We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special corner of London”
Review of Odessa Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Odessa Wharf
Ranked #700 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 12, 2008

My husband and I booked a week's stay at Odessa Wharf through RCI. The location is not in the center of the city, but there just aren't that many RCI locations in London. In the end, in many ways, we greatly enjoyed being in a quieter, more residential part of the city. We would definitely recommend Odessa Wharf, perhaps not for everybody, and we would definitely go back again.

Odessa Wharf is located in the Docklands section of London, specifically in what used to be the Surrey Docks. When the docks, after the advent of container shipping meant that the port moved down the river to Tilbury, most of the docks were eventually filled in and new housing and shopping was built. Odessa Wharf is one of the genuinely older buildings that predates the new construction. It sits perpindicular to the river, with all the doors to the units debouching on a bricked walkway that leads from the street down to the river.

We stayed in one of the one-bedroom units that looks directly out on the Thames. At high tide, in the evening, we could hear the river splashing against the seawall at the bottom of the building.

The unit was scrupulously clean but was, I think, starting to show a little bit of age. The sofa and chair covers looked a little worn and pilled, and some of the coffee mugs were chipped. They weren't enough to detract from our experience.

Because the Surrey Quays tube stop is closed for construction, the closest stop is Canada Water, about a mile away. It's a pleasant walk along the Greenland Dock to the station, or you can take the buses that run frequently from a stop a short walk from Odessa Wharf. We also enjoyed taking the Thames Clipper from the Greenland Dock, which is also a short walk.

The reception office door of Odessa Wharf looks out on the beer garden/rear entrance of the Ship and Whale, a pub that dates from the 1850s. The food there was excellent, and the bar tender delightful. We also ate dinner at three places at the Surrey Quays shopping center, largely because it was right there when we got of the tube after a day of sightseeing. Mange Tout, the sandwich shop in the mall's food court, was very good. Orleans House, a full-service restaurant in the mall parking area, was only so-so. Frankie and Benny's, also in the mall parking area, was predictable Italian, but the food was good and well-priced and the service was excellent. There's also a Pizza Hut and a Burger King at Surrey Quays and, shortly before we arrived in England, they proudly opened a Starbucks. Surrey Quays also has a huge Tesco, where we bought breakfast supplies.

Some of the information we received from RCI when we booked our room was incorrect. Odessa Wharf does have phones and hair dryers in the units (RCI said it didn't).

All in all, we got to be very fond of walking home to Odessa Wharf along the Greenland Dock every night and were sorry to go home.

I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who feels that they have to be in the absolute center of things or who doesn't like to do a bit of walking, but I would recommend it highly to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Odessa Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed at the Odessa Wharf with my husband and another couple and really could not have been happier. We arrived really early (much earlier than was initially thought) and were welcomed by the owner of the pub next door with coffee, he called Dolores for the keys and 20 minutes later....voilla!

Dolores and Maya could not have been more helpful, looking things up online for us and ordering cabs, above and beyond what would normally be expected!

We stayed in apartment 1, Normandy. Wow....what can I say, it was like staying in a very up-market friends apartment, the attention to detail was great with ornaments, plants and candles all helping to make for a very welcoming feel, all four of us have travelled extensively around the globe and were delighted and surprised by this 'find'. Would highly recomment this place to anyone....really.

The roof terrace which all apartments have access to was the icing on the cake for us, incredible river views at night....absolutely breathtaking.

We used the water taxi most of the time from Greenland Pier, it stops at the interesting and tourist parts of London and the journey there and back gives you a different view of this great city, well worth the 4 pounds.

If you are staying here, make a point of eating at the pub next door, they are very friendly and welcoming and what I would consider a 'real' pub, not a corporate chain, the food was of a very good standard and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TheFischers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Our family of three stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment No. 13 at the Odessa Wharf on June 6/08.
I had emailed Maya saying that we would arrive early. She made sure our unit was ready upon arrival. Dolores and Maya were very friendly and accomodating.
The resort was a bit out of the way from central London, so we had to take the bus everyday to the Canada Water Station and then into central London. We took a short cut to the bus stop along Greenland Dock and along the little path to Ship& Whale Pub. We bought an Oyster travel card on the first day, which saved us quite a bit on the bus/train fares.
In our unit, I liked the heated towel rack in the bathroom, thereby saving on washing the towels and just letting them dry for the week. We walked for 15 mins to the local Tesco Supermarket
for our grocery, and had breakfast before heading into London
each day. My son, liked waking up each morning to the waves of the Thames River. We could watch the boats passing along the Thames River and it was a nice, relaxing scenery.

Piggylyew, Markham, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank piggylyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

The apartment itself was wonderful for the family. We were visiting our daughter from California for a week while she was on break. From the location we were able to use it as a base camp for all of excursions. There were a total of five people staying and we had more than enough room for all of us. We also had time to put in several runs around the docklands area and the Thames River trail which runs right by there.

We would definitely book againg if travelling to London.

The trip to the tube stop at Canada Water was very quick on the bus and only a short 15 minute walk. It might be a little difficult if you are not used to walking. Shopping at Tesco was the best way to go for staples.


The staff was exceptional and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank joenjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Odessa Wharf (faimily of 6, including 4 adult children). The apartment was lovely - we stayed in a 2 bed apartment (no.6, and it is exactly as shown on the website) - it was very spacious, clean and stylish. We had 2 double bedrooms and a double pull down bed in the lounge, 2 bathrooms (one with a shower cubicle, the other with bath with overhead shower). The apartments are situated in a quiet area, a pleasant 25 minute walk to Canada Water tube station (local buses are available within a shorter walking distance), and the tube trains to London were very frequent and took 20 minutes to get to central London. Staying outside London is a plus as you don't have to worry about driving/parking in London and you can leave your car at the apartment. There is a pub (Ship & Whale) next to the apartments which serves very good food. There is a shopping centre/supermaket/cinema/tenpin bowling/restuarant within 15 minutes walk of the apartments. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Staying there was a very pleasant experience. The accommodation provided good value for money and was more spacious for a family compared to hotel rooms. I would definately recommend Odessa Wharf.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

After reading the reviews from 2004-06 and speaking to Maya, the property manager, I booked for a week stay at the Odessa Wharf Aug3-10. Rates for RCI member was 170 GBP/night...steep but worth the money. My wife and I were travelling with our 4 daughters (3 teens and a 9 year old). The Odessa was a bit out of the way (1/2 hr to get to Central London) but the family decided it was better this way since the apartment is in a quiet part of the docklands. Like another reviewer, we found the tranquility a respite after a busy day of sight-seeing and shopping.

WHAT WE LIKED
1. Clean, spacious, minimalist but comfortable
2. Enough nooks and crannies for teens to hide away to enjoy "me" time
3. Full kitchen saved us $$$ in meals. Kids loved their satay, lamb kebab, seafood pasta, crepe, pancakes and were hungry every 2 hours.
4. Satellite TV in evenings
5. Close to nice paths/walks

WHAT WE'D LIKE TO SEE IMPROVE
1. Laundry machine and dryer made available
2. Internet in the apartments
3. Telephone in the apartment
4. Blender in the kitchen
5. Shuttle service re-instated (even though we enjoyed all the walking in London and we lost 2 kg each).

From past reviews, the Odessa Wharf must have been a 5* place to stay. It is still very good but needs some refurbishing as wardrobe and furniture are falling apart.

Google odessawharf to view the property. especially good is the 360 deg view. We stayed at Apt 5 and the reality is exactly like the photos. We would stay there again.

Dolores, the other manager, was also very friendly and helpful. She let me use one of the desk in the office to connect and catch up on email (work) and to purchase online some bargain buys (Prince concert tickets at O2, Arsenal tour tickets for family). She even printed the online tickets for me.

Thanks Dolores and Maya for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

The units are big, real "flat"-size! We stayed in 4 in the one bedroom and one night we had a little party with 8 more people! Well equiped kitchen if you plan to cook. Staff is very nice and helpful!.

We're RCI members and definitly recomend this accomodation. The area is very calm and nice. A great upcoming neighborhood! 45 pounds minicab ride from Gatwick

Stayed: November 2006
2  Thank marko72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
BridgeStreet Circus Apartments
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#96 of 1,072 in London
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#523 of 1,072 in London
441 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Wharf

Address: Odessa Wharf 7 Odessa Street, London SE16 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #700 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $149 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Odessa Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Odessa Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odessa Wharf London, England
Odessa Wharf Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing