We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you ask for?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Space Apart Hotel
Ranked #308 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We travelled down to London in October for a short getaway and booked into the Space Apart hotels through a 3rd party. We fully researched the hotel and what to expect, we were not disappointed!
We originally booked a small studio for a very reasonable London price, however upon arrival we were upgraded free of charge to a larger room which was very well received by both of us. The room was as expected with LCD TV, ipod docking station, dvd player, modern well furnished kitchen & washing machine.
Having a kitchen allowed us the flexibility to eat in as well as out and (as we were on a budget) this is exactly what we needed. The hotel is conveniently located near to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations allowing quick and easy access to central London / all relevant tourist sites.
Overall, we would 100% recommend this hotel for short and long stay travellers.....well worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    153
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
91
214
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nfld, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

I stayed at Space Apart Hotel with my husband and 15-month old son, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The location was a short walk from the Bayswater tube station on the popular Circle Line, and there were loads of restaurants, takeaways, shops, grocery stores, bakeries, etc nearby. The room was super clean, had all the amenities, and was plenty big for a baby cot. Our son had plenty of room to play, which is a big consideration for us. Dave and Sean were very helpful and whenever we needed anything - extra towels, sheet for baby cot - it arrived almost immediately. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

To start off I am a relatively frequent traveler and one of the things i do before a trip is an extensive hotel research. That being said I have a list of priorities places i look for must meet. First is cleanliness and finding out that the hotel has been recently refurbished and not on a major strip tells me that it hasn't seen too many people so everything should be pretty new. Next is decor. It is modern yet comfortable and has almost everything one might need like washer/dryer, kitchen, dining table, 2 large built in closets and plenty of room to walk around. Another important quality is location. The area described seemed to be quiet, but near plenty of restaurants, super markets, boutique stores, bus stops, 3 underground stations, and a mall (for those rainy days). Portobello Market is within a 10 minutes walk and so is Hyde Park and Kensington Park. Although this hotel is not ranked high at all it sure beat many other hotels i have stayed at. I know the reason is that it is more of a self service apartment than a "hotel" but the things i tend to look for in a good quality and relatively low priced places this one sure fits.
So about our experience... our flight to Heathrow was delayed by 2 hrs, which was kind of a good thing because we would've arrive way too early for check in and knowing we'd be exhausted it was better to just get in close to check in time of 2 pm. We arrived at the hotel exactly at 2 after about an hour of commute from the airport. Here's where the first of the hiccups occurred... our room wasn't ready! So we left our bags there and was told to come back in 20 mins. We decided to go get some groceries at a nearby market and returned in 20 just to wait again for about another 25. The receptionist was nice and explained they were very busy that morning. I completely understand these things happen but i just was so tired. Then the receptionist takes our luggagges up and to go check on the progress then came back with good news and led us up an elevator. We found the room to be front facing, very clean and quite adorable. It was the premium which is one up from standard, which only difference is extra space. The kitchen was wonderful had everything you'd need but a coffee making machine, which was ok since there are soo many patisseries and coffee shops, plus 2 starbucks around. The next hiccup was the towels. They were dingy, kinda damp and smelled mildewy. But I solved that problem by throwing it into the washer. Oh note on washer/dryer... it washes clothes fine but doesn't dry so well. I guess it's the dual function thing which I just fixed by hanging everything up to air dry. Another side note, they do not provide dish washing liquid or laundry detergent but you can get the cheapo brand around the corner. Oh and our room didn't come with ipod dock as listed in room amenities but we had our laptop to play music from so no problems there. Plus they have a dvd library in lobby free of charge. They also have a great outdoor terrace on our floor(4th) that we sat out with a bottle of wine one night. It was lovely.
All in all this was a fantastic place to stay and I will make it home base for all my future trips to London.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nantendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We arrived on 12th of August 2009 to London, on Heathrow airport. From there we have taken the Heathrow express to Paddington station and then went with the tube one station to Bayswater underground station. From there we walked to the Space Apart hotel about 3 minutes.

The Apart Hotel is situated near Kensington gardens. There are 2 underground stations at 3-5 minutes walk from the hotel. One is Bayswater that gives you access to Circle Line and District Line and the other station is Quensway which is on the Central Line.

The rooms are clean and modern with fully equipped kitchen, dishes, microwave oven, dish washing machine, cloth washing machine,iron,iron table,fridge, flat screen TV, DVD player, ipod Player and FREE and FAST internet wireless connection. The bathroom is clean and the pressure is great for both cold and hot water.

We stayed in room 403 which is on the 4th floor (the top level) and we enjoyed our mornings coffee and cigarettes (as both of us are smokers) on a very nice common terrace. This was really a great "feature" for us. The Hotel has a nice elevator so you don't have to worry about getting your luggage up the stairs.
We enjoyed our evenings with DVD movies. There are a lot of good movies that you can take into your room and watch them on the flat TV for free.
The room was quite and nobody really bothered us. The window is wide opening and you also have air conditioning if you need.

The surroundings are very nice, so are the people. There are a few groceries stores like Sainsbury's, Tesco Express and Tesco Metro around in 5-10 minutes walk distance from where you can buy all you need in order to have your lunch or breakfast ready.

Overall the Space Apart Hotel is nice and cosy and Sean and Dave were very nice and helpful during all our stay.
If we get back to London, will go back there for sure!

Hope this was helpful and enjoy your trip!

Alexandru & Ailin

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROU_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We regularly visit London and normally stay in the Victoria area but we fancied a change this time around.

I throughly enjoyed my stay here recently with my husband whilst we were in town for the U2 concert at Wembley (which was amazing by the way!). The Space Apart Hotel was equally as good! We stayed in room 202 and it had everything that you needed and far more than any hotel room in London for similar or slightly higher price. The room was spotless from bathroom to the fridge and clean towels and toiletries were also provided.

The room had more home comforts than we have at home, including a remote controlled reclining bed, very nice. The finishing of the room was to a high standard as was the other areas of the hotel. Initially the room size indicated on the website and pictures had us worried about it being too cramped but this was not an issue with adequate space for two with lots of luggage. I was impressed to find a safe in the room as well as a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher, washing machine, toaster, kettle, fridge and a fan operated microwave, oh and a hob!

The staff were extremely friendly and down to earth providing us with excellent advice at various times. The hotel also offers a free DVD library for your use on those rainy days.

The location was excellent for our stay in particular as we wanted to stay in the Notting hill area close to Paddington, providing easy and fast access to both Wembley and Heathrow airport via public transport. The Space Apart Hotel is 5- 10 minutes stroll to Bayswater, Queensway and Notting hill Gate stations. There is plenty to see and do in the area ranging from Portobella road, Hyde Park, shopping, pubs, restaurants and cafes.

We will certainly be staying here again on our regular visits to London as it offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Space Aparthotel from 9th-12th June 09. We were in London to see Britney Spears at the O2 which ended up a complete let down but thats another story!! The apartment was fantastic, we were so pleased we had chosen to stay there... Room was clean and modern, perfect for a few days away with the girls. We went into one of the pubs out on the main road in Bayswater and felt that it was a bit pretentious and expensive however the latter is to be expected in London. Whilst we were there the undergroud staff were on strike which proved a massive problem for us in terms of location however had the underground been on then this would not have been a problem... I would definately stay here again, but hopefully there will be no underground strike the next time :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nervousbride2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We enjoyed this hotel a great deal and would stay there again if we return to London. it is very modern, clean, conveniently located and reasonably priced.

We found that many other hotels in London have higher rates even though they are dated and run-down. We stayed in the "premium studio" for a couple nights. The room was quite large for a hotel room. It was much like a studio apartment. Against one wall was the TV, DVD player and kitchen (zebra wood cupboards with all necessities, sink, dishwasher, fridge, cooktop). They also provide a little table with a couple chairs and a washer/dryer tucked into a closet. This is particularly handy for those staying longer than just a couple days as I understand they do not provide daily linen service. The bathroom is very clean and modern with a great rainhead shower and heated towel rack. I discovered that the bed was even motorized. You can use a remote control to adjust the head up or down. Wireless internet was included. They even have a little collection of DVDs on the main floor for you to watch during your stay.

The hotel is located near Queensway and Bayswater tube stations and is a very short walk from Notting Hill and Portobello Road. There are some great restaurants near the hotel. It is a refurbished Georgian building set back from the busy street. Although we took a 5 minute cab ride to Paddington station from the hotel on the morning we checked out, it was only because it was raining hard. I'm guessing it would have been about a 15 minute walk with our roller bags.

The only issue that might be an inconvenience for some people is that they don't provide daily linen service. However, you are provided with a washer/dryer in your room. It wasn't an issue for us as we were only there for a couple days. Also, they do not have a group of people manning the front desk - no room service. However, we weren't there for room service and the fellow working the front desk was polite and helpful so we didn't feel we were missing anything.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverSrfrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#287 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#686 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#293 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#438 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Apart Hotel

Property: Space Apart Hotel
Address: 36 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BQ, England (Formerly Ambassador Bayswater Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#157 Romantic Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Apart-Hotel offers luxury-serviced apartments in Hyde Park. The apartments are suitable both for corporate accommodation for business travellers and for tourist visitors to London. The apartments combine the independence and control of your own home with the service of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Space Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Space Apart
Space Apart Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing