We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to say - a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #774 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very nice place to say - a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having decided to spend Friday night in our glorious capital city (London) I needed to find myself a cheap bed and breakfast so that I could spend the night and not have to sleep in a train station when for the first train in the morning… In a drunken stupor. As any regular reader to my reviews here on this site will know I am regularly going down to London and, to be frank, I have probably stayed in most of the bed and breakfasts in and around Victoria and King's Cross area. As it happens this Friday I found myself in the Montana Excel and you know what ? It actually wasn't that bad ! The hotel is situated in the Argyll Square area which is just 30 seconds walk away from King's Cross/Euston. There are hundreds of bed and breakfasts all along the square and the surrounding roads. At night time it may seem quite foreboding but don't let that put you off. The bright lights of King's Cross and the Marylebone Road mean that you really are only a few minutes away from the West End. If you decide to walk through the Bloomsbury area to hit West End you will be treated to glorious architecture (reams of Peabody trust estates and some positively ' grand design' type houses spring up in an erratic fashion that really makes London unique. Okay, to business what about the bed-and-breakfast. Well it was raining when I arrived and the (very pretty) receptionist knew that did not want to make chitchat and would rather change at my wet clothes so check-in was done within 30 seconds. I was find it amazing that the bed and breakfasts behind King's Cross have managed to perfect the check-in/checkout process to within 60 seconds yet some of the glorious five-star hotels but exist in London give the impression that they take pride in extending the check-in/checkout process elongating the process to 30 min or so with longer. The rooms are fairly basic affairs. Even though I had booked for a single I was actually given a twin room–absolutely no problem. As is the case of all of these types of rooms you get a standard microscopic television, basic coffee facilities and a heater that pumps out heat with almost thermonuclear efficiency. However, my room (G5) actually happy decent size shower built in - not a Tacked on pod but actual shower Which Was a Pleasant Surprise. And Indeed, The Showers were very good with very decent water pressure and water temperature. Later that night when I returned from my drinking in the West End of the room was incredibly hot and there was a thumping great sound coming from the heater. Indeed, this thumping great sound to give a good impression of being a jet engine in the room. I called the receptionist to come and fix the sounds so that I could get some sleep and he promptly turn off the heat and a few minutes later the sound subsided. In fact I was very impressed with the speed in which he came in and sort out the problem. I also tried the breakfasts in the Montana Excell and to be honest the bloody fantastic !!! Seriously where else can you get a decent cuppa coffee, a bowl of cornflakes and a decent fry up the next to nothing? I would heartily recommend a breakfast at the Montana excel.
ALl in all I have to say I was very impressed with this bed-and-breakfast. The night cost me £50 in total (which includes breakfast) I would stay here again and the place comes very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask at the front desk if you need anything. superefficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    132
    151
    71
    41
See reviews for
70
136
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The title says it all really... I wish we had read the reviews before we booked this hotel.The room was cold, uncomfortable and very small. We couldn't wait to leave. Also service was unprofessional and bathroom and shower facilities were very poor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have never understood why people want to spend a fortune to stay in a hotel (especially in London) when you can pay so little and still get what you need. The rooms are small but not so small that you couldn't move. We were very comfortable in our room and they were cleaned daily.

This hotel is in a great location. Two minutes walk to Kings Cross/St. Pancras and a five minute walk to Euston.

My only complaint would be the shower. It's not in it's own room and has a glass door so people in your room can see you showering. We did try putting up a towel over the shower door only to find the shower didn't have a light in it.

Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friend and I booked this place back in May for a two-night stay in September. It looked just fine -- small but well outfitted -- from the photos, and we must have missed the really bad reviews.

The room was beyond small. There was barely enough room to move about with the two of us and our luggage (we had just a carry-on and one suitcase each, plus a guitar). All the pictures depict nightstands: I would like to know where our nightstand was. The only surface was the tiny "table" that held the TV (which we never watched): there was about 1 ft x 1 ft of space on that and my friend used it. We were constantly climbing over things and I had to leave everything in or on my bags on the floor as there was nowhere to put anything.

The beds were lumpy; the mattresses were god knows how old. I could not sleep the first night as my mattress was hitting me in a pressure point in my lower back. The pain didn't go away no matter how much I adjusted and moved around. The second night I switched beds with my friend. Her mattress was lumpy, too, but not as bad.

The shower was in the room, which was completely carpeted. (I don't get that.) There was no place at all to hang our towels--or jackets, for that matter: no hooks, no chairs. The shared WC down the hall was tiny and had one hand towel for everyone's use. (Not sanitary.)

I thought the requirement to leave one's key with the front desk attendant was odd, but it worked fine for us.

I liked the breakfast. The toast, beans, eggs, cereal and tea were great. We never had much time for breakfast, unfortunately, plus there was limited seating, so we didn't want to overstay and make others wait.

There was (to my friend's surprise) towel (and we presume sheet) service. This place felt much more like a hostel than a hotel. (I've stayed in a few hostels in Europe; this was my first time staying in a hotel in Europe, though, so maybe they just do things differently?)

Room Tip: Room 201 is bad, I can say that. (The rooms are not all equal, I see from the photos.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Grotty is a word that comes to mind. The room was very small, the window was broken,chipped flaking paint, signs of damp and dirt everywhere. The small shower in the corner of the room was difficult to wash in , if you were bigger than a size 8 then you would have no chance!. The toilet was on a different floor and just as bad. Breakfast was a cattle market with not enough tables, everyone cramped in so had to give that a miss, probably a lucky escape. Complained to staff who just stated "well thats how it is". You certainly get what you pay for lol . My advice is spend a few more quid to stay somewhere decent with staff that care and realise what is important to the customer. I mean lets face it, its not rocket science is it lol!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of days at begining of September, the hotel is basic but is all you need for a short stay, room was a twin on second floor, it had a shower and a wash hand basin in the room, toilet was out in the corridor. The wash hand basin in the room had a smelly drain, the smell that came from the drain was a urine smell (probably from lazy guests who couldn't be bothered going accross the corridor to the toilet), after pouring some shampoo down the drain the smell eventually cleared.
Bedroom was basic but perfectly fine.
Breakfast could have been a bit later than the 9am cut off especially at weekends. Breakfast was very basic but ok for the money.
Based on the money, not a bad hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddiKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Only matched by the dreadful war movie on tv, this mis advertised "double" room had 3 single beds and didn't even have its own toilet. The polystyrene cups provided summed it up drearily.
Definitely not the location for a romantic evening, but at least there are nearby restaurants to escape to. Overpriced at the price. Grim. Had to laugh.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trudi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,067 in London
1,203 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#732 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#808 of 1,067 in London
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#949 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#545 of 1,067 in London
897 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#538 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Property: Hotel Montana Excel
Address: 16-18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #774 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London
Hotel Montana Excel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing