We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location, Awesome Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #249 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Location, Awesome Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This particular Doubletree location is in the right place to have access to London without the noise and rush of London life. It is located on the 88 bus line that takes you to Westminster Abbey or the Parliament building within five minutes. From there you can catch the Underground to anywhere. Westminster Abbey, Parliament, and Victoria Station are all about a 10-15 minute walk if you chose. There is construction around the hotel, but we never heard any noise and it doesn't interfere with your walk or bus trips. The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot as far as tips for getting around or ordering a taxi for early morning trips. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Honestly, we never heard anything going on around us. The Tate Britain Museum is on the same road, about one two minutes away. Overall, this was a fantastic trip (eight days) and the Doubletree was an excellent place to start our daily adventures. Oh, and the cookie upon arrival was a nice touch. We WILL use this hotel again for our next trip.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and is was super quiet. There was ZERO noise in our room...ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,585
    2,053
    500
    150
    47
See reviews for
833
2,246
287
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice enough hotel, but becoming a bit tired.I would rather TA would have the markings out off 10 rather than 5, as I would have given this hotel a 7 out of 10, I feel 3 out of 5 is too low and i dont think it was worth the 4 out of 5 I have given it.
We both felt our room could do with a lick of paint as the walls were a bit grubby, and also new bed linen which was supposed to be white, the sheet, duvet cover and pillow cases looked like they had been washed with a dark load. The duvet was also rather flat, and the towels were quite rough.
There is a computer in the room which doubles as a tv, the computer did'nt work very well as there is no mouse mat, I complained to reception and the guy told me to use the mouse on a bit off paper and it should work, well it worked a bit better but still not very well, we ended up using our phones for the internet as it was a lot easier. When i first saw the desk in the room I thought it was covered in dust, but it was marked, i think it may have been damaged with the sun.
The breakfast was very good we thought, good quality bacon and sausages, even though it was buffet style, the breakfast was piping hot which is'nt always the case.
The staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A quick check in at reception and a nice introduction to the hotel with a warm chocolate chip cookie. We upgraded our room which was in a quiet location although if you're planning to rest in the daytime you maybe disturbed by the extensive building works which are being undertaken both to the front and rear of the hotel but workmen finish at 5pm and only work a half day on Saturday.
The breakfast was an extensive hot and cold buffet but no option for special orders from the kitchen due to the busy nature. Service in the restaurant was a little slow.
Although the hotel met our expectations we're likely to stay elsewhere next time for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Warm cookies on welcome, brilliant! Room was a good size, had computer/tv with internet access, water, toiletries, clean and comfortable. Had lunch in the bar area, best club sandwich I've had, it was delicious. Could do with a slightly nearer tube station, but we had no problem walking to theatre near Victoria Station. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having stayed at a number of London hotels where the rooms resemble (small) shoeboxes, we were impressed by the modern decor and spacious rooms of this Westminster hotel. Good value on the weekends. Suite room on 12th floor was very comfortable with excellent bed and modern bathroom. Pleasant views over London, though there is a good deal of construction in the area at present. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Suite upgrade well priced and worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and there were not many 'tourists' staying at the time, most others were also on business judging by all the suits at breakfast!

The hotel is in an excellent location, minutes from the Tate Britain and a 10 minute stroll from the Houses of Parliament.

The room was ok but nothing special and the shower room was fairly small (I was also expecting a bath for the money). The shower itself was however very powerful which i liked. There was an Apple iMac in the room which was more of a novelty as I only used it to listen to the radio and watch tv!

Breakfast was nice and had everything you could want on offer including full English, toast, bread rolls, hams, cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and muffins.

Don't expect much if you are planning to use the fitness suite. Although it has several running machines, rowers and cross trainers, the free weights and weight machines were somewhat lacking.

I would stay at this hotel again on business but would definitely stay elsewhere if I was planning to visit London as a tourist. I am probably being generous giving this hotel 4 stars and would given 3.5 if I could.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here at Twixmas with friends (couples) and had a great stay.
Good location for our needs, and hotel room and bathroom clean, bright and spacious.
Enjoyed the mac entertainment system - nice touch.
Whenever we asked for extra towels, pillows, bottles of water etc. it was never a problem.
All at Reception were always very friendly, helpful, and welcoming.
What more can you ask for or need on a 2 night break?
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnkluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in London
#186 Luxury Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing