We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, Comfortable and Close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #245 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I seriously recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in london. The hotel staff are very helpful, breakfast was great, our room was spacious, very very clean, with a lovely view and had an apple-mac computer/tv in the room so that we could research restaurants etc whilst we stayed.
Located in Westminster, it is possible to walk to Victoria if you fancy a 15min walk on a nice day (just don't get lost like we did) and the hotel is between 2 tube stations-each about 5mins walk away.
I will definitely be returning to this hotel and can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BallerinaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear BallerinaBL,

Many thanks for sharing your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely feedback, and everyone on the team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future!

Kind regards,

DolaO
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,627
    2,079
    509
    150
    47
See reviews for
860
2,273
291
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here because of location for visit to Tate, tripadvisor reviews and a good experience of staying at another City Inn [as this hotel used to be]. I'd rate this as good if a little bland and corporate. Excellent bed, spotless room, goodish breakfast [though expensive, and crowded, and weak coffee], friendly staff. I did not much like the apple mac instead of a TV- limited channels and dodgy mouse meant it was a lot of hassle to try and find channel to watch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worlddivingtraveller
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Formally known as "the mint" now branded under the Hilton group, but still has the luxury extras that made TheMint so well regarded...
Buitifull bedrooms, super comfy beds, nice sized rooms and bathroom, with powerful very hot shower..and an Apple IMac in the room too!
Staff all very friendly, helpful and greeted with a hot warm chocolate melting cookie :-)
The hotel is immaculate throughout, and just 6- 10 minute straight walk from Westminster tube line ( or St.james).
WOULD reccomend this great hotel.... It was even cheaper than a basic Travellodge too!!
Beat that for an immaculate luxury hotel!

Room Tip: Just a quick, direct straight walk from Westminster tube station. (past the houses of parliament alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worlddivingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arrived Friday 2pm check in was quick. Arrived in room to find heating not working spoke to reception who sent maintenance man who then brought a plug in heater and promptly left without a word. Large room small heater! spoke to reception and explained not good enough and they quickly offered another room. Overall service good but quality and choice of breakfast very poor for a hotel in this category, junior suite spacious but poorly laid out with no draws in the room. light switches for lamps underneath tables, tea and coffee facilities very sparse. Would not use this hotel again felt it was poor value and expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Carole A,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster following your recent stay.

I am sorry that the heating in your originally assigned room was not working. I have forwarded your comments to our Front Office team, and re-training has been carried out to ensure that an alternative room is always offered immediately. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

You mentioned that our breakfast choices were rather limited. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us improve on areas in which we may serve you better; as such, we would appreciate it if you could perhaps contact us directly to shed more light on your dining experience.

Additional in-room tea & coffee facilities are available on demand at no extra cost, so please feel free to request for a top-up on your next visit.

Once again, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future, so that you can enjoy our hospitality to the full.

Kind regards

Dola O
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Even though I live in the suburbs, I enjoy the location of this hotel for spending a night in London. The central location means that I can enjoy a night out without having to worry about a long journey home on public transport. I am 75 years of age and the facilities in this hotel are great, with lifts, showers, tea making facility in my room and very helpful (but not overpowering) staff.
I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinualaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and as there are few places to eat in this area, we decided to use the hotel's restaurant before our show. We were pleasantly surprised. The menu is fairly short, however, the food was hot, tasty and the service was excellent. We would definitely use the restaurant again and the food was competitively priced.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel within a 15 minute walk of Parliament or Victoria. It is however a 10 minute walk from the nearest Tube station.

The decor is tasteful and modern and the staff are very well trained to take ownership of customer requests and solve them satisfactorily.

The rooms are equipped with Apple computers instead of a conventional TV which increases the choice of (free) entertainment and enables in room surfing, plus free printing to a remote printer.

At the time of writing, there is office reconstruction across the road but the noise is unlikely to disturb guests during the regular sleeping hours.

Beware of the gym which has a treadmill. The treadmill can be heard not just in neighbouring rooms but also on neighbouring floors. This can be early in the morning and late in the evening!

Room Tip: Stay away from the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,069 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,624 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
Doubletree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing