We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, cheap stay in the centre of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #306 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you want a nice clean, cheap and comfortable stay near the middle of the city of London. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The only minor criticism was breakfast which was a little basic. No major complaints. Staff were efficient and friendly. No noise even given that we stayed on a Saturday night!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 907 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting friends across the City and decided to stop over. That way I did not have to rush and meant I could visit Westfield the next day, for some retail therapy

The hotel was just as one would expect from Holiday Inn and I enjoyed my stay as a result. Functional, entirely fit for purpose and well located for my needs

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us and found hotel location convenient. We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The website suggest great things...I was there on business the room was cramped and very noisy with mould on the shower ceiling......There were also horrid smells from the kitchen, more like a burger wagon than hotel. Food was average but definitely not value for money, on a positive note they did let me watch The Great British Bake Off in the bar!
Not as close to the Olympic park as advertised either....

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Firstly, we would like to express our sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are disappointed that this has left you upset and unimpressed with the hotel and we want to reassure you that the points you have made not gone unnoticed. Maintenance have already rectified the problems you have mentioned.

We are sorry to hear that you were let down by the information provided on our website. We always strive to provide the most accurate information about our facilities and location. It is a 7 minute walk to the Olympic Park boundary according to Google Maps and this will reduce to 4 minutes once they open up the end of the road in 10 weeks next to hotel. Also, our front desk team are always happy to advise about the quickest ways of getting to your destination.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we do hope you will give us another chance to improve by welcoming you back at Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

It's a lovely hotel but we made the mistake of going down for breakfast at the busiest time-9.00. I don't understand how a hotel can run out of cups and glasses! Had to wait ages. When cups were brought out people crowded around to grab them and they ran out again. The poor woman kept saying they were waiting for more to be cleaned. Never experienced this in a hotel before. The buffet was in a small area so it was difficult not to bump into people. Shame as staff were lovely and room comfy. I'm sure if I had gone down at a quieter time this would not have happened.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah8791873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Holiday Inn Express Stratford. We are really sorry to hear that the stay did not fully meet your expectations.

At the time you were staying with us we were experiencing high volume of the guests and the cups and glasses ran out at the time. We would like to reassure you that points you have made have not gone unnoticed. Currently the F&B department are looking into increasing the cutlery and crockery stock to be prepared for the busier mornings. We also advising guests about the busier breakfast times by providing posters in the lifts.

Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are grateful you took the time to let us know your opinion and views in regards to our breakfast, no doubt it will help us to improve our services in the future. We sincerely hope to welcome you back and see the improvements made.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed two nights to visit Central London. Good base and convenient location-easy bus route to visit the Tower of London and the Shard. Hotel was clean and efficient. Breakfast included and was perfectly adequate unless you are a very fussy eater. Had room on first floor at front and had no problem with traffic noise at all! Helpful staff. Parking available at hotel if not full(£20 per night)or in Westfield (£5 per 24 hours) which is an easy walk. Plenty of places to eat in Westfield Shopping Centre. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vieuxmarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Rooms: good. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and neat, the desk was good enough, and so was the television (and WiFi!): basically that's all we needed (note: no minibar included).

Breakfast: okay. It was pretty much standard (nothing fancy), but still much better than most of the hotels in (Greater) London are offering - at least, as far as I have been experiencing.

Staff: very good. Staff was very helpful and very friendly.

Location: the hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Westfield Mall, the Olympic Stadium and Stratford Tube Station, which in turn is about 15-20 minutes by Underground (Central Line) from the inner city. As such, it is a good choice if you want to have your share of rest and peace after a long and tiring day, either for business or for leisure activities.

In general, I would recommend this hotel for your stay in London, if you are willing to stay out of the inner city. City Airport is not too far away (via DLR), and if you come via Gatwick Airport, travelling via London Bridge and the Jubilee Line is your best option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chasersz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was great! & not overly expensive either!

Again only stayed the one night ( as we were down in the capital for an event we'd come to 2weeks prior to this visit, for Secret Cinema) but I have to stay a lot more comfortable than the hotel we'd stayed in before at a Hilton Hotel, in Olympia in London.

The room layout was a whole lot better, the bathroom was better laid out, loved all the mirrors, really good lighting as well for doing make up & breakfast thrown in too for free which we didn't get with Hilton at Olympia so definatley learn t that any Holiday Inn Express is way more better value for money.

Staff were lovely, chatty and eager to learn about our stay & the purpose of our visit which I appreciated & thought was nice

Room Tip: Stratford is a great location to stay cos you really arnt all that far from the capital & there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,076 in London
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $76 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing