We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster) (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Off
Ranked #248 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

stayed there for a business trip and it was a great stay, walking distance to Pimlico tube station (10mins). All the staff were very warm and helpful. Great breakfast but would be nice to introduce some changes (especially after having six breakfast but no complains). The bathroom was a tad tiny for me but all good still
Will definitely recommend for a stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SsLun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Shavonne S,

Many thanks for your kind review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I have noted your comments regarding the range of breakfast food items available for long-staying guests, and I have forwarded this to our Food & Beverage Manager for his consideration. Your feedback is important to us, as it enables us provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand.

Many thanks once again, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,583
    2,051
    499
    150
    47
See reviews for
833
2,243
287
1,101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week while in town for business. Easy check-in process and only had to wait a short period of time for my room. Rooms were clean and my bathroom was not huge, but clean and easy to use. Great water pressure in the shower. Free wi-fi, which is always a benefit. I will say the wi-fi was a bit spotty during "high use" times, but this is standard at hotels. Breakfast was a decent selection: cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread and pastries. They offered warm foods (eggs, bacon, etc) as well. The closest tube station was Pimlico which was a 10-15 minute walk - would have loved for it to be just a tad closer. This would be a great location if you were in town doing the tourist thing as it is within definite walking distance to the Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. Bed was a tad firm for my taste, but room was very quiet and the temperature control worked very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear UMS,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, and I have circulated your kind comments to the team.

I am sorry to see that you found the bed in your room a little firm. We offer mattress toppers to guests who prefer a softer mattress, so please contact the Duty Manager on your next stay and this will be provided for you. If you are a Hilton Honors member, we can save this information to your profile for future stays.

Other than this, I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future.

Have a pleasant weekend!

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best feature is the ideal location - within walking distance of major sites and attractions. Was everything we expected from service and cleanliness perspective but thought the furnishings looked like they would be more suited to a dorm than a hotel. Exceptional staff attention to our needs as would be expected at any Hilton. Special thank you for the complimentary tea and cappuccinos for our group while awaiting our rooms when we arrived early. Much appreciated after a long flight. And yes, the cookies are as good as advertised. Combination Mac/TV worked surprisingly well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Koala156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights at this hotel while attending a conference held close by and I would highly recommend the hoel. The staff were very friendly and genuinely so throughout my stay. Large condo project underway outside my window but the room was very quiet and the workers seemed to have very sensible hours. The service in the restaurants was outstanding and the quality of the food was top notch. The entire place appeared spotless to me despite it being very busy for the London Marathon. I would gladly return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel this weekend after watching our daughter run the marathon, the location of the hotel was great near to westminster and not to far from the finish line, regarding the hotel, the room was small not one drawer to be found for your underwear, but everything else to hand and kept clean which you would expect, dined at the restraunt 1st evening food was very nice and prompt service but a little expensive for what you have, the reception staff and guest services made this stay for us they where so friendly and very helpfull in every way nothing was to much for them, I would return to this hotel because of the location and the staff in every department, well done keep up the good work

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moordale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menheniot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not what we expected. Room was much smaller and we had paint peeling off of the bathroom ceiling.
The sink in the bathroom was cracked and there were no bath robes.
Pity.

We were expecting so much more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahAnne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear SarahAnne63,

Thank you for review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster.

I am sorry to see that your bathroom had some issues. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond any and all queries no matter the time of day. In future, please make any issues known to us so that if need be we can move you to a more suitable room for the rest of your stay.

We have always provided bathrobes and indeed continue to do so; however in an effort to do our bit for the environment we make them available on demand as opposed to leaving them in the rooms where they may not be used but would still have to be laundered on a daily basis.

We hope that you will return to us, as we are keen to provide you with a more enjoyable experience. When next you plan to return, please let us know so that we may welcome you personally.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A modern hotel about 20mins walk from Victoria or Westminster tube stations. The area is quiet, with our eleventh floor room having no street noise (a big bonus for me). Service was as you'd expect, and the room was of a normal size for London. It was well-equipped, with everything you'd want and in good order, including a internet-connected computer in the room. Unfortunately, this computer was acting as the television, which although it worked well in that function, it is far too small a screen for 2013 at around 21". There was no bath, but the rest of the bathroom was good, with a strong hot shower. The big problem was the cheap, hard bed. I probably would have slept as well on the floor. All the iMacs in the world won't impress me if I can't sleep. Price was alright at £100, and breakfast buffet was well stocked and well cooked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear realflash,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback regading your time with us.

I am sorry to see that you found the bed in your room uncomfortable. As we are fairly new to the DoubleTree chain, we are gradually upgrading all of our room furniure to Hilton standards. Our Sweet Dreams beds have all been ordered, and will arrive and be installed over the next few weeks. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and I have shared your kind comments with the Team. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us improve our service, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

My apologies once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in London
#186 Luxury Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing