We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a theatre trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #294 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is a few doors away from the Tate Britain, the 88 bus which goes to Westminster and Trafalgar square stops by the Tate. Pimlico underground is about five minutes away which makes the hotel easily accessible.
The hotel has clearly been recently refurbished and check in was very swift. The City Cafe is on the ground floor and there are two lounges: the Millbank on the first floor via a stairway just past reception and the Skyview lounge on the 14th floor. The rooms are comfortable and are supplied with an Apple computer/television with free WiFi.
Breakfast was in the City Cafe with the usual wide and varied Hilton range, on the Saturday morning I was there it was absolutely packed. Breakfast was included with the room however if you choose not to opt for breakfast at booking it is £21.50 each if you change your mind.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear C7677,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a detailed review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's so nice to see that you had a wonderful time, and I have passed your kind comments to the Team.

We hope to welcome you back in future, and thank you once again!

Kind regards,
Dola O (PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,403)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,514 - 3,520 of 6,403 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, after a TAUCK tour of Ireland. We spent 10 nights there. This hotel offered a continental breakfast with our hotel points. We could walk a very short way to Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, the museum, Parliament, Hourse Guard, etc. It was a very convenient hotel. We could see the Thames from our room. We could get the bus very close to our hotel or even the Tube, which was a short walk. We have also stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Kensington, three times in the past four years. It was also a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

i don,t no if i would of liked this hotel or not because my husband and myself were given a price over the phone when we booked we checked this price 3 times before we arrived but when we arrived we were given a complete different price but because THEY never sent any comformation to me they would not honour this price and were trying to pass the buck so we had to go somewhere else. maybe we were not posh enough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank isobel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear isobel l,

Thank you for your review of your experience with Hilton Central Reservations.

Please be aware that rate enquiries are handled by a team that is not on-site at the property, and that all our rates are subject to daily changes and fluctuations depending on availability. The Front Office team are therefore unaware of any rate queries you may have made to Central Reservations unless your booking had been confirmed, in which case a confirmation email would have been automatically sent out to you (and us) at the time of booking. If only an enquiry was made without a confirmed reservation as appears to be the case, then we can only quote you the best available rate on the day when you arrive. I believe this is the procedure followed by most hotels worldwide.

We hope that we can welcome you to the DoubleTree Westminster in future so that you can actually stay with us and experience the DoubleTree Hospitality first-hand (and of course, our signature DoubleTree Cookie!)

Kind regards,

Dola O
(PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from my birthday weekend in London. We had a great stay at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough, from start to end it was perfect.
We walked from the tube (Pimlico) about 10 minutes - not a particulary scenic route, but easy enough to find. We then tried the alternative station, Westminister, again about 10 minutes but far more scenic - you go past Big Ben, The Houses of Parliment and Westminister Abbey, alternatively you can walk along the Embankment past the London Eye - walk down as far as Lambeth bridge and cross over, hotel about 3 mins from bridge.
From the moment we checked in we were impressed, we were greated by a smiling doorman and a smiling receptionist, she alos gave us two freshly baked cookies .... yummy ! Our room was just perfect for a weekend stay - comfy bed, clean and smart decor.
The bar area (which we visitied about 11.45pm) was really trendy, good music, freindly staff and a very cosmoploitan feel !
Well done doubletree - we would come back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0laO, PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Debbie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a detailed review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's so nice to see that you had a wonderful time, and I have passed your kind comments to the Team.

We hope to welcome you back in future, and thank you once again!

Kind regards,
Dola O (PA/Executive Assistant to the General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my second visit to London and I am very happy that I choose a Hilton property instead of a Marriott hotel. This is a very nice, clean hotel with excellent access to public transportation and many of the historic sites in London. It is a few minutes walk to the Jubilee tube line (Jubilee connects to all of the other tube lines) and also close to the Victoria line. It's just a block off Millbank, so buses are convenient as well (plus thre road runs along the Thames if you want a nice route for walking or running). The rooms are very clean and the service is outstanding. I travel a great deal and appreciate small conveniences - like a hot pot in the room!. There is a nicdely outfitted fitness center with multiple types of exercise equipment including free weights and couple of machines along with a yoga mat and Pilates ball. I tried room service one night - it was fine. Just down the road on Horse Ferry are a variety of take-away shops for good, fresh fast food as well as a Starbucks Coffee. Breakfast was included with my room but I did not avail myself to it - many folks did though. It was busy every morning.

Westminster Abbey, the White House, #10 Downing, the Churchill War Rooms (don't miss this or the Abbey), House of Parliment, the London Eye, the Tate Britian - are all close (within walking distance). But again, the tube is close as well and you can get just about anywhere by tube.

I am already planning my next trip :) and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I expected a lot from Doubletree Westminster after recently staying at the Doubletree in Amsterdam.

I was happy to find that this hotel had been given the same treatment - free WIFI, Apple computer/TV, comfortable room.

The concierge team were helpful and friendly too.

I liked that this hotel was within walking distance to lots of things, but quiet enough to feel peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmoTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Top hotel, and very good value for money, Great rooms. But neighborhood is boring, and it's a bit too far from any tube stations. But that is a minor criticism - always a cab at the door, the 10 min walk does you good, etc. But laundry is ridiculously expensive (buy new undies and hankies for same price).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $179 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London
DoubleTree By Hilton London - Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing