We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing find!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Space Apart Hotel
Ranked #308 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing find!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is a truly amazing find and conviently located near sites, transportation, and restaurants.

All the rooms in this hotel are more like efficiency apartments than standard hotel rooms. The rooms include the bed(s), seating, dining table and chairs, TV/DVD, iPod docking station, hair dryer and a fully equipped kitchen. Most rooms even have a washer/dryer in the room. This gives the traveler options! While the rooms are not serviced every day, they are serviced mid-stay for stays over 3 or 4 nights. You can get fresh towels anytime by simply asking.

Think of this hotel as the best of both worlds. You have a secure building with on-site staff, who are available around the clock, and extremely helpful. You also have all the flexibility of having your own condo or apartment.

There is no on-site bar and/or restaurant, but there are 30+ bars and restaurants within a two block walk! There are many choices for both formal and informal dining - Pershian, Thai, Lebanese, Spanish, Mexican, French, Italian, Chinese, pubs, and even a Tinseltown offering American burgers and shakes! I found many wonderful options for dining.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area overlooking a private square, but within a half block of Westbourne Grove Road, which offers bars, restaurants, grocery/drug stores along with many unique shops. There are 3 underground stations within a 5 minute walk. The Piccadilly Line services Heathrow Airport. Paddington Train Station is about a 15 minute walk, and also services Heathrow Airport with an express train.

The hotel is a 5 to 10 minute walk from Hyde Park, Kensington Palace/Gardens, Portobello Market, Kensington High Street shopping, and more! It is a short underground trip to all central London sites!

I have made over a dozen trips to London in the last 10 to 15 years. This was by far one of my best trips due largely to the comfortable accommodations and proximity to so much!

Room Tip: I requested an upper floor room, and got it. I had a nice view of the private square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somuchtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpace, Manager at Space Apart Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at Space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    153
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
91
214
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel has many nice things to recommend it: Very quiet street with an adjacent square; nice and new renovations; kitchens with dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops, and an electric tea kettle; decent restaurants nearby; and it's very close to 2 different tube lines. Just be forewarned: I saw three rooms, including ours, and all had loft bedrooms. If you're at all claustrophobic, this may be a problem for you. And the stairs descending from the bedrooms are quite steep and shallow so, if you're an older person who is unsteady on their feet, you'll also have a problem. And, I have to say that the lighting in the bathroom was truly terrible and inexplicable, especially since it was newly renovated with very state-of-the-art fixtures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpace, Manager at Space Apart Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. I would just like to respond to a couple of issues raised in your review. Firstly, we only actually have 3 studios out of a total of 30 which contain a mezzanine sleeping area which you refer to. So there are plenty of single-level studio options of all studio types if these do not suit your needs. With regards to the bathroom lighting we provide the highest output LED bulbs which we are legally allowed to use in a bathroom. The wattage is 35 watts compared to the 50 watts bulbs we use elsewhere in the property. Thanks again for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great quiet location in leafy square. Communal roof top area if you want to get outside for more space. Modern apartment with good facilities and reliable wifi.close to mini supermarkets for buying groceries and tubes for visiting tour sites. Washing machine and dishwasher handy for tired tourists. Close to souvenir shops and restaurants. Friendly helpful staff. London guides in communal bookshelf. Toiletries and washing powder complimentary.Luggage storage no problem.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a deluxe room if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed here for weekend stays previously, I chose Space Apart for my Olympic Week's stay for it's Location, very reasonable rates and great transport links.
Vast array of food shopping within walking distance (especially recommended is Waitrose at Colonnades, great variety).
With Bayswater, Queensway & Royal Oak tube stations at hand, getting across London during Olympics caused no problems at all.
Spae Apart rates itself on everything being at hand in their apartments and I cannot argue. Well-equipped Kitchen, with sufficient refrigeration for my stay, great shower room & comfortable Bed, super TV for catching up on the latest Medalists.
Will always recommend Space Apart!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

London is known for its expensive and compact size accommondation.I have a careful reading reviews and lookign skyrocket Olympic rates.I found a reasonable deal for this place and good review .
This just 10 minutes walk from Bayswater Tube station and easy access to rest of London.
Very clean and reasonable space for London standard room.
Plenty of restaurant within walkign distance and quite a lively area till late.
It's still in a quite residential area and no disturbing noise at all.
The checkin was easy and very happy will room quality and facilities.
There have a roof top terrace and relaxing seat for you to enjoy sunny days.
There are ice cube machines as well to easy your thirst during long summer days.
Wifi is free and adequate speed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashdan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fantastic location, 5-10 minute walk from the nearest tubes (Bayswater and another 200 yds down the road, Queensway). Close to small grocery stores (Tesco Express, Sainsbury Local etc) to stock up on essentials to use in the kitchenette also lots of restaurants, cafes etc nearby. Kitchenette was fantastic - hob, microwave oven, utensils including corkscrew/bottle opener. It's a shame we didn't have chance to use the room facilities much as we had olympic tickets and were out from 7am to midnight. But bought cereal with us and had a breakfast before we left. Had we been staying a lot longer this would have been a perfect base and would have saved a bit of cash on eating out. Hotel was lovely and quiet - hardly saw a soul. We had a basement room with no view, but who cares? Would highly recommend. Incidentally, they didn't seem to push up their rates for the olympics (or not by much), which is another positive in my book. Unlike a lot of hotels, there is no tea/coffee. However, there are toiletries including a disposable toothbrush and small toothpaste - nice touch!

Room Tip: Basement room was quiet, but think most rooms would be likewise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happybunny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#287 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#686 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#293 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#438 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Apart Hotel

Property: Space Apart Hotel
Address: 36 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BQ, England (Formerly Ambassador Bayswater Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#157 Romantic Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Apart-Hotel offers luxury-serviced apartments in Hyde Park. The apartments are suitable both for corporate accommodation for business travellers and for tourist visitors to London. The apartments combine the independence and control of your own home with the service of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Space Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Space Apart
Space Apart Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing