We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Okay for budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana Excel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #707 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Swindon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Okay for budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Brilliant as it was only 3 mins walk from Kings Cross underground station.
Booked a twin room for a one night stay. We stayed in B4 in basement. It was clean and pleasantly decorated with a shower base in the corner of the room meaning the steam goes into the room. Also a sink but no toilet. This was up a flight of stairs and didn't lock!
Beds were comfortable although only 2ft 6" width. Spare pillows in cupboard.
Tea and coffee supplied but no hairdryer.
Towels supplied but no where to hang it after shower. Soap tablet supplied on sink.
Woken by other clients going to breakfast as it was next to our room. Tried 3 times to go in to have breakfast but no where to sit as packed. Buffet style breakfast with sausage, bacon, fried egg, tomatoes, beans, toast, cereal plus hot drinks. Polite staff!
Okay hotel for one night but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    132
    150
    70
    41
See reviews for
70
135
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you have a jammed packed schedule and literally want somewhere to rest your head you can't go too wrong. I paid £60 for a single room with shower and sink (no toilet.) It was clean and had everything I needed in it for a night stop over. I was nervous about the shared toilet however it was very clean at ALL times, if very small! The breakfast was good for the price of the room and the dining hall was immaculately clean and presented nicely.
The hotel overlooks a classic London square, a nice view except for during my stay it was nice weather and the local street drinkers conducted a leisurely afternoon which they did not interrupt with trips to the loo (why would you it seems when you can wee in the gardens!) Late at night the street/square filled with young adults who were not particularly obnoxious but were just noisy by their sheer volume. This noise went on until past 1 am.
The hotels walls are thin and you can hear your 'neighbours' however during my stay the people in the hotel were all very quiet and I only heard noise at reasonable times.
If you are looking for somewhere cheap to rest your head it's an OK bet... Just tire yourself out in London and you will sleep like a log!

Oh and before I forget on the plus they had tea milk and tea bags for 5 cuppas.... not bad for a single room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Customer service is Soviet style.

Location is good, but street/park outside frequented by aggressive drug dealers. Other guests in hotel are drunk and loud. Doors banging all night. Shared toilet is horrid. Beds are child size and not full length. No mattress protector. One rubbish pillow which had to fold in half. Shower in the room makes room damp and shower smells. No shower gel. Nowhere to hang wet towel. Gum all over room carpet. Room stank.

Breakfast was disgusting.

Tip: book earlier and stay at the nearby Crescent Hotel in Cartwright Gardens. Amazing what difference you get for same price just gets booked out too quick)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Central UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First off, its cheap! So I'm writing based on that. I booked a twin room with shower at 24 hours notice for 65 quid - in a quiet square near Kings Cross, I think that's a pretty good price. I had B4, so down in the basement. Decent size to be fair - I've stayed in smaller rooms in more expensive places! Shower and sink in room but no loo - up 1 flight of stairs. So not ideal. To be honest for 65 quid I wasn't grumbling but would have given 5 stars for a loo in the room. Room was clean and tidy, bed fairly comfortable and there was a spare pillow if you needed it.

Quiet apart from the lack of noise isolation from other rooms - I could hear footsteps upstairs occasionally and woke up to upstairs (or next door, not sure) using the shower or running water in the sink or something. Otherwise no real complaints - was cheap, I slept ok, and it was clean. And the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water, although for a 6 ft chap like me it was a bit cramped. Just as well I'm not overweight!

Great location 3 minutes walk from Kings Cross. Ideal for a cheap bed for the night, which is all I needed. More than 1 night, I'd go a bit more plush.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are 4 ppl with big luggages and I saw the bad review about room in the basement. So when I booked the room, I ask for the room that's not at the basement, and ask for quiet room. When i arrive the hotel.. I have a big surprise becos they put us into the basement room, street-side noisy all time. Exactly the contrary of what i asked for.. All of us are disappointed and hopeless. The room at the basement that i mention here is room number 3, it's the worst room of this hotel. From this room u can here every single things which take place on the street, the room above u, ppl eating in breakfast room. Even exhausted traveler like me, still found difficulty to sleep peacefully all night. It's very budget price for good location but for me.. it's my worst mistake. Destroy good atmosphere in London every time we came back and sleep. Unfortunately we booked for a whole trip which is 3 nights. After we complain about the room. They change the room for us but at the 3rd night. first 2 night was a nightmare in London. Finally last night we can really sleep in the room number 4. The wifi is poor quality. Anyway the breakfast was rich and great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Than D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a family room in the BASEMENT of a tired old building with far too many doors. Staff spoke awful english. Breakfast 7-9am on the weekends?? Dirty room. Great location. £140 I paid and feel completely ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orionmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

2 minutes walk from kings cross. £65 for a double room overlooking argyle square with breakfast included. Very friendly staff. If you want luxury you'll need to go elsewhere but if you want a very convenient, friendly place to stay you can't go wrong

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#146 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#684 of 1,067 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#532 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#891 of 1,067 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Property: Hotel Montana Excel
Address: 16 - 18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #707 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London
Hotel Montana Excel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing