We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #248 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Doubletree by Westminster is a great place to start your walking tour of London. Major attractions are nearby and readily accessible by foot. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a good sized room and complimentary Wi-Fi. An Apple computer (which also served as a TV) was provided in the room. A complementary cocktail upon our check in was an added surprise. The included buffet breakfast was excellent.....an abundance of choices and served hot and fresh. Service from the buffet, front desk and bar staff was all very good. A good Italian restaurant was a short walk from the Doubletree. There was also a nearby pub and a Chinese restaurant. Other choices for dining were a further walk from the hotel or would require a short cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,867
    2,285
    573
    164
    51
See reviews for
986
2,491
316
1,215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here one night before a transatlantic cruise. Room was available although I arrived early and the hotel manager even helped me with my bags into the lift and to my room! What service! Had nice post dinner drink but did not eat food here. Room clean and modern and free wifi. Could just see the river from the room too! Very convenient. Able to walk to the Houses of Parliament for our tour. Had a great price booking early. 89 pounds for a hotel room in Central London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeCorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel ,I found was very clean and quiet, most of the front desk staff was good and tried to help us in our touring of the city. We were given a vip card for breakfast which was very good for English breakfast. This room was even open for tea and snacks .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctenneen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed in thsi hotel with two colleagues on a work related trip. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful, plus a free warm cookie on arrival.. The rooms were also very well equiped and all have free internet and apple mac computers. The restaurant was good and breakfast was excellent value and a good variety. The hotel is ideally situated in Westminster. 5 mins from Pimlico Tube Station and right on the embankment. I have stayed in a lot of London hotels and not felt welcome and therefore this was a pleasent change.

Room Tip: doesnt matter to me but one side does look over a building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NerjaGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I chose this hotel for a one-night stay after being in London for almost a week. I had planned on going out to one of the clubs in Vauxhall - and this hotel is about 1 or 2 miles from Vauxhall - making it easy to get back to the hotel after a wild night out!
When I checked in, I was promptly and cheerfully greeted. When they realized I was a Diamond member, they went out of their way to show their appreciation. I was given free access to the room mini-bar, as well as a complimentary full English breakfast buffet in the morning (quite tasty.) The rooms feature Apple/Mac computers that double as televisions and offer free Internet access.
There is a bus stop near the hotel (within half a block) for each direction of the routes that pass by the hotel. It's also a short walk from the Pimlico Underground Station - quite a safe and quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have just returned from a two day business trip. The only room available was a suite on the 13th floor with views over Westminster. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. All members of (reception, concierge, restaurant for breakfast and dinner) were very warm, friendly helpful and welcoming. The food for both breakfast and dinner was of a high standard. The location is good for sightseeing (although I didn't get to go any! ). I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear FM100,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are particularly delighted that you found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when our efforts have been recognised by valued guests such as yourself, and I have forwarded your kind comments to the teams mentioned above.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you like building sites this is the one for you. View from the room was just that! Refrigerator was not working on one of the hottest days of the year, and request for repair was ignored. Extractor fan in the tiny bathroom was not working. King sized bed - was not. Overpiriced, basic facilities, would definitely not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Tracy R,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster.

I am sorry that you did not like the view from your room. We do offer room changes and upgrades on request, so if you return to us in future, please call to the Front Desk to take advantage of this service.

Your feedback is important to us as it highlights service areas in which we may improve, and I have forwarded your comments regarding the minibar and extractor to our property maintenance team for quality and training purposes. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your review. I am sorry that you have decided not to return to our property at this time, but we appreciate you sharing your experience, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#26 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#186 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing