We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay but noisy area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #337 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay but noisy area”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The stay was comfortable with decent rooms. The staff was cooperative and the free breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is very good as it is walking distance from Stratford tube station and the Westfield Shopping centre.

The towels given were not clean and the iron was not working properly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RahatKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of the property. I am pleased to hear the location was convenient for your stay and that you found our rooms as well as the hotel staff commendable.

Please accept my apology for any inconvenience the dirty towels and the broken iron may have caused you. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    401
    158
    43
    17
See reviews for
201
214
41
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a trip to London. If you book here you really have nothing to worry about, the hotel is lovely, and the rooms clean with comfortable beds and a very powerful shower. I had a room on the top floor and the view overlooks the Olympic Park. The surrounding area seems really nice and it is only a 5 minute walk to the nearest bus/train/tube station and about 15 mins on the tube into the centre of London. There are only a couple of reasons why I have given a rating of 4 and not 5. The parking is a little expensive (£20 for 24 hours). I know this is London and parking spaces are at a premium but it just seems a little excessive. The hotel is quite large (6 floors) and there are only 16 parking spaces, but I went on a Bank Holiday weekend and it wasnt full, so if you are driving, I am sure you would be ok - it is also very secure. The second reason, and to be honest I am being overly picky, was there was no bacon for breakfast. There was however plenty of choice, the hot breakfast being sausage, egg and beans, with plenty of cereals, toast, muffiins etc.
The question I always ask myself when doing these reviews is would I stay there again. The answer for this hotel is definitely yes, it is one of the nicer ones I have stayed in in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I picked this hotel due to location to Westfield shopping centre and also the good tube connections to other London locations and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower, great water pressure. My only complaint is the lighting, a lot of modern hotels do not have adequate lighting over mirrors and the lighting is generally dim and Hotel Inn Express is no exception, hotels need to realise women need good lighting for applying make up etc. The breakfast was as expected, typical buffet style but it was slightly manic at the time we ate, guests are warned of the busiest periods so we could only blame ourselves. I would use Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kariow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having anticipated a noisy, busy hotel I was very pleased to have a room facing a small park which meant the night was far more peaceful than I expected. The hotel was clean, comfortable and just fine for our needs for a weekend stay while attending a wedding.
The breakfast was quite good with hot freshly cooked croissants and a choice of cereal. We didn't want hot food, but there was a limited choice as is usual for HIEX.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces away from the High Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Not the greatest part of town but the hotel was nice and not too far of a walk from the train station and Olympic Park. The front desk was friendly, free WiFi and breakfast. Overall, a fairly good stay but not sure I'd stay that far from the city center again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelstaff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here during a working visit to London. Room was as you would expect no problems with check in and out and for once the breakfast was better than normal of a holiday inn express
Close to straford station and 30 minutes from London Centre. Train very full so travel before 8:00 if you don't want to feel your in a cattle truck

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff services, breakfast selection and room facilities. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Me and my fiance stayed here for one night as we needed a base in London that didn't cost a fortune. We were so pleased, we will probably never stay anywhere else. Location was fantastic being a short walk from the train station. The area it is in isn't the best part of Stratford, however the shops/restaurants are only a few minutes walk away. The room was clean and spacious with a fantastic air con system and a lovely shower. We both slept really well. We found the bar prices very reasonable & the staff friendly and helpful. We weren't sure what to expect at breakfast but we were both pleasantly surprised, more then enough to keep us going & my fiance said the scrambled eggs were the best he has had in a hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast selection and found our staff friendly. The hotel is located in a really convenient area with a great transport links. The next time you will be visiting Stratford area, you are always welcome in Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,067 in London
1,158 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#455 of 1,067 in London
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,067 in London
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing