We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #281 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Celje, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is nice. Check-in was fast, cookies were a nice touch. They are delicious. Our executive rooms were of decent size. Bathroom was extremely clean and towels and bathrobes were great. Toiletries are great too- but no toothpaste or toothbrush, I really missed that.
We arrived really late at night and there were no slippers in room-we had to wait for them and my parents had to go back to reception to get them. It would be much easier just to put them in room so you can take a quick shower and go to bed. So ask for the slippers when you check-in.We didn't get newspaper and I don't know why. Nobody asked and I saw somw rooms at our floor had newspaper in front of the door in the morning.
Breakfast was OK, nothing special, I've had better at 3star hotels. Eggs were undercooked for my taste, no nutella, no coffee machine to make hot chocolate or capuccino . Also coffee wasn't good. But I loved fruit salad and apples!Poor selection of cheese. Bacon was so thick nobody from our party enjoed eating it.
Executive lounge was nothing special-it's not worth paying extra to enjoy some bottled watter, coca-cola, apples, tea and coffee (the machine was really weird and no matter how hard I tried I never succeeded at making proper caffee latte). They serve alcohol and canapes only for two hours each day in the evening-and it's no coctails, it is just Beck's beer and wine. Sandwiches were really good. I missed sweets, cakes, biscuits...Something sweet to eat with tea.
All in all, I think we would go back. Manily for cleanliness and location. Location is great, easy to walk to major tourist attractions and also close to buses and underground. But for the price I think some things shoud be better.

Room Tip: ask for a river view. I asked but didn't get it. Also executive floors have nice view but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastepisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear anastepisnik,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It's a pleasure to see that you found our location suitable to your needs, enjoyed our signature DoubleTree Cookie and had a good night's sleep. We appreciate your kind comments about the DoubleTree Team and the aesthetics of the Hotel.

I am sorry that your newspaper was not delivered and your slippers were not in the room. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager on hand to respond to any and all queries you may have, no matter the time of day, so please feel free to call down to the front desk on future visits. However, these items should have been delivered to you and for this I sincerely apologise. The team has been made aware of this oversight, and re-training has been initiated so that such a lapse of service will not reoccur.

I was disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as others who have reviewed our property, and I have forwarded your feedback on both breakfast and the Executive Lounge to our Food & Beverage Manager for further review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again, I am very sorry that your experience with us was less than ideal, but thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to DoubleTree Westminster in person at some point in the future to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,018
    2,433
    627
    188
    66
See reviews for
1,112
2,637
339
1,277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing weekend in this hotel. Definitely an ideal place for a romantic getaway! Perfectly situated in the heart of Westminster and plenty of places to visit. The tube station isn't far from the hotel... roughly a 10\15 min walk or a short ride in a taxi. Definitely recommend! The breakfast was outstanding and there was plenty of choice. Some rooms were smoking and some non-smoking but that didn't bother us. You couldn't smell the smoke or anything from other rooms. We had apple technology in the room which was lovely and a great view too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Emmaxx1,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you both back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is great – very convenient for both business and leisure (near the Houses of Parliament, and Tate Britain is just along the street). The hotel is quiet, modern and generally well equipped.

I came back to my room on the first day to find that the room key did not work and went to the front desk to be asked to move for some unspecified “maintenance issue” in a room nearby. I readily agreed, but was in a hurry to rush out to an appointment and was then kept waiting for the person to show up with the new key. I was told “we have a lovely executive room for you on the 10th floor” which looked exactly like the room I had been in, so I am not sure what the difference is between the various room types. The hotel did offer me access to the executive club, which was windowless, but had a decent, although not very interesting, buffet breakfast and some drinks.

The reason I’m commenting is the very poor internet access. The wifi is slow and completely unreliable. It was extremely slow to load small files or even emails (pages kept timing out), I couldn’t hold a conversation on skype or facetime, and it really became impossible to work. Anything with a video file was impossible. I called “guest services” several times over three days, and was told variously that “we know it’s an ongoing problem and are trying to get it fixed”, to “we can offer you a cable” (which was OK but it did not work, and anyway the desk had no phone [this was next to the bed] and to use a cable at the desk meant you couldn’t use the phone at the same time) to “well, it’s free, and lots of hotels in London charge for internet access” as if this were some kind of excuse for poor service. Nothing, even internet access, is “free” in a hotel, and we are certainly paying for it in our overall rate. Because I couldn’t call on skype I made three local phone calls and was charged £3.15 per call for “connection fee”, which seems very steep. There was no suggestion to remove these from my account.

I travel a lot and rarely complain, so although the location is good, I could not recommend staying here until the wifie is fixed as this made working impossible for me. I certainly expected better from this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my chosen hotel on a trip to London where I proposed to my future wife. I have been a guest when owned by City Inn and then Mint Hotels and service had been fantastic. I still love this hotel but my latest visit was not impressive. My room on the 3rd floor was below the gym and very noisy and the IMac did not work properly. I got moved to the 9th floor but called reception 3 times to fix the IMac that kept freezing and on no occasion was an apology received. I expected more for a new Hhonors member. The bar was good and we enjoyed the breakfast. Will I choose to preference Hilton in the future........?????

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breadandbuttet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in march for a weekend and at £125 a night inc breakfast I thought it was good value for London. Hotel is only 5 min walk from pimlico station and only 15-20 min walk from the main sights at Trafalgar Square.
The free computer and wifi is a nice touch too.
Breakfast was really good and a great selection and ideal for a days sightseeing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyNighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear AndyNighty,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Food in the restaurant was good and the service was excellent We were in an executive room with amazing views of the river. Having access to the executive lounge with free drinks and snacks was a bonus, but being British, the opportunity for free booze is hard to pass up so this lounge does become very busy and claustrophobic at times. Having said that it is a great place for meeting people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jon357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed for one night after a meal and show in London - booked a suite which was excellent. Great views, seperate lounge with coffee machine, etc. Loved the warm cookies on check-in, a simple thing but nice added touch. Service was excellent througout, even in the bar area at night. Great location just around the corner from the Thames and a 10 minute stroll to the South Bank.

Breakfast was nice but restaurant was very busy. Only criticism is that there was almost always a queue for reception as only ever 1 or 2 staff on. However, would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#429 of 1,069 in London
9,403 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing