We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget place for a citytrip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana Excel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #756 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great budget place for a citytrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Don't quite understand all the negative reviews: you get what you pay for, which isn't much luxury, but an amazing location, friendly reception staff, warm rooms, comfortable beds, a good shower, a clean toilet, and a satisfying breakfast. You can borrow EUR-UK adapters for free (only a 5EUR deposit) at the reception desk, and we stored our luggage 6 hours before check-in on the day of arrival and 7 hours after checking out on the day of departure without any problems or extra cost. The room had a large window, sunlight streaming in, which opened enough to let in some fresh air, and we had a gorgeous view on the park across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    132
    151
    71
    41
See reviews for
70
136
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami Florida USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

…..and aren’t looking to spend a lot of money. The Montana is a great experience. Located across from a sleepy park and walking distance to a superb pub it is quiet, the sheets are crispy clean and the breakfast is surprisingly good. I had recent back surgery and they accommodated me on the first floor. The staff is friendly and the common bathrooms are clean. Not the Ritz, but a nice place to lay your head and walk to the train stations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank single_malt_scotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Found this hotel via Booking.com. We wanted a hotel in close proximity to the Eurostar and thought that from the pictures on the website, this looked a decent place to stay overnight.

They say first impressions count for a lot. We did not get the warmest of welcomes from the receptionist. We found her plain and simply rude.

Our room was situated in the basement and towards the front of the building. It was noisy and we could not leave our curtains open. We found hairs on bed sheets and the carpets just looked dirty and worn out. And to be honest, we felt very unsafe situated in the basement. We could not latch our door due to a broken lock and in the end we placed a chair by the door just to add an element of security.

I honestly found nothing nice about this hotel. We were glad to leave before breakfast due to catching an early Eurostar train.

We will never return to this hotel and definitely do not recommend to any potential visitors to London.

Room Tip: Do not end up in basement! It is not a nice place to stay.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay overnight for the early morning Eurostar. Even allowing for the 'London budget' £75 pricetag and its proximity to St Pancras this was not a good stay. I echo other comments about the ground floor room(s) - very noisy, dingy and not particularly clean. There were long hairs in the bathroom, even sticking to the wall. Carpet was not pleasant to stand on.

No safe in the room. Having said that there was a working shower.

We left before the breakfast service and there was no flexibility even to have a bowl of cereal - poor.

Next time if we need to stay nr Kings Cross/St Pancras, we'll go further afield and take a taxi. It's not worth the pain of saving £10-£20 and not sleeping in unpleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor - can't speak for any of the others, they might be equally dingy/noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincoln_Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stopped over in this hotel because of the nearness to St Pancras as I was catching the Eurostar to Paris. I could as well have gone to a hostel or stayed in the station. After paying GBP95.00, this was a big rip off.
My room - room 6 on ground floor- was dirty. See attached picture of the carpet. The nearness to the road with no double glazed glass meant every noise on the street side walk I heard. Sleep was impossible. The toilet in the next room was so noisy that each time the occupant flushed, I could hear it in my room. I made a big mistake not checking out trip advisor comments before booking the hotel. As a regular user of the Eurostar, I am certain I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManRash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is 2 minutes from kings cross station and a good base to visit London. At the station you can get the tube anywhere. Rooms are clean but basic. Breakfast was good. If you want just a place to sleep go here but if you want a real hotel don't bother.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a while ago, money was tight so we went for cheap. The room was tiny, dirty, with paper thin walls. Staff was not very interested in doing their job, barely greeting you when getting your keys or asking questions at the front desk.

Breakfast was all right considering it was included, and the location was excellent for us. If you need cheap, and need to be near King's Cross, it's sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcLager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#536 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#742 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#955 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#515 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Property: Hotel Montana Excel
Address: 16-18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #756 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London
Hotel Montana Excel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing