We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Transport Links”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #330 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Transport Links”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 1 night during the Paralympics. The hotel is well situated for both transport links and the Olympic Park/Westfield Shopping Centre. The hotel is about 8 minutes walk from Stratford Main Station, 3 minutes walk from the DLR, 5 minutes walk from the Olympic Park and 10 minutes walk from Westfield.

The hotel was clean and modern with small but well appointed rooms. Our room 427 overlooked a courtyard at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. We did not notice any noise from the traffic which is always a bonus in London. The bed was soft but comfortable and the water in the bathroom was hot and plentiful. We did not use the WiFi because 3G coverage was pretty good in our room on the O2 network. There was an additional charge for using WiFi. We also noticed that our floor had an ironing room which we did not use. There was also tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Breakfast was complimentary and served until 10:30. The selection and quality was fine for a quick breakfast with hot food available on the buffet counter.

The reception desk employees were polite and helpful at both check-in and check-out.

We really could not find fault with the hotel, other than it was a little pricey because of the Paralympics but I am sure you get a better rate at other times of the year. Clearly when you check into a Holiday Inn you are not expecting 5 star luxuries but it did exceed our expectations and "did what it said on the tin".

There was a handy Tesco Metro supermarket 2 minutes from the hotel that was open until 23:00.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. That’s the greatest evaluation for all of the departments at the hotel!
Room rates gone up to higher rates than usual, as you have noticed. This was due to a high demand and the hotel location. The next time you will be planning to visit London again, I would strongly recommend to book in advance and get the lowest rate possible. If there is anything we could help you with future bookings – please contact hotel directly.
Thank you once again and we will be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    412
    159
    43
    17
See reviews for
207
219
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is only a short walk (10 minutes) from Stratford rail and bus terminal. Westfield Stratford City is just a stroll away. Apparently this has just had an extensive expansion and refurbishment, with 153 rooms.
I booked through the Priority Clubs site and was charged £198 for a twin room for one night – it was the Paralympics period – sorry, Holiday Inns – you were making a fast buck!!!
We were well received at reception and allocated a room on the second floor. The public areas are clean and bright. The room was the usual size for this brand of hotel with 2 single beds, desk unit and wardrobe unit. The tv was 29” with a freeview service, the hospitality tray was perfunctory, but the room was clean. The bed was soft, but the linen was clean and crisp. The bathroom is small, with the outer door capable of separating off the toilet from the rest of the bathroom – useful. Toiletries are based on wall mounted dispensers. Lighting levels are ok. The curtains give adequate but not complete black-out and the window does not shut out traffic noise which was intrusive.
Breakfast was served in the lobby (which doubles as a Bar) with a choice of scrambled eggs, crispy bacon or sausages and fresh coffee including espresso and cappuccino and fruit, cereals, yoghurts and various breads. It was self service but most things were readily available and well presented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and sharing your kind comments in regards of your stay with us. The comments from our valued guests are highly appreciated and your comments are taken into consideration to help us to improve.
Room rates gone up to higher rates than usual, as you have noticed. This was due to a high demand and the hotel location. The next time you will be planning to stay with us, do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or to book an Advance Saver rates.
We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express Stratford.

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was an interesting stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Stratford. We stayed one night during the period of the Paralympic Games, as it is adjacent to the Olympics site in Stratford (London).
Firstly, the staff were very helpful and pleasant; the room was clean, just as it should be.
However, the rate was £256 ($400) for the two of us for one night b&b through their own website (normally c.£76-$120/night). Clearly some profit-taking was going on for the period of the Paralympic Games. For comparison, when we stayed at a hotel in Weymouth for the Olympic sailing events, the hotel rate was unchanged, in spite of heavy demand.
For that price we had one bath towel between the two of us (maybe they were so busy the supply had run out). Noisy aircon, but it could be switched off. In addition, we ordered a very standard dinner about 7.00pm with no-one in front of us; only one family had already had their meal delivered. It took around 40 minutes for ours to arrive. Maybe the Chef had run out of fish, but the load on the kitchen seemed to be virtually non-existent.
In the morning at breakfast the place was full of visitors, volunteers, media and officials for the Olympics – the breakfast buffet was fine, with a good choice.
So there were mixed feelings about our stay. I hope the issues we experienced were just because of the Olympic Games. However, for the price, we did feel we should have had gold-medal treatment.
Incidentally there is a good Tesco Express convenience store near to the hotel – turn right out of the front door and walk along the road c. 200 yards, and across a road junction, to find it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Stratford. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered. Respective departments have been informed; your constructive criticism will definitely help us to improve the service at restaurant and housekeeping departments.
However, we are pleased to hear that you liked our helpful and friendly staff service and enjoyed room facilities.
The next time you will be travelling to London, do not hesitate to contact us and we will be able to offer you more flexible rates.
Looking forward to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express Stratford!

Kind Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for Paralympic Opening Ceremony and had great views of Olympic park but we asked for a non smoking room and we got a smoking room that stank of smoke. Breakfast was great. Booked online through holiday inn website

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed with family and was happy with our stay. the staff were very friendly and helpful . breakfast was good - the only downfall was that was a bit noisy at night times and maybe i would put that down to it being a small hotel .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Parveen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Parveen2012,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at out hotel. We are pleased you liked the breakfast served as well as our friendly hotel staff. We take pride in our level of service, cleanliness and location of our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the noise. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had to make a last minute dash to London and stay on the East side, so this seemed like an ideal location. In actual fact the hotel is located near not much really - I guess you could say that the Olympic Park is near, as is the Westfield shopping mall, but thats about it from what I could see. It's probably a 10 minute walk fron the DLR railway station which you will need to visit anywhere in the Capital.

However, this is a clean, well presented hotel with courteous staff. Everything is sort of 'compact' and it had the smallest family room that we've ever stayed in, but it was clean and in good order. The beds were a joke - as soft as a sponge, the type where you roll into the middle, but did have a selection of pillows of different density. The aircon didn't seem to make any difference, it just whirled away.

At time of booking and at check-in we specifically asked for a quiet room because we had a very busy couple of days. We were allocated a room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel and everything seemed fine....until 2.15am when we were woken by some noisy builders on a tea/smoke break. A call to reception eventually got them moving, that was until 3.00am when they had another break. A further irate call to reception was needed. As you can imaging, with an early start we were really tired in the morning. The front desk were apologetic but this shouldn't have been allowed to happen in the first instance.

Breakfast was a self-service continental affair but it wasn't obvious if the cooked items were also included or were extra.

So there we have it - the hotel was OK but let down for us by some small problems that shouldn't have happened. And, why the piped music outside the hotel?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is Short but sweet.!!!!
Great hotel
Great staff
Great room
Great breakfast
Great deal!!!
You wont be disappointed!!!!
Everything on your doorstep!!!!!
PLEASE DO NOT SMOKE IN THESE ROOMS!!!! ALARM WENT OFF AT 5.30

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#351 of 1,069 in London
1,213 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#464 of 1,069 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,416 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in London
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing