We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #259 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern and clean.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

First impressions, like the cookie and easy check in. Some of the staff are very welcoming, others less so. Had requested a twin room but was told there were none, not sure that they even checked!! The room was lovely, well set out, with a good bathroom and great shower. Breakfast was delicious, great choice and very tasty. 5 minute walk to Pimlico underground and felt like a safe location. If I could get a good price would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,942
    2,338
    594
    174
    56
See reviews for
1,044
2,552
328
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one Saturday night for a weekend in London. The hotel itself is well kept and smart and the room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room had some nice touches with complementary water and a computer connected to internet for free use. The location is also great, on a quiet street (not that easy to find in London) but only a short walk from all the tourist areas in the west end. It is about a 10 minute walk to the tube station but you can take a bus from the end of the road to Waterloo Station, which is helpful when its 30 degrees and you have your luggage. We would choose to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiciacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here after getting off a cruise. The front desk was very nice. The rooms were nice and clean. The bathrooms were a little bigger than the cruise ship we had just gotten off of but not by much. The hotel was in a quiet area since it is mostly government buildings around it. There were not many places to eat nearby, besides the hotel. We did go to the Prete A Manger-- a chain where you can get all sorts of different food.
I would not say that this hotel is close to Westminster Abbey since it would take me a good 15 minutes at a fast pace to get there. I'd arrive out of breath. If you have any sort of mobility issues, this is perhaps not the best hotel to stay at. Pimlico Station is a bit closer but at a leisurely pace, it would take 12 - 15 minutes.
We enjoyed the hotel but the lack of other places to eat and its distance from a Tube station, make it less desirable. If you have government business and you eat in the hotel, I'm sure it would be fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 3cruisers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear 3cruisers09,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your stay, and are pleased to see that you generally had an enjoyable visit.

I am sorry that you were not pleased with the Hotel's location. The DoubleTree Westminster is conveniently close to several Central London attractions and shopping districts without the disadvantage of the hustle and bustle that usually accompanies it. We are often described as an oasis of calm within the City, as our guests get the benefits of a Central London hotel whilst maintaining a peace and quiet that belies the busy City. Most of our guests enjoy the short walk along the tree-lined streets beside the River Thames to Westminster Abbey as they get to enjoy several other sights on the way (such as Victoria Gardens and the Houses of Parliament), and there are always taxis outside the hotel and a number of bus stops close by for those who may prefer not to walk.

Our dedicated Guest Services team is on hand to provide you with detailed information regarding local pubs, restaurants, tourist attractions and public transport access all within easy walking distance of the hotel, so please feel free to take advantage of this service on any future visits to Westminster.

Thank you once again for your detailed review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back the DoubleTree Westminster in future.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: The hotel is located in a very quiet street of Westminster within short walking distance of Westminster Abbey. It is situated halfway between Westminister and Pimlico tube stations, but Pimlico is slightly closer and more convenient if you come by Tube. The 10 minute walk with luggage is easy albeit with poor pavement that will slightly punish luggage wheels.

Staff: Straightforward, professional and friendly. Upon asking, the ensured we were located in one of the few rooms that had a view of the Thames.

Rooms: Very clean and modern. Larger than average London hotels (which are not large).

Would I stay again: Most certainly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Glenn S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are particularly delighted that you found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs, and I have forwarded your kind comments to the team.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Thanks once again!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel, staff very helpful.
Since I was there on business did not see much of the hotel, however I had no complaints and a good nights sleep every night.
Bar snacks where fulfilling and prompt, the breakfast choice was compresantive.
Also (other hotel chains take note) PC in the room which provided TV, Radio and internet, plus free WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jim F,

Thank you reviewing your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciate your kind comments regarding our iMac and free WiFi service.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand, and it is always nice to know that we have succeed in this venture.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to Westminster in the near future.

Have a pleasant week!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
272 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had booked in for a one night stay and overall had a very good experience.
The staff were friendly and the reception staff were very helpful when checking in. We had drinks and food in the bar area which was very good.
Room was clean, bathroom small and it didn't have a shower. Nothing too special but the bed was comfy enough.
Setting for breakfast was very nice, with lovely decor only small negative was the layout and position of the self service area, which created a little bit of a jam.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Helen C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It's a pleasure to hear from you, and to see that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Your feedback is important to us as it highlights areas of service in which we may improve, and I have forwarded your comments regarding the layout of the breakfast buffet to our Food & Beverage Manager for action. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved this hotel! Well appointed, attractive room. Loved the mac computer that also functioned as the TV. Free wifi!...only negative in the room was the small closet and only 2 drawers-but surprisingly it was not a problem during our 4 night stay.(ask for a room away from the nearby construction area) Very attentive service in the hotel.
For us this hotel was very well located. Easy walk to the sights in Westminster and the South Bank...yet in a quiet area. Easy walk to Pimlico Station and very close to the wonderful Tate Britain Museum. Every morning we took a short walk to Horsebferry Road and had a reasonable cost breakfast at Giannis and 2 evenings we had wonderful dinners down the block at Ffirecracker. Overall...this hotel was a wonderful experience and will return next time we are in London

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear goingstrong,

Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We are very pleased indeed to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location and facilities were well-suited to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Please do let us know when you plan to return, so that we may welcome you personally.

Thank you once again!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing