We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #230 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 2 days with family, ( both under 7 years) at this central London hotel. Great place to stay. London Zoo 15 min walk and Euston station, 2 mins on the underground tube. 5mins walk from Camden tube station to the Hotel.

Reception staff very helpful and rooms good size for London. Great for visiting local Camden market and for the rest of London.

And yes the breakfast and food service is really good.

Regards
Kay

Room Tip: Book through Holiday Inn website and get points and the best price. I checked broker sites and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

The location is very good, right next to Camden Lock, bars, brilliant food markets, Camden High Street, and highly recommended for a weekend in Camden Town, having a drink by the Locks, getting a tattoo or walking by the Canal to Regents Park (Zoo).
Relatively short walk to the Tube, but maybe a bit too far from Central London for those intending to spend much time there.

Nice clean room, flat-screen tv, good shower/bath, helpful staff, trendy lobby and bar. Did neither have breakfast nor use the health facilities. Had a room with a view of an alley, but that didn't matter for us. A bit of noise at night, probably the airconditioning. Got a very good deal at Hotwire - a Superior Double, so very happy considering the price.

Room Tip: A bit of noise, probably from the air-condition (room without a view). Probably brilliant to have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brynjolfurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

On arrival i was not recongnised as a Platinum priority member, i was also given someone elses registaration card at check in!! No memebers drink or points were offered, along with no free internet access code - even both of these were offered after asking for these from the check in staff.
My first room was opposite the noisy ice machine and then on going to sleep i was woken by the noise from a connecting door - i advised the staff and i was then offered a new room - which then had no wifi working.
On the whole not a good experience and i will not be staying at this hotel again ..... lets hope the other IHG hotels in London can provide all the services that you expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on the inside and not an noce view room as there are many bars in Camden and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Andrew,

This is indeed unfortunate that none of our Camdeners recognised you from previous stays on your arrival this Monday. We are usually pretty good at welcoming back our regular guests, and I can only apologise.

Now for the points you raised, I'd like to correct a few things if I may:
- all the relevant benefits to your IHG Reward Club status were offered on arrival and accepted
- #414 (your first room) was near the Lock, and usually people pay to get the nice view (nevertheless we appreciate and consider all tastes and needs)
- the ice machine is only noisy when in use (ie. when ice cubes drop outside of the bucket) and this is the first complaint
- the confusion on arrival were due to the two of you being namesake; please accept my apologies ad rest assured we didn't mean to ignore your individuality
- about "other IHG hotels in London", you informed us that you were not staying in one of our lifestyle brands so this may reduce the number of hotels to try and test. And we would have loved the chance at making it up to you ... you had a good experience the previous 3 stays, hadn't you?

Otherwise, I would like to emphasize that Mark (you met on departure) tried to build a bridge with you, understand better the whole issue in order to help. It seems that you turned down all our efforts. This is such a shame as it didn't give us a chance.

To conclude, I would also like to highlight the fact that we take discriminatory comments about our pan-European team members very seriously as well as threats of a bad review.

I am very sadden that we did not manage to communicate, but we shall take away some positive learnings from the experience still. I shall intend to reach out again now via TripAdvisor's internal messaging service.

Thank you for time and let's hope this 'glitch' in our relationship will only make it stronger in the future.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I will point out at the start that I stayed on a room only basis, so did not try any of the facilities, room service or breakfast so can only review on what I experienced. First of all the location is great, right next to Camden Lock, loads of bars, the markets, food choice aplenty and if you've not been to Camden before then I recommend it for the sheer buzz of the place.
The room we were given was overlooking a brick wall (literally 10 foot from the window) and was cramped (family of 4 so 2 double beds). The bathroom was tiny, tired and had a broken toilet seat and leaky tap handle (water leaking from the handle rather than the tap!!). When I say the bathroom was tiny, you could hardly get in and out of the bathroom when opening the door - nothing like the pictures you see on the website which has a walk-in shower etc. I'm sure there are rooms like this, but I certainly wasn't in one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squareballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was sorry to read we had not been up to your expectations, but I am sure we could change that perception if you would give us another chance. Please. In the meantime, I'll check that our little plumbing issue is fixed.

Just to complement your detailed review, you indeed stayed in one of our 'double doubles' or 'twins', which do well as family rooms. They do offer 2 proper double beds, looking inward for guaranteed peace and our usual functional bathroom. Yet you're right, this is no ballroom indeed, but usually serves the purpose for a good family stay in a vibrant area of London. All the pictures for these rooms are equally available online; the ones you mentioned are actually for our Executives and Penthouses.

I cannot read anything about your sleep so I shall assume you all had a restful night and a nice shower in the morning. That makes us rather happy.

Thank you again for your honest feedback.

We shall hope to see you again.

Eddy & your truthful Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed in the penthouse rooms with a balcony overlooking the canal (pushed the boat out a bit) Amazing location, right in the heart of Camden, and a 5 min walk from the tube. Room large, very comfortable and clean with fantastic views. Breakfast was great with good range of cooked, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and jams and freshly cooked American style pancakes. Staff were very helpful, good service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandora2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nothing exceptional but rooms are nice, clean and location is fabulous. Fresh food for breakfast and helpful staff. Less noisy than what we expected. Room cost is reasonable for London. We think we would come here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Could we be cheeky and ask for an extra * on your overall score please? First we do our best to share our difference (usually successful), but also your comments seem overall very positive ...

Maybe we'll get even 5* then at your next visit? Told you, we could be cheeky!

Give us a little heads up before your next arrival please, we'd like to be ready for you.

Thank you again. Looking forward to WOW'ing you soon.

Eddy & some truly exceptional Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, where else?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights. The reception staff are very attentive and helpful. The hotel and the room were both fine, clean and well maintained. The location overlooking Camden Lock is lively and buzzing for someone wanting to make the most of a stay in London, just minutes walk from the tube. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#454 of 1,077 in London
650 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#673 of 1,077 in London
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#753 of 1,077 in London
426 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#229 of 1,077 in London
3,755 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $140 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing