We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, modern hotel within easy reach of Stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #341 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A clean, modern hotel within easy reach of Stratford”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express, Stratford was built in time for the London 2012 Olympics, so still has a clean, tidy appearance.

My friend, visiting from the USA, and I booked a twin bed room and were lucky enough to be placed on the 5th floor at the back, looking onto the Olympic Stadium. TIP: On check in try and ask for a 'rear room' as these look onto the park (slightly obscured by a building) and then cuts down on the traffic noise from Stratford High Street.

The breakfast was a typical continental/full English buffet, included in the price. However on the Sunday morning the staff were a bit lapse in ensuring there was enough cutlery and one of the two toasters didn't work.

Otherwise, a very nice hotel. Only picked it as it was cheap but I'm glad I did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and leaving a feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the views from your room!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    401
    158
    43
    17
See reviews for
201
214
41
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights (November) based on a work activity hence the location (Stratford).

The hotel is a five minute walk from the underground / overground station so ideally placed.

Fortunate to be given a room on the new refurbed wing. Modern, clean and tidy, the decor was good and the double shower was superb! The only downside of the room was the mattress... or lack of it ;-) Noise on the second night from the corridor etc was a little annoying but this is no fault of the hotel just the inconsiderate people who were also staying at here.

Breakfast was ok, continental options plus sausage, scambles egg and beans. I ate both nights in the hotel and was very pleased with the quality of the food, the service and price.

Service from all staff was excellent.

If I work in this area again then I will stay here without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank your very much for taking time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always hugely motivating to hear about the excellent service you received from our staff!
I do apologize for the quality of sleep you had due to reasons mentioned. We really appreciate your comments and we are looking into having the mattresses replaced due to guest feedback.
We do hope we get an opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to London!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights alongwith my family. Very conveniently placed and the rooms were clean and service was excellent. Only breakfast could have been better if more options were included. Overall a wonderful place to stay in. I will definitely stay with my family again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Stratford.
It is great to hear you had a great time staying with us! We really appreciate your comments on breakfast – it will help us to review and improve the selection.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family in the very near future!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at the holiday inn for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. Its only a short walk to Westfield Stratford shopping centre and the tube stop is also at Westfield. Only 15 mins into central London by tube. Room was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee provided. The bathroom looked new and the shower was nice and powerful. Breakfast was fine too. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We strive to give an excellent service to all our guests and it makes us happy to read we fulfilled your expectations.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hoping to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great location, really friendly staff especially Eta on reception, who changed rooms so 2 could be adjacent. Breakfast great surprise all for 70 pounds. Better than travel lodge! Clean and modern throughout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experience about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matulevicute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A good HI Express. Great location with good access to most places. Staff very polite and helpful. Bed was much softer than one would expect, wouldn't want to spend too many nights in that! Parking is available, but very expensive. Breakfast on a Sunday morning was not a pleasant experience, with coffee machines spewing out something more rem. of soap water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

What a delightful hotel.

Easy walking from Stratford along the main high street. Good lighting all the way. Staff friendly on arrival and check in easy. Rooms at the back are quieter, but unless you really need a twin room have a double. Single beds are very narrow and springy. Rooms nicely furnished. Brilliant TV - first hotel with digital news.

Bathroom good with generous sized shower.

Meals in restaurant are ok - nowt to write home about but the staff do care and the price is right. Bit repetitive if you were there for more than a couple of nights. On the plus side it's convenient and well presented. Breakfast standard buffet -coffee and orange juice good start to the day.

Check out easy so overall ten out of ten for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,067 in London
1,161 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#455 of 1,067 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#103 of 1,067 in London
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing