We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #342 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent one night here as we had got tickets to see a show, hence the hotel was booked and paid for by someone else.
As i checked in i needed to pay 20 POUND for the parking onsite.

I was informed that as i was paying for the parking with a different card than the one that paid for the room that the other card would be refunded and my card charged for the room.
Now, i work in a top class hotel and have never heard anything like it. How hard is it to just charge me the 20 POUND for parking and leave the booking as it should be ( a present).

I had to get the person who paid for the room on the phone to sort it out.

The hotel itself was really good and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was as expected.
As a whole the hotel was good, just the person on the front desk being awkward.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear no1_Hotspur,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

I look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    386
    151
    42
    18
See reviews for
188
205
40
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xanthi, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

1) Location is easy to reach
2) Breakfast OK
3) Short walk to the Westfield Centre
4) Easy to go to Excel by DLR
5) There is not enough hangers !!!! Nowhere to leave your jacket!!!!
6) The mattresses were super soft impossible to sleep and rest, after the first night you will
have back pains!!!!!!
7) No Sampoo, No cotton buds.
8) You wil have to pay for WiFi 1,5 pounds per hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Savas S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you find our rooms nice. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well my husband and I came here as a little honeymoon break. We really both wish that we didnt bother and saved our money and stayed at home. The room was ok, we couldnt really hear the traffic outside but the noise from the other guests opening and shutting the doors was unreal. We could hear people talking as they were walking past our room.Also the room was quite clean but the window had been left open and was freezing when we went in. The beds were sooooo soft it felt like we went straight to base of the bed when we sat on it. The good point was that there was a choice of pillows. The breakfast was very very poor. The hot choices was scrambled eggs, sausages and beans which would of been fine but the eggs didnt even taste like eggs we think that they might of been the powered type of eggs the sausages were of poor quality and the beans were dried up. The toaster seemed to take forever to cook. On the brighter side they did bring out warm croissants which were nice and they had some muffins there to which wasnt to bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in the Holiday Inn Express Stratford. It is truly regrettable that your stay did not meet your expectations. We value your opinion and comments which always help us to improve. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Therefore, due to recent comments from our guests about soft mattress, I am delighted to inform you that within a month, all hotel mattresses will be replaced.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This Hotel does not have much to offer. The meals offered are very basic bar style and the rooms whilst of a good standard are nothing special.The car park is very small so if you need parking check it out before booking. On the upside it is only a short walk to the Westfield Centre and all the public transport you want.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Martyn S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel location is easy to reach and the breakfast was good,they have nice food in the restaurant as well. rooms were clean and modern. they have an easy access to parking place, just the water in the bathrooms was not warm enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulku Demet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Once we checked in we had to wait over ten minutes for the lift as he rooms were on the top floor. Even though we were on the top floor the noise from the traffic is annoying and you will not get a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast is average with a toaster that took over 5 minutes to warm the bread and if you're expecting bacon Forget it!!! Sausage egg and beans until you explode but if you want bacon, hash browns , black pudding etc forget it.
Overall disappointing stay but close to Stratford train station and bus station

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear steve c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience the noise and breakfast options may have caused. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, we thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 night on a weekend with family. This hotel is ideally located (10 mins walk) from the Westfield Shopping Centre and Stratford railway station and underground. We flew into Stansted and the National Express bus (£14 return and takes 50 mins) drops you off outside Westfield. The hotel itself is all you would expect from Holiday Inn - good clean rooms, a more than adequate breakfast with ample choice and extremely friendly and efficient staff. Excellent value for money and would most definitley use again on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed the stay and our friendly staff services.

The next time you will be visiting London - you are most welcome in Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#374 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#470 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing