We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night business stop-over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #317 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One night business stop-over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is pretty new so you can expect a clean and attractive hotel at a reasonable cost. I had food at the hotel as there wasn't much local. The food wasn't bad - typical bar menu; curry, pizza, burger and a couple of other simple meals. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again, tube station was convenient and I had all I needed in the hotel. Only problem for me was the wifi wasn't free, you had to pay and it wasn't cheap!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay with us, liked our restaurant food selection, room and hotel location. I am sorry to hear your disappointment about internet charges - would recommend you to book a Package rate for the next stay with us, which includes 24h Wireless internet connection.

The next time your business will bring you to the area – you are most welcome at Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    361
    141
    40
    17
See reviews for
175
182
38
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for a week with the family and experienced good service by the hotel staff. Breakfast was good and they have got nice menu for Lunch and DInner as well. Super convenient for linking to other locations in London through the Stratford station and Startford High Street DLR. Westfield Mall and Stratford Centre in the vicinity are additional positive points.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are quiter with a view of the Olympic stadium from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvindb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We strive to give a great and impressive service to all our guests and it makes us happy to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Near stratford tube station and obviously aimed at the olympics park for location. Hotel room was modern, albeit cold. Staff were friendly and basic breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmooneynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Stratford. I do apologize for the discomfort you experienced due to cold room temperature. We are grateful for you bringing this to our attention and we hope this will not deter you for using our hotel again.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wife and I stayed there for weekend in London. Hotel clean and tidy. Very quiet inside despite busy main road outside. Parking is a bit of an issue, but then I suppose this is the London way ........!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshalsw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing experience at Holiday Inn Express Stratford. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward welcome you back again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending an event at the Excel. It's well placed for this as it's an easy run down the DLR to the Excel and isn't as expensive as some of the hotels in the immediate vicinity of the exhibition centre. I enter London through Kings Cross station and it was a pretty straight forward tube journey from here to Stratford (one change if I recall correctly).

The staff I dealt with were pleasant, the room was fine and the bathroom clean which are the main things I look for. I didn't eat here but on arriving back at the hotel after they had stopped serving food they seemed happy to help other guests arrange takeaway meals.

The only thing I mark the hotel down on is the breakfast, it's nice to see it included in the price (so many of these hotels charge extra for it) but it was horrid. Scrambled eggs weren't nice, beans cold and sausages indifferent. Still, I didn't visit for the food so was still fairly happy with my stay.

Room Tip: As per other advice on this site I requested a high floor, rear facing room. I only got the high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Holiday Inn Express Stratford and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. However I would like to express our sincere apologies that the breakfast service was a let down. We truly value you experience shared as it gives us an opportunity to improve. We will address your comments to F&B department and I sincerely hope when you return you will see improvements made.

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the holidays.
There was little decoration going on, except a xmas tree hanging from the ceiling (yes hanging).

The hotel seems to be clean, no stains visible, or dirty carpet. The staff did a little bit trouble for letting us ( my family with 2 children, total 10 persons ) sleep on the same floor. We had a handicap room, this is a big room to stay in, but i would prefer to stay in a 'normal' room because we did not had a normal shower, not a cabine or something, but the whole badroom was the shower. Not so enjoyable to stay in. And also, the room had a verry bad smell, there was clearly something wrong with the drains, did not understand that the maids didnt smell it.

The room had all the basics, tv, koffie and thee.

The breakfast was not bad, simpel and basic, little bit tired of it after 4 days. The fruit on the other hand was not oke.

Would not immediately go back, but if you have no choice, it woudnt be the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We are sorry to hear we did not fulfill your expectations. However, we highly appreciate your comments which will help us to improve.
We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express, Stratford was built in time for the London 2012 Olympics, so still has a clean, tidy appearance.

My friend, visiting from the USA, and I booked a twin bed room and were lucky enough to be placed on the 5th floor at the back, looking onto the Olympic Stadium. TIP: On check in try and ask for a 'rear room' as these look onto the park (slightly obscured by a building) and then cuts down on the traffic noise from Stratford High Street.

The breakfast was a typical continental/full English buffet, included in the price. However on the Sunday morning the staff were a bit lapse in ensuring there was enough cutlery and one of the two toasters didn't work.

Otherwise, a very nice hotel. Only picked it as it was cheap but I'm glad I did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and leaving a feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the views from your room!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#441 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#92 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#359 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing