller it's important for me to feel comfortable, safe and valued. The Chamberlain provides all this, and more. A truly delightful hotel with great service and personal touches. The staff are lovely and the food and drinks consistently good. Always a pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klette0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm so pleased that you have had another enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,967 reviews
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#228 of 1,072 in London
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing