We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable bed, lumpy pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #231 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I loved the location of this Holiday Inn, service was good and the staff at breakfast very accommodating. For me it was the basics that failed here: the bed. It was hammock-like with a selection of lumpy pillows that had me tossing and turning and gave me real back and neck ache in the morning. What a shame.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Artemistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

What a shame indeed. Can I get in touch directly through Trip Advisor's internal messaging service please? I'd love to have your room number so we can do our due diligence (also like to engage).

I personally stay in the hotel regularly and try different rooms every time. Plus we have a constant bed replacement plan so none should get through our net. Pillows follow similar plans.

On another hand, I'll share all the good notes here with the team.

Thank you for taking the time. I hope we'll speak soon.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay here on Valentines night. The hotel is 5 minutes’ walk from the tube station and you can see the lock from many of the rooms. Our room was good value for money, clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can’t comment on the food her as we went out for dinner and breakfast.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and use it for future stays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hi, in general I'm not a huge fan of holiday inns as they can vary so much but this one I one if the best I have stayed in. The location is brilliant for all the fun and atmosphere that Camden can offer. The rooms have been renovated recently and everything else works well. Starbucks in the lobby is a good idea too.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just spent 2 days at this hotel and had a fabulous time. It was a perfect location to explore a different side of London with the markets, vintage shops and quirky restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and fun. Reception could not have been more helpful with tips for restaurants and local attractions; particular mention of Pablo. Also Mark Rolls for his exceptional attention to cleaning and brilliant local stories! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we really loved it.
Location is perfect if you like young neiborhoods plenty of markets.
you have to cross a canal with a litthle bridge (similar to Venetia) and you are in the Camden Market.
The hotel is new and very cool. Loby and Breakfast room with very modern and nice furniture, low and high tables, chairs and sofas.
Room and bathroom were very comfortables.
Breakfast was very complete.
The restaurant service (for lunch or dinner were good too).
All of the Employees were very kind and service oriented.

The hotel is 2,5 blocks from Camden town subway and you have a lot of very nice restaurants in less than a block.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view (I didn't know so my room had no view...)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Check in was fine. Helpful recption staff. Had to carry my 2 suitcases to my room (I'm a girl) as there was no assistance. The room was tiny and had only one tiny window. Dingy and depressing. The bathroom was very "compact". Breakfast was really busy & not enough tables. We were offered to sit on a sofa for breakfast (really?!). Table was dirty, had to ask to get it wiped. Then had to ask for cutlery. We finished our breakfast & still the tea we ordered hadn't turned up, so we left. They ran out of most things while we were sat there and struggled to keep up with the demand. The poor staff were clearly quite stressed by it all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

You must have had breakfast last Sunday, when we had to face a real surge in business. However this is no excuse, we should have managed better. The team wasn't well coordinated on this one. We are truly sorry.

Now I am surprised you did not get any help with your luggage since we have an efficient team of Camdeners, always around for you. I am checking with the team.

And finally, I am looking at your booking, and it looks like you asked for one of our double-doubles, or twin. They are indeed facing inwards, for more peace of mind and beauty sleep. The downside is that the view is limited, and our current grey skies don't give us much light.

Nevertheless, I'll now contact you through TripAdvisor's internal messaging service. We still hope to make it up to you and show you Camden under a different light. Could we?

Thank you for taking the time to flag this up to us.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fourth time at this Fantastic Holiday Inn with views overlooking Camden Lock, its spotless, all members of staff are very attentive and nothing is a bother to them, when we arrived they had written on the mirror "Welcome back to Camden" and on the glass top Table they had written "Enjoy your Stay" plus there was a plate with 2 x cupcakes, a fancy biscuit and a Slice of Cake waiting for us in the room, what a lovely surprise it was for us. We have stayed in many Holiday Inns throughout the world, but we always come back to the Holiday Inn at Camden and the Management & Staff have once again go over and beyond the call of duty once more. Thank you, from Harry & Hazel Greene.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room overlooking Camden Lock
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAZELGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#434 of 1,072 in London
640 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#669 of 1,072 in London
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Corner House Hotel
#744 of 1,072 in London
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $139 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing